We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That time there was no Tripadvisor”

Petrosains Science Discovery Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Kuala Lumpur Petronas Twin Towers Exploration Tour
Ranked #14 of 267 things to do in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Interactive science museum for kids, located in the Petronas Towers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“That time there was no Tripadvisor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Okay should I have gone before or not?Actually I went about four years back.Are the exhibits different...?Only time will tell.There was a joy ride, roller coaster and several work place events made into exhibits.Can be very tiresome and so you should have a full stomach.Though on the fourth floor it seems the exhibit goes upwards two floors and downwards two floors.This will be evident with the dinosaur exhibit.I would go again if I get the long time( three hours needed)
However if you know most of science this is a bit old.And many byproducts of science are shown here.
There are climbing skills and other experiments( helicopter rides)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank butterflypostage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    399
    139
    26
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“2hr is not enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The staff were friendly and the exhibits are highly engaging.
The hotspot booths on the topic of Eeeww Factors are interesting and my kids were keen to find out more. This place is highly recommended for everyone!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Everlyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very good educational experience for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We'd visited petrosains a few years ago and figured it was worth going again. The cost of admission is quite reasonable and since it is an educational experience it's worth it for the kids. I like the way each display has a practical interactive feature so you can have a go and then reflect on the science behind it. However, most of the other visitors I came across didn't bother with reading anything, they just grabbed and fiddled and then moved one. It should be noted that the local kids don't care if you're in the middle of using the display, they'll interfere for a few seconds and move on.

Some of the features seemed a bit dated, as we'd seen them on our last visit and they were not in good condition any more. The stalls with different interactive displays are really good. The staff we came across were extremely friendly and took time to explain things in a very pleasant way. The main show was all about the ewww factor. It was basically a show about different animals' excrement.

Overall, there is still plenty to do here to keep you busy for a few hours. I would definitely try to go at a time when it's not too busy as some of the 'short attention span' guests can spoil your experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joowantitjoogotit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“You need more time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked the 3pm tickets and it took us 30 mins to get into the centre because of the queue to take the Dark Seat which is extremely slow. After viewing for 30 mins, we were told to quickly proceed to the next section. Each section started to close as early as 4.45pm. And when we were halfway through the centre, we have no choice but to rush to the last 3 sections as the other sections are closed. Lights off. At 5.30pm sharp, only the last section to the queue to exit via Dark seat is open. It's a complete waste of money to have paid and only get to explore less than half of the centre.
The good thing is that there are interactions and most of the exhibits are in good condition. Other than that, nothing too impressive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MdmCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A science centre to spend a whole day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We planned to spend about 2-3 hours here but ended up spending till they closed for the day, almost 5+ hours, stil not being able to complete all the exhibits. The staff are friendly and try to explain their best. Kids have lots of activity based learning, a MUST See in KL

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeeyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petrosains Science Discovery Centre also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Petrosains Science Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing