We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down...a dirty shame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street
Ranked #283 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Run down...a dirty shame”
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

We booked online for 2 nights. On first impressions the hotel seemed ok. There are 2 entrances, one directly onto Petaling street via a long narrow corridor and a lobby situated off a large car park. We arrived by taxi so got the lobby entrance which was well presented and clean. The staff, mainly older guys lounging around smoking and a woman were reasonably friendly. Our room was on the fifth floor and there is a lift. Our room was very small, with little room to manoeuvre around the bed. For a single traveller this wouldn't be a problem but for a couple it's quite a squeeze. Once we settled into our room our initial impression vanished. The floor was littered with mouse dropping and there was a small turd on the bathroom floor. Hopefully it wasn't human...
There was a hole in the bathroom ceiling that was dirty and leaked onto the toilet. We had aircon but this broke down within a couple of hours leaking water onto the portable tv. I spoke to staff in the lobby and a guy came to repair it. When he moved the TV stand to get to the aircon he exposed lots of other rodent droppings and chocolate bar wrappers. Having fixed the unit he was simply going to push the TV unit back into place until I told him to sweep up the droppings etc. One of his colleagues told us we would be moved to another room if the aircon broke down again.
Later in the evening an alarm started going off so I went to investigate. It turned out that someone had got stuck in the lift and was ringing for help. I went down to the lobby where the lounging around smoking guys were completely unaware of the situation. It turns out the power to the lift had failed leaving some poor bugger stuck somewhere between the 4th and 5th floors... By the way, using the stairs was an eye opener, it looked like staff or somebody was sleeping on the landings.
Breakfast was help yourself toast with jam and a choice of coffee or tea via a machine.
Somebody else has posted that there are prostitutes in the hotel. We saw at least 2 'transactions' taking place, the ladies use the Petaling street entrance and are quite discreet. They must use the 1st floor as they don't use the lift.
The only thing that saves this place from a desultory 1 star is the price and location. For China town the place is ideal. That's if you want the chaos and seediness of China town in the first place. The hotel is fairly cheap so no complaints there but I don't see why cheap should equal filthy. This is the sort of place that makes me think the owners don't care at all about the upkeep, they just want the money. And if its any consolation the wifi connection was good.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    15
    48
    22
    13
See reviews for
6
38
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel for just One night so can just share a bit but yes it is situated in the heart of market near china town. very very crowded place full of street food around. You will see street -market just at the entrance of hotel in the crowded street round the hour. grocery or daily item is next to the hotel. Kaula lampur is a big city you get a cab on the main road so u might have to walk for 10 mins. Staff is co oprative. Rooms are not very spacious and so are the bathrooms. Only one lift in the hotel which is also old fashioned....................Still a place one can afford to pass a night or two

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaiveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed a few days at the Amanda and have no real complaints. Good location, friendly staff, daily room cleaning, great WIFI in the room, hot water AC. There is a TV but very few stations...only turned it on once! The room is small but compared to Japan it is a suite. Very quite.

Room Tip: Go out the back door and you are in the market complete with chickens, seafood and everything else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComeflywithmeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We only wanted somewhere clean and basic to stay in between fights.

On arriving, the market was closed which probably made it look even worse than it did.

Our room was filthy, with stains, grease marks and dirt (on sheets/floor/walls).

We were not expecting luxury just cleanliness - we stayed another night at the hotel A-One which was more expensive (not much) but it was clean, with security, room was bigger - the alamanda room was tiny, with doors that have gaps so you can see in.

Its cheap and only gets poor rather than terrible because its cheap and location is handy - but worth spending a few pounds more on something less scary.

Room Tip: Rooms not in this hotel are better :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmaxjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We(my husband and I) stayed there for new years. I would say the location is very good. It is in middle of china tOwn!
But what saddened me is one entire floOr is used by prostitutes. They get the customers fulfill their requests and leave the hotel. That happens easily in front of your eyes!!!! There is an Internet cafe beside the hotel which receives the customers and fulfills their demands at the hotel. Highly not recOmmended for families!!!!
We found rubber under our bed!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoHassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed in this hotel over New Year 2012. Our room was basic (bed, old but working TV, good air con, small bathroom, window) but for the price it was exactly what we expected. There are 7 floors...we stayed on the 2nd floor on our first stay and you can hear some street noice (market right outside) but the market is normally finished by 10.30pm each night. Our 2nd stay was on the 7th floor and we had no noise.
Was able to leave our large bags there whilst we went off to Pangkor. Friendly staff, clean, free basic breakfast and free wifi.

Room Tip: Book on Agoda for a cheaper rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Greene7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The first thing to realise is that this place is nestled onto Petaling Street Night Market, which means that when you get dropped off by your taxi and have to walk the 100m to the hotel, you have in front of you one of the most stressful walks of your life ahead of you as you lug suitcases down tiny alleys in the market, trying not to demolish too many traders, tourists or fake gucci handbags...

(This does give the advantage of plonking you in the bustling heart of Chinatown, close to good options for food and shopping)

Once there, it isn't that bad - service is good on the front desk, and they have free wifi, though this tends to be slow.

Room was fairly small but clean enough (and house keeping seemed very proficient), with working aircon and everything fully functioning, though with an ancient mattress upon which you could feel every spring, and seemed to have been bought circa 1765.

The room was overlooking the market meaning that you have to listen to them pack away their produce until the early hours, which can be noisy, especially when added to the background noise of Kuala Lumpur.

Overrall, a decent enough budget option for a couple of nights, which is about as long as any sane person would want to spend in KL.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face onto Petaling st. - it would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatAlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur
D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur
#172 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel China Town 2
Hotel China Town 2
#209 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel China Town Inn
Hotel China Town Inn
#107 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petaling
Hotel Petaling
#109 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winsin Hotel
Winsin Hotel
#132 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Pacific Hotel
Mandarin Pacific Hotel
#213 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street

Property: Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street
Address: 85 Petaling St, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Petaling is a tastefully furnished 68-room budget hotel located at Jalan Petaling in the China Town of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing