We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #17 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent room and facilities”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment for three weeks and it was perfect for my needs. The living area was well designed with separate lounge, dining and kitchen areas. Plenty of space in the bedroom as well. The kitchen area was well equipped, with hob, microwave, fridge, freezer and washer/dryer.

The facilities in the building were good, with a rooftop pool and gym. The arrangement with the restaurant next door (souled out) worked well, with them providing daily buffet breakfast and room service delivery.

The location near to Ampang Park station on the LRT is good, although the walk to the station is not very pleasant - only 5 minutes, but along a very poorly maintained footpath next to a very busy road, and having to cross a very busy road as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    290
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
244
297
42
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The apartments were huge, large bedroom with walk in wardrobe, large bathroom and lounge area with kitchenette, it was nice to have so much space. The rooms were very clean.

The pool was lovely, while it only had a few loungers there were never many people there and so this wasn't a problem. It's a shame the view of the Petronas towers are being blocked by a new tower block.

Breakfast was served next door and was fine, cereal, fruit, toast, eggs cooked to order and a few other hot items. This restaurant was also good value for dinner.

It was an easy 5 minute walk to Ampang Park and only 15 minutes walk to KLCC park. I disagree with a previous review that the walk past the embassy to the station is 'difficult'- there are a couple of points where tree roots have pushed up and broken the pavement but it is not difficult to step over or around the broken parts!

Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed at the Somerset Ampang for nearly two weeks for business. The location was handy to the places I was working, although the walk to Ampang Park station was difficult with the very poor condition of the footpath past the old British High Commission building - you were forced almost onto the busy road in a couple of places.

The room was very comfortable and quiet. The hotel rooms start on level 9, with offices below, so you are well above the noise of the street. The lack of a balcony was a bit disappointing, however. The space in my one bedroom room was perfect for a longish stay. All the expected features were present, including the washing machine / drier, which swayed me to stay here rather than the Prince. There was no actual cooking facility (stove), but this didn't worry me. The room was well made up each day, the only thing which was missed seemed to be a spill of some kind in the passage outside the room, which was clearly visible on the polished stone doorway. I never reported it, leaving it as a sort of experiment, and it was never cleaned.

The room had separate air conditioning for the living and bed rooms. It was very effective, if a little noisy. I tended to sleep with the living room air on low, and the bedroom off.

The pool area and lounge on level 22 were very good. The pool was just the right temperature for a cool off, important in the KL climate, and the view was great. The cleaning staff need to keep up the supply of clean towels to the pool area, I often ended up guiltily taking the last towel.

Breakfast is served at an outdoor buffet, which was a bit average. Why they don't know about serving milk (for breakfast cereal) cold, I don't know. Dinner could be had at the same place for a very reasonable price, as long as you didn't mind the outdoors, and the noise (both traffic and music). There aren't a lot of other eating choices in the immediate vicinity but lots of options around 1 - 2 km away.

Unfortunately there was a mix up upon my arrival and the accommodation which was supposed to have been paid by my work, had not been processed and I had to pay it myself. This seems to be a common problem with Somerset hotels, the same thing happened to me in Singapore last year. The reception staff said they would give me the invoice the next day but a week later I had to ask for it as it still hadn't arrived. The invoice they then gave me was only for the days which had elapsed as they said they couldn't give me an invoice covering future days, even though I'd paid for them. Other than that, the staff were always friendly and helpful.

Considering the "consular quarter" location, going for a walk nearby was an astonishing mix of opulent diplomatic residences and squalor. I guess this is typical KL.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thealphabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I travel back to Malaysia during March to attend a wedding.
The 1 bedroom apartment was perfect for my girl friend and me,
as she can continue her research paper in the study room while i continue on my work in the dining room.
The infinity pool was amazing with it night view.
Great and romantic pool for a couple :)
The location is very convenience as it is just 10 mins away from LRT station and about 20 minutes away from KLCC.

Room Tip: The higher to room, the greater the view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alvin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have stayed at the somerset apartments in Singapore, but was most impressed with the the location in Malaysis. Right at the triangle in KL, great place to stay.

Pool was a bit dissappointing but the breakfast was good. All around, i would go back with family to stay there for my next malaysia trip

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soumicruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this place for 4 days when we were in KL in February after our month long trip around Asia and We really loved wish he had stayed longer.We had a 1 bed apartment up on the 11th Floor with amazing views of Kuala Lumpur. The apartment had all the things you would expect in modern apartment, the furniture still very new and modern, huge bed, walking wardrobe. The best part of the hotel is the swimming pool at the top floor with amazing views of Kuala Lumpur.If you deal includes breakfast its served in the restaurant next building, The breakfast was ok I tried the food and drinks which were really good.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I spent a week here in March 2014 with my husband and toddler, with my mother in a room next door. Our 1 bedroom unit included a separate study which was perfect to set up the baby's cot in, and the lounge area was great for her to play in (we just had to move a glass coffee table to the wall to prevent accidents). The restaurant downstairs had a good takeaway menu and they would deliver to your door - so we often had this 'room service' at night with my mum with the baby asleep in the other room. The rooftop pool is lovely, and breakfast downstairs great.

It was an easy 10 minute walk with a stroller (probably 5 mins without one) to the train station and one stop to KLCC, so we often went shopping this way. As taxis don't have child seats we tried to avoid them when we could, so it was great to be so close to the train.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
5.3 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
3.1 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
3,120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
2.6 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur

Property: Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Address: No 187 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Embassy Row, Somerset Ampang offers stylish accommodation and unrivalled city views of the Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Its prime location provides quick access to the city's business, shopping and entertainment district, marked by Jalan Ampang, JAlan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Tun Razak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing