We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Pacific Hotel
Ranked #213 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in 2009. Hotel was average and the breakfast was ok. Services were average and not too impressive. Room was clean and china town is just nearby. The AC cooling was too high and when we asked to increase the temperature, we were told to use blankets to cover up. It is an ok hotel if you wish to stay at Petaling Street however there are much cheaper options available as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunnyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    35
    61
    24
    17
See reviews for
29
38
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights en-route to Sydney. It suited us as we were out all of the time site seeing. Clean room nice staff and good choice of food. Walking distance to city centre and china town.

Room Tip: Ideal for a very reasonably priced stop over
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcheldean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My room was comfortable enough with nice spacious lobby to hang out in with a big wide window to see the road outside. However, Building works outside as they are currently building an underground metro line extension or road extension.

Can walk from here to the Indian Temple around the corner or Petaling street night market.
Pasar Seni train station also walking distance.

Room Tip: Currently Building works outside as they build an underground metro line extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vegetarian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Room smelt of sweat as I walked in...carpet n chairs stinks. Air con too cold when asked for assistance was told to use blankets to cover up. Breakfast was no value for money.Horrible. This is my second time here n definitely my last. Will never recommend this hotel to my mates

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank tjabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is a basic hotel (no swimming pool, spa or gym) but one I stay in twice a year, because it is value for money. Choose a room at the back of the hotel as there is a building site (the new MRT station) opposite and noise in the daytime is annoying. However, buffet breakfast is included in the price and the rooms, with windows (superior deluxe) - small fridge, electric jug, coffee, tea, sugar, creamer, TV (only one cable), lots of wardrobe space, bottled water, small table, arm chairs, make-up table, roomy en suite, comfortable beds, rooms serviced daily - are roomy and secure.

Staff are accommodating - need an extra pillow, a blanket - phone reception and it is done. A bonus for those with an early morning arrival is an early checkin and for those with late night flights is a 6 pm checkout (pay half day rates). Talk to Mr Watson (manpac3000@gmail.com). Hotel has WiFi but no communal computer/printer.

This hotel is in need of a refurb but its location (food, shopping, transport), security and decency are factors to consider as are its proximity to free GoKL bus, LRT (Pasar Seni) and Monorail, to other, more expensive and touristy parts of the city. The hotel is one stop by LRT from KL Sentral where the buses and trains from LCCT and KLIA arrive and depart. Jalan Petaling is 100 metres away.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Had a room with window at the front of building. No problem with traffic, music or party noise. However, unbearable drilling noise from the building site opposite was incessant from morning until late evening. Air conditioner was very effective and we appreciated a cool room during a very hot spell. Bathroom and bedding was clean and room was serviced daily. Variety of foods provided for breakfasts. Food stalls in the area if you enjoy sampling local fare. McDonalds & Burger King is within walking distance. Electric kettle, coffee, tea and sugar provided in room (no milk) as was daily bottled water. No hairdryer or microwave oven available for use. An iron and ironing board set up in the hallway for guest use. Wifi in room 24/7. No printer or computer access for quests. A coat of paint would refresh room and windows are well overdue for a clean. Hotel is close to both rail & bus. Most staff were helpful and friendly, as were tour organisers next door to front desk. A hotel for those seeking budget accommodation for a few nights in Chinatown. It IS rated 2 star.

Room Tip: Get quiet room with window. Shop around for accommodation with high stars and good rates. Check lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fingersoffish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 Nights at the beginning of November and I must say I was very disappointed.
The room I had was very dark and the carpet looked like it hadn't been cleaned for years, overall the room looked like it had not been touched for years and was desperate for a refurb. Maybe the superior or deluxe rooms are better?
on the plus side the Location is very good and the breakfast is superb, but until this place gets refurbished then I'm afraid I wouldn't stop here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose the cheapest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadams1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel China Town 2
Hotel China Town 2
#209 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lavana Hotel, Chinatown
Lavana Hotel, Chinatown
#149 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winsin Hotel
Winsin Hotel
#132 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur
D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur
#172 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
413 reviews
2.5 mi away
d'Garden Hotel
d'Garden Hotel
#273 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel China Town Inn
Hotel China Town Inn
#107 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Pacific Hotel

Property: Mandarin Pacific Hotel
Address: Hotel Mandarin Pacific 2-8 Jalan Sultan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandarin Pacific Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Mandarin Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing