We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Etika Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Etika Inn
Ranked #60 of 364 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Really pleased we found Etika. We stayed in four hotels over almost 2 weeks in KL. Some we left as they had bugs (citin) others had pretty rubbish service (my hotel) then we found Etika where the rooms are clean with comfortable beds and pillows. Shower room was a bit small but this is standard for KL china town. Water always hot. Good wifi.
Location is fantastic being a 5 min walk to bus terminals, 10 mins to train, 1 min to market (worth noting stalls are not very cheap) and there's the rainbow laundry at the bottom of the street.
The hotel was quiet at night time and there is free hot and cold filtered water- perfect if you've got your own coffee/tea. We paid RM75 for a small room and 80 for a larger room.
Good cheap breakfast available at the platinum restaurant just down the road next to the market entrance, if you pick the steamed buns outside- under MR 5.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Drizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

After a long flight with very little sleep we arrived to KL in a stage of zombies. Almost all hotels/guesthouses have a policy of no check-in before 1pm (even though they have rooms available), if you want to you have to pay a whole day extra. However the receptionist at Etika Inn was so nice and understanding that she immediately gave us a room so we could rest. The rooms were very modern and clean, 24h hot water, WiFi worked great all the time and it's a great location in China Town. (just 7-10 min walk from Pasar Seni). Stuff were helpful and always kind,

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LopezPersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Minutes from two train stations , it's in the mid of china town on a main street. Doorway is a bit hidden but most definitely a gem to find. Very clean rooms Comfortable . Tv air con fridge .. The staff are super friendly and very very helpful !! Fully recommend !!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Merpcicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Came across this guesthouse while having lunch.Stayed here for a night with husband and baby son.The room was clean,furnished with wooden furniture, high ceiling, fan + air cond, mini fridge, lcd satellite channel, free wifi, ensuite with hot shower.Only downside was the towel wasn't as clean as I expected it to be and as my room is close to the street, some noises were inevitableand and no breakfast.Overall, it was really nice and felt really comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank izlelism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I was disappointed to find this hotel wasn't as good as other reviewers have indicated. The receptionist was fine, but as far as staff going out of their way to make me feel welcome/give me pointers on what to do, it didn't happen.

The room I stayed in didn't have a window (I don't think any of them do) and as it was close to reception (as I think most of them are), it was very noisy. I could very clearly hear staff and guests talking which was frustrating. The lights in the room are quite dim, so I very much felt like I was staying in a cave.

When I returned to KL, I stayed at a better place across the road for a mere 10RM more (Nan Yeang) with windows, a bigger bedroom and a nicer bathroom.

The location is fine, easy access to Chinatown and all the sights, but I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room away from reception, it may help if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PennyW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Quick reply, Professional reply. Correct offer compared to quality - price and the location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotelAppreciator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed here on two separate occasions at the start and at the end of my one month trip in Malaysia.

I looked into a lot of different rooms in the area before choosing this place. I found a lot of the guesthouses and low-key hotels were overpriced but the rooms in Etika Inn were of a good value.

The location is very good, slightly away from the noise and bustle of the market but within easy reach of a lot of good hawker food (the one directly outside of the Inn had some the best southern Chinese food i ate in Malaysia). Its a 8-10 minute walk from Pasir Seni station, has a K.L. "get-on, get-off" bus close-by (out of the door and 30 second walk to the right on the same side of the road), is a 5 minute walk from the bus stop that goes to both airports (walk left, keep walking towards Mcdonalds and then its just behind) and also close to the bus station that is the departure point for any buses going north.

The staff were very friendly and one guy in particular was very insightful and gave us a lot of advice on what to see and do in K.L. (as well as a list of his favourite eateries).

As for the rooms, i stayed in two different ones. Both lacked natural light. The first was the third room on the right, it was smaller of the two, the shower was good, was quiet and the television has 10 or so channels. The second room was the first on the right. It was much bigger than the other room, the ceiling is high and feels less cramped, the television had only 4 channels (one of which was some pirate movie station that showed up-to-date movies on it), the shower was alright but not as good as the other one, the water is warm. Both rooms were the same price (80RM) and both good value compared the other places i tried in Petaling Road/Chinatown. There is a small selection of books, alot of tourist information available to take for free and a kettle in the lobby area.

To sum up, it was pretty good, value, the location is spot on, the rooms are clean and the people there are friendly and informative.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lardylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petaling
Hotel Petaling
#115 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
105 reviews
5.8 mi away
de Elements Business Hotel
de Elements Business Hotel
#156 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#74 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Simms Boutique Hotel
Simms Boutique Hotel
#213 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
SS City Hotel
SS City Hotel
#268 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
60 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel China Town Inn
Hotel China Town Inn
#129 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etika Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etika Inn

Address: 1st Floor 50000 76a Jalan Sultan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £10 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Etika Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is location in the heart of Kuala Lumpur just 2 mins walk from PUDU Sentral Bus station, in China Town. Jalan Sultan, 24 hours Free Wifi, Coffee, Tea, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Etika Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing