We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street
Ranked #302 of 355 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Well received at reception, listened to request and changed rooms to help us. Very basic hotel whose cleaning could probably go up a tweak. Nice place to stay had a help yourself toast/breakfast which was helpful. nice location right in the middle of China Town. Very helpful organizing onward travel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of chinatown kuala Lumpur and is perfect center for transportation around the city. The staffs were friendly and the owner will always assist visitors with their queries. The room is small but adequate and has attached bathroom. Free wifi was most welcome. there is a free bus service to main parts of KL near the hotel. Food around the hotel was boundless and the happening Reggae Bar is walking distance.

Room Tip: The window rooms cost a bit more but is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sifuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stay for 2 nights.

A arrive very late and the staff welcome my warm and offer immediately help. Even on the next day, the staff on the desk was very friendly. I had a booking for a room on the 3rd floor and the staff offer me different rooms, I choose a room on the 2nd floor.

The room on the 2nd floor was OK. Clean, the size is OK. Only the TV, which are an older model, can not be noise.

A plus was, that the hotel is at the end of the Chinese Street and I hear nothing. The location is very central and all can be reached within the public transportation, e.g. free shuttle bus from the central station.

Comparing to a hotel, which I booked 2 month ago, the price is similar, but the was a poor breakfast include.

Room Tip: Best for short stay e.g. stop-over or for sight seeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaliMaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The location is really good, right in the middle of Chinatown aka Petaling Street. You can easily get here by taking the LRT. It's also about 10-15 minutes walk to other interesting places such as Central Market and Masjid Jamek. However, the room is quite small and the bathroom is really small. Since it is situated in Chinatown itself, thus it can be quite noisy during night time. We had free breakfast provided by the hotel which consist of coffee/tea with toast which was decent. When you paid for this hotel, you are actually paying for the great location. Oh, and the receptionist was really friendly. Overall, for a budget hotel with a cheap price, I can not complain much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadikawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

we was two person in twin superior room and stayed 5 nights
the hotel is cheap and has good value
its location is in the heart of KL in china town, near every thing bukit pintang, KLCC, monorail, LRT and puduraya bus station. the room was in the 5th floor with good view, the hotel has 2 doors one on petlaing st and the rear on car park
air condition is good but sometimes the water goes down in the room
the staff is very helpful
we left our luggage after check out for 5 hours in the reception

the rooms are too small but if you will spend most of the time outside the hotel it will be good.
also there is some loud sounds come from the street
the front door is very crowded outside
the Chinese food restaurants near the hotel has a bad smell

finally if you need a cheap hotel only for sleep and in the heart of KL this hotel may be good

don't expect more from the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Yehia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was one of the cheapest hotels we could find on the internet. It is on Petaling Street which is the main market street in Chinatown. There are lots of other hotels on the same street, or nearby, and they all seem to be a similar quality. At $20 a night for a basic room there are lots of things to dislike about it. The standard rooms have no window, are very small (think European capital city sizes), and some are cleaner than others. There are some good points as well; there is AC, wifi, central location, staff speak English, and are reasonably friendly. You can get a coffee in the morning for MYR2. We stopped there twice, and in between I actually recommended it to a friend, who was satisfied, once we’d told him what to expect. The second time we actually upgraded to a superior room, with a window. If you’re staying a few nights, it is probably worth doing. One other point to note is that the first floor is reserved for “hourly” rooms. The ladies hang around at the passage entrance; they are relatively discrete, friendly enough, and shouldn’t be a problem

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanleyhalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel room is ok but just a little too small for a 3-person room as there is no place to walk and to put our luggages. however, the room is clean and great value for money as we wanna find cheap hotels. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The location is also convenient as it is only few minutes walk from the nearest Pasar Seni LRT station. i have been staying here 3 times already and i satisfy with it. will book again when i visit KL!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahbi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petaling
Hotel Petaling
#115 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
105 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel China Town 2
Hotel China Town 2
#207 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Pacific Hotel
Mandarin Pacific Hotel
#261 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simms Boutique Hotel
Simms Boutique Hotel
#211 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
317 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel China Town Inn
Hotel China Town Inn
#130 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winsin Hotel
Winsin Hotel
#135 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street

Address: 85 Petaling St, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 355 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £10 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Petaling is a tastefully furnished 68-room budget hotel located at Jalan Petaling in the China Town of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing