We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and friendly, helpful staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sahabat Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sahabat Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 322 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very clean and friendly, helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were in KL recently for a short visit and chose this guesthouse after a recommendation by an acquaintance. We got a tad bit lost upon arrival but generally it took us about 10 to 15 mins walk from Bukit Bintang monorail station. But it is located at an area where you can easily get out and get food late night without having to worry to walk a long distance in an unfamiliar surroundings. A provision shop opened on the day we arrived and the Indians who owned it were so friendly that we kept coming to buy tidbits and drinks from them. Lovely, lovely people.

Right...about the guesthouse. Love how we have to leave our shoes at the entrance which makes the place a very clean one. The interior of the common room looks simple but very neat. Also....Love love love the mural art. So beautiful. For someone in the arts industry, we felt very homely. We got the room called Cardamon which is right at the back. A tad bit small for double occupancy but i must say it is very clean including the toilet. AC and water heater worked well during our stay...thank goodness! It was pretty much quiet for our first night. Mornings were a okay because our room was facing the breakfast area, we were expecting it to be very noisy but seriously....it was all right, not something that woke us up with raging anger. Nope. However, on our last night....some of the occupants who were hanging out at the breakfast area were unbelievably noisy in the wee hours. We had an early flight to catch the next morning and we were so annoyed by the noise. Though I believed that someone (could be the staff?) hushed them? Thanks anyway.

I also like to point out that the staffs are really very helpful and try as much to accommodate to your request or answer your enquiries. Very polite and friendly too. Other than that, they pretty much leave us alone respectfully.

I prolly come back and consider staying here if i'm travelling within a budget again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhidayahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahabat G, Owner at Sahabat Guesthouse, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear nhidayahm, thank you for your review and we appreciate all your views as it is the best way for us to continue improving. We try our best to accommodate our patron's requests and assign them the best rooms available to their needs. We apologize sometimes for the noise level as it can be a bit difficult to control our guests' excitement, thus we created several areas for them to hang-out in our guesthouse. In view of this we do provide ear-plugs for our guests at the front desk if you need them free of charge. We hope we could host you again next time you come to KL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    284
    63
    17
    4
See reviews for
104
289
82
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a great time in KL staying at this guesthouse. It is in a convenient location to get around the city, with lots of local amenities nearby. The rooms are on the small side, but given the price, were very good value as they had everything we needed and were kept spotlessly clean. There are 2 kitchenette areas for use by guests, where breakfast is served (toast, spreads, cereal, milk, tea, coffee & hot chocolate). You can help yourself to hot drinks throughout the day, and use the microwave or hot water to make noodles etc. There's also a fridge for guests which is useful as you can have your own supply of cold drinks, beers etc! The atrium area (where the tables and kitchenettes are) has a little 'open to the sky' garden which makes it feel like a very relaxing place to sit and chill out; after a hectic day of sightseeing it is nice to be able to relax in your own hotel.

The wifi was easily fast enough for Skype and was 100% reliable. There was always hot water, and enough towels etc. But what makes it even nicer to stay here is that the staff are friendly and helpful, and never ever try to sell you anything! It's just a lovely, genuine guesthouse with everything you'll need. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS6JAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahabat G, Owner at Sahabat Guesthouse, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear LS6JAN, thank you for your review and we are ecstatic that you have had a great time staying with us at Sahabat Guesthouse. Our staff will be overjoyed to hear your compliment and we will pass it along to them. It is imperative that our staff be as helpful to our guests without being 'in-your-face'. They will gladly help you in anyway they can with organizing tours, tickets and so forth but they will not pressure you into anything you don't want. Your enjoyable stay is our top priority. Thank you again and we hope to be able to host you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Shoes to be left at the door which makes for very clean interior. Quiet for the one night we stayed. Double room slightly small but perfectly reasonable for the price. On a quiet street but next street along there is a huge variety of bars and restaurants to choose from, 51(radius international) does particularly good happy hour mojitos for 5RM. Room very clean and the wet room is great as hostels go. There is a light selection for breakfast in the morning and coffee available 24/7!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pedro_mccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahabat G, Owner at Sahabat Guesthouse, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear pedro_mccarthy, thank you for your review of our guesthouse and we are glad that you have managed to sample the huge number of entertainment outlets which is close to us. Its one of the perks of being super central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Well kept guesthouse 10mins walk from Bukit Bintang monorail, and easy access to lots of restaurants and shops. Double rooms are quite small, but the Twin rooms are a good size. Nice breakfast of cereal, porridge and toast, tea, coffee, hot chocolate. Good wifi and air con in the rooms. It takes a little while to get to from KL sentral, but once you are there, its very quiet with good access to lots of things. The rooms all face the open courtyard where you have breakfast so you can hear people having breakfast from 7am which can be a bit annoying.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expressive-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahabat G, Owner at Sahabat Guesthouse, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear expressive-one, thank you for your review on our guesthouse. We are happy that you have had a good stay with us while you were in town. We try our best to accommodate our guests but sometimes it is difficult to control the level of noise from everyone in the facility. In view of this, we do offer ear-plugs at the counter (free of charge) so that you can have an as much uninterrupted sleep as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mülheim an der Ruhr
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I really liked Sahabat guesthouse. From outside it already looked so cute with the blue walls and the small garden. Inside everything was very clean and from our room we could see the petronas towers. The breakfast room, which was made like an atrium with plants, had a long table to chat with other guests. Also the stuff was very kind and explained how to get to the famous places.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sara2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahabat G, Owner at Sahabat Guesthouse, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear sara2706, thank you for your review on our guesthouse. We are happy to have had a great stay in KL and we hope to be able to host you again when you visit our fair city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My friend and I had a lovely two night stay in Sahabat Guesthouse.
Walkable distance from the long distance bus station in China Town and very close to Bukit Bingtang Monorail station (linked to KL Sentral Station).
Very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice rooms, nicely decorated.
Drinks, cereal and toast available at breakfast time.

Only a few downsides- the curtain in Lemongrass room isn't very effective at keeping the light out and the shower needs to be hand held- which is a bit annoying!

Overall, great location, clean, good place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RVB1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahabat G, Owner at Sahabat Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear RVB1991, thank you for your review and we are happy that you have had an enjoyable stay with us at Sahabat Guesthouse. We thank you for your thoughts and we will work on rectifying the issues highlighted by you so that we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a total for a few nights recently. I liked this place due to nice, good clean facilties, friendly staff (including Sue & Juan) and nice natural lighting and featured artwork on some walls.
Our first impressions were wow, this is lovely as we walked up to this freshly painted blue building with a security gate at the front and another swipe card access entry to the building.
We were warmly greeted by Sue who checked us in and showed us around. The building was well lite (with natural lighting too), freshly painted and a comfortable temperature. The facility featured an 'older' and 'newer' side of the building with 2 kitchenettes and small dining areas. Free WIFI was also available.

Our first room was a double room with bathroom located on the ground floor. The room also featured air conditioning. The water system in the bathroom was very odd and varied in pressure whilst using it. The bathroom was also slightly more 'Asian' featuring the shower in the middle of the bathroom with no shower curtain/screen or slopping. There was also no drain near the shower - this meant the whole floor was wet for a number of hours until it dried. The bed was uncomfortable with my body able to feel the bed springs. The bed had average pillows and 1 blanket. Unfortunately the nature of this perfect location meant we were a block away from the pubs/bars/clubs which disrupted sleep due to the noise.
Our second room after returning back to KL we stayed upstairs in another room. The room was much the same as the room prior and had the same noise issues.

Regardless this was good accommodation especially if your out and about a lot in KL. If your a strong sleeper or don't mind compensating on sleep then this place is for you. The quality service and a nice hostel outweigh the interrupted sleep!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aaron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#24 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#21 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahabat Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahabat Guesthouse

Property: Sahabat Guesthouse
Address: 41 Jalan Sahabat | Off Tengkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sahabat Guesthouse offers an all-new hospitality experience in downtown Kuala Lumpur. It is the ideal address for travelers who like to combine the excitement of a buzzing city with boutique accommodation. What makes us unique is our location: nestled in an absolutely QUIET corner of Kuala Lumpur’s city center (the Golden Triangle) and yet just a stone’s throw away from the city’s buzzing shopping and nightlife districts (Bukit Bintang & Changkat Bukit Ceylon). In our neighbourhood you will find an abundance of restaurants and coffee shops which cater to all tastes and pockets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sahabat Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahabat Guesthouse Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing