We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #17 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here for nine months and highly recommend their apartments. Everything you need is in there: wireless network, well equipped kitchen, music player with iPod dock, and most importantly, the rooms are well-kept and cleaned. The staff are most pleasant and helpful, save for perhaps the occasional one who doesn't quite speak nor understand English.

The only aspect which is a little letdown is the fact that Somerset Ampang relies solely on Souled Out for daily buffet breakfast. Go with little expectation and you'll be fine. If you're staying longer, perhaps walk 330m further down Jalan Ampang (away from Petronas Twin Towers) and buy your own groceries from Hock Choon Supermarket.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank udonhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    298
    45
    16
    10
See reviews for
256
299
43
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We recently stayed at the Somerset Ampang and have really enjoyed it. They upgraded us to a deluxe studio; it was big, airy, very clean and modern. The rooftop pool is simply great, with view of the towers and the gym was also great. There is included Wi-Fi access throughout. The only downside would be the breakfast but it is just a minor detail….this hotel is extremely good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelAmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I've searched the net for months before booking this hotel and i chose it based on trip advisor reviews, as i'm almost obssesed with cleanliness and everything about a hotel to stay.
We stayed there for 10 nights for a family reunion with my sister's family coming from canada. Booked a three bedroom apartment and a premiere studio.
Everything about the place was great. Quite new and very clean. The manager is such a great person, living in the same place himself.
My 11 month baby got sick in the trip and we had to admit him at prince court hospital for one night. It was such a surprise for me in those difficult hours to see the hotel manager coming to the hospital at 10 pm to support us and check if we need anything...
Coming back from hospital 3 hotel staff came to our room with fruit and cake for me and a bear for the baby. It was so sweet...
Everyone in our group was completely satisfied with our stay.
Even the house keeping girl Named Norlida was very nice :)
Breakfast could be better though... Nice resturant, but very limited options for breakfast.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primavera747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent 6 nights in a 1-bedroom apartment at Somerset Ampang and were very satisfied with our choice of accommodation.

It was very comfortable, with lots of facilities, just as described on the website, and the whole place was very clean. The staff throughout were all very pleasant and friendly and delivered very good service, not forgetting the shuttle-bus service and the excellent drivers.

Some people have posted negative comments about the breakfast, but we were satisfied with the food on offer, and the choices in the buffet did change every day. Also there were eggs cooked to order plus fresh pastries baked onsite.

We would have been very happy to have stayed longer, and surely we shall return, if we can get another special offer rate.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at the back - but still have an open view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aandlkch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

This was a last minute booking and we have been very happy with the hotel. staff we found were polite and non intrusive the bar and restaurant which services guests was great. staff were very friendly and warm. great location. allowed us to come back and use poolside showers before a late night flight. definitely be back. They also provided a free upgrade to one bed apartment. facillities on site were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tethered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyoles
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Great price / quality. Service is OK (but certainly not perfect). Location is adequate with a metro station at 5 minutes walk and an (old) shopping mall with supermarket and a few (fast) food options at a few hundred meters distance. Decent breakfast. OK gym and swimming pool on the roof. Would stay there again when in KL.

Room Tip: Take a the highest floor possible (they go up to 22 floors) for a better view over the city and less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iceberg678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just went to KL and stay at this apt hotel on last Mon to Wed, 7-9 May. The room was very well maintain and is quite clean. The apartment has 3 rooms, the master bedroom attached with a toilet with a bath tub as well. The view from the toilet was nice, able to see the view of KL. The other 2 room was abit small but is fine for couple. The breakfast was so so, nothing fantastic.

Travel to KLCC was easy just one stop away from Ampang Park Station.

Overall experience was nice, will recommend it. Staff was quite prompt when help is needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
5.3 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
0.7 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,809 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#13 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
1.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur

Property: Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Address: No 187 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Embassy Row, Somerset Ampang offers stylish accommodation and unrivalled city views of the Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Its prime location provides quick access to the city's business, shopping and entertainment district, marked by Jalan Ampang, JAlan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Tun Razak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing