We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Explorers Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“GREAT!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

we stayed in this hostel for 3 nights and it beat our expectations.
the staff was really helpful and friendly, they didn't want to rip us off ( the water prices here were even cheaper than in some stores), the bathroom & toilets were always clean
we had a double room and although it had no windows - which made it really hard to wake up in the morning - it was neat. there was enough space for our backpacks, etc., the aircon was woking well plus there were no bed bugs ;)
the breakfast was - as advertised - simple, but that would not keep me from coming here again.
also, the atmosphere in the lobby was relaxing. there was a lot of space to sit around, eat, get to know people; there was always someone chilling around
another convenient thing was, that they have a self service "kitchen" (no cooking spot but plates and cutlery), so I could enjoy the mango I bought at the market here in the lobby.

in a nutshell, I would recommend staying in this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julienorsomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    177
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
14
140
120
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 8 days. The staff helped me with all my questions and gave me some tips. The place is super clean! The shared bathroom is also pretty decent! It's very near the station too!

The place is hard to find at first. Roamed around the streets in the middle of the night for ~30min looking for this guesthouse.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

close to railway station , so it is easy to sightsee in the city.also it is close to china town and pasar seni(central market). very convenient location.
dorm room and shower room are very clean. the staffs are friendly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kei138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Good location, close to china town. Near a couple small bars. Air con, however in the dorm room, there are no windows which is a bit of a downer. Can't wake up to natural light and the traffic can be noisy (but that's city life!). But value for money with breakfast in the morning. Wifi only really works on ground floor but the roof is a lovely place to relax and see some of the amazing city that KL is. Have stayed here many times already and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAlexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our first night in Kuala Lumpur, easy to find from the station, staff were lovely, everything was clean, comfy beds, chilled/friendly environment, free breakfast and wifi downstairs not a bad word to say! Go to the reggae bar round the corner

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank laurengillmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hostel was almost perfect, the only drawback was the lack of window in our room. The rooms and toilets were spotless and the lady at the reception exceptionally nice and helpful. It was a little too expensive for our budget but really worth it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 55Anna55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, excellent location with several LRT stations close by. The facilities are excellent. Free tea and coffee, wifi, desktops, tv etc in the downstairs area. The rooms and toilet areas are very clean. Very secure building also with a good atmosphere. Good place to meet fellow backpackers.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dreaming_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 257 in Kuala Lumpur
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 257 in Kuala Lumpur
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
#17 of 257 in Kuala Lumpur
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paper Plane Hostel
Paper Plane Hostel
#3 of 257 in Kuala Lumpur
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 257 in Kuala Lumpur
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Explorers Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Explorers Guesthouse

Property: The Explorers Guesthouse
Address: No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 257 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Explorers Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Explorers Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Explorers Guesthouse Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing