We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
561
331
55
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
331
55
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine rooftop pool serviced apartment living room one bedroom apartment walk in wardrobe bedroom premier petronas towers apartment hotel kids pool restaurant downstairs shuttle service breakfast is served dining table home away from home metro station free shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
565 - 570 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I checked in at the 90sqm-2-bedroom Premier Serviced Residence at Somerset Ampang KL last October 18-20, 2013 with my aunt and my mom. All of us were very excited as it's our very first time to experience a serviced residence.

From the facade of the hotel to the reception area at the lobby where I checked in, I immediately felt the warm and friendly hospitality of the staff of Somerset.

We're all impressed with the homey ambiance of the room at the 16th floor. Spacious, high-ceiling, well-appointed living room separated with the dining area and of course, the kitchen. The fully equipped kitchen makes the huge difference of staying in a hotel compared to this serviced residence. The kitchen has electric kettle, microwave oven, electric oven, cooker hub & hood, cutlery, plates and utensils, wine glasses, refrigerator, a laundry tub with dryer, coffee and tea making facilities. If not too much to ask, a fruit blender could've completed everything but I cannot ask for more! My mom and aunty were happy to see the kitchen too!

The living room boasts of home entertainment system that includes CD/DVD player with iPod docking, LCD TV at the living room and master’s bedroom complete with satellite and cable channels, an electric ceiling fan, and the most important to me, a fast and free wireless internet connection! The thermostat in the airconditioning units at every room can also be regulated, that pleased my senior relatives who prefer a warmer temp.

The master's bedroom is neither big nor small, just right size with high ceiling and complete wardrobe, spotless en-suite toilet and bath, windows and bath tub offer a great view of KL skyline and the view below. So nice! And the quality of the bed and pillows? I had uninterrupted and restful sleeps for 2 nights!

I checked out the Residents' Lounge at 22nd level where the modern gymnasium, infinity pool and jaccuzzi and wading kiddie pool are located. The pool opens to the beautiful KL skyline with a great veiw of those iconic Twin Towers! The Lounge also offers a great venue for family or friends bonding, or simply time for oneself reading magazines or paperbacks available at the shelf.

I also tried to reserve the shuttle van service from the lobby to KLCC-Shopping complex. The trips to the malls in KL (and or the schedule to office for those residents who work) are on a scheduled basis. I booked at 10:30AM and it conveniently dropped me off at the foot of Petronas Twin Towers in less than 10 minutes.

Location, btw is so accessible. Somerset Ampang KL is situated along the prestigious Embassy row, a 5-minute-walking distance from Ampang Shopping Center (where I bought takeaway dinner and lunch), MRT station and bus stops.

The only downside for me is the breakfast buffet we had from the outsourced Souled Out. There were less dishes and minimal desserts and tropical fruits available at the spread. The taste of everything I sampled was nothing to rave about. I wish they could do something about it. Nonetheless, I could not say anything negative about our short but memorable experience at Somerset Ampang KL. Really wish we could've stayed longer!

Room Tip: Choose a room at a higher level to enjoy the view of the KL skyline and the sight of the roads below. Views are fantastic at dawn and at dusk!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docgelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

stayed there for 3 nights during our honeymoon in a premier studio, this apartment hotel is very near to city center and a metro station is within a walking distance. also there is a shopping mall near by as well as KFC, McD & Pizzahut.. if you like walking you can even go to Petronas twin towers which is like 15 mins away on foot. the studio was very clean and comfortable, spacious and well furnished with everything you'll ever need, a washer/dryer, kitchenette, iron, ironing table, silverware and plates.. definitely would stay there again and again !

Room Tip: Get yourself a studio on the upper levels to have the best look at the city below
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nationzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The 1-bedroom Premier is just stunningly amazing with all sorts of anything plus those we really don't need are provided (eg. iphone dock, umbrella, torchlight etc). Really feel like home even better than it! Bed is super comfy, bathroom is filled with marvellous amenities. Loved the organic orange bath gel to the max!

Though there is reservation hiccup (Rahimah handled my emails very well, thank you!) but the service recovery rendered just plant smiles all over. Kudos to Gary Loke and team for the great arrangement. It is really a big surprise.

Overall, a great stay!

Room Tip: High floors gives better views
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Somerset for 3 nights during our recent visit to Malaysia. While planning the trip, we were looking for a modern hotel in the centre of Kuala Lumpur and we never regretted having chosen the Somerset Ampang.
First of all, it was a very kind and friendly gesture of the front desk staff to allow us a very early check in (at 9 am instead of regular 2 pm) at no additional cost. We appreciated this a lot having survived a 5 hour night flight from Shanghai.
We were also more than happy with our one-bedroom apartment which was full of light, modern, well furnished and featured a spacious living room/ dining area, a cozy bedroom with a separate walk-in wardrobe (!), a bright bathroom with a big bathtub and (!) a shower! There was also a kitchen with a fridge, a tea kettle, a toaster and a washing machine, as well as some basic tableware and cooking utensils.
The biggest feature of the hotel is obviously its infinity pool with a whirlpool alongside a very nice gym and a residents' club, all in the 22nd floor. The pool is open every day till 11 pm and it was especially cool to swim there at night. There are also comfortable sunbeds, washrooms/changing rooms, and towels are provided at any time and at no cost.
The breakfast is served at a cafe/bar on the ground floor of the same building. First we found the buffet spread a bit lacking. We were especially disappointed with the scarce choice of fresh fruit (surprising for the SE Asian region). However, we were won over by the friendly and welcoming attitude of the kitchen and serving staff, especially that of the egg station guy! He was very nice and ever smiling which secured us a good mood every single morning. Though the buffet didn't have that many options, there was something new every day, so the staff tried to vary and rotate the dishes. In the end, there was enough food and variety to have a satisfying breakfast.
The location of the hotel is fine. It is close to the city centre, though one should walk around 15 minutes along the Jalan Ampang street to get to the Petronas. Just 5-7 minutes walk to the next subway station Ampang Park (one station ride to the towers) where you can also find lots of food choices. However, we didn't like the very street where the hotel was situated (the above mentioned Jalan Ampang), since it was too busy, loud and dusty. Luckily this didn't affect our night rest as our room's windows were facing another side.
To sum it up, we truly enjoyed our stay at the Somerset Ampang, especially its friendly and attentive service,our modern and comfortable room and of course the wonderful infinity pool area!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selya84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We - a family of 5 - rented a 3 bedroom apartment. They are clean and moderns with all amenities. The bedrooms are large with plenty of cupboard space and comfortable beds. The kitchen is well appointed and have all necessary appliances. The included breakfast is in the restaurant next door (still part of the complex).
The hotel is in a central part of town with easy access to many attractions and shopping.
We used a driver with a clean modern van to take us on tours and drive us across the country to Club Med (took about 4 hours and much easier than flying). Would highly recommend doing the same.
We pre-booked the twin towers visit through Andrew - who has been mentioned by other people. He got us the time and day we wanted without having to queue up.
The hotel pool on the roof is great and a good escape from the local heat.
Overall great service and would happily go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RocketAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews