We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRELFLY & BATU CAVES TOUR, KS”

MM Adventure Travel and Discovery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the beauty of multi-cultural Malaysia with our friendly local guides who exhibit Quality, Uniqueness, Fun, Personal Experience and a Personalized touch with a Unique Selling Point (USP), as the eyes of Malaysia. Our guides are fluent English speakers and competent/experienced drivers / guides who will be able to show you all the Hidden Treasures of Malaysia. And beware of those who copied our website word for word, check their term and conditions / itinerary (text), it's same as ours....................
Courbevoie, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“FIRELFLY & BATU CAVES TOUR, KS”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The driver did not speak neither understand properly English.
Arrived with half an hour late
No explanation at all, just driving
For Batu caves you have to pay the visit 35 RM not provided ny the trip (normally you're not supposed to pay the visits)
The dinner had no choice and was poor, yet the restaurant has some nice stuff
The firefles were at least there, but the whole trip is all mass market and really don't worth the money paid
To do only if you have nothing else to do

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Aurcka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmadventure, Owner at MM Adventure Travel and Discovery, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your review on your Sit in Coach Tour (Joint Tour) which you had booked for the Firefly and Batu Caves tour.

Well, after the post-mortem done by the management, the driver was 10 minutes late, upon picking you up, the driver SAID that he sorry for the delay due to the heavy traffic and road construction near the hotel you were staying at (Hotel Istana). At the hotel lobby, you had asked the driver to compensate for the 10 minutes late by asking for a Discount, of which he had answered that it had been beyond his control and to please write in or call to our office, he then offered to call the office and you said it’s OK.

Upon arriving at the Batu Caves, the driver explained and adviced you that the visit to Batu Caves was only for 30 to 40 minutes, he noticed that you were not paying any attention at all to his explanations, and you just said OK.

Do you still remember what time you came back to the vehicle? Probably not, it took you 1 hour 30 minutes to come back to the vehicle. When the driver asked you why you had been so late, you just gave him a bill and said that you had gone to the Dark Caves and you said you wanted to claim the entrance fee which you had paid, which is NOT in our itinerary. He then told you that this tour does not include the Dark Caves, and he told you that you had booked the Batu Caves and Firefly Sit in Coach tour.

Please take note: We did not mention any visit to Dark Caves in our website or in your tour confirmation. So PLEASE don’t lie as you wish.

Regarding your dinner, as stated, we provided you with a set dinner as mentioned in our website and on the tour confirmation. As soon as the food arrived, you gave a sarcastic look at the waiter, and you got up and started walking around the restaurant looking at all the other tables, where the locals and other diners were eating and you complained to the driver that you wanted similar food for your dinner, the driver told you that those were the locals having their dinner and they pay for what they eat and we can’t afford to pay for that.

Mam, do you remember, in the restaurant there was another driver (wearing the MM Adventure uniform) from our company, watching you from the time you entered the restaurant, just for your info that was me (Mr. Michael Manivanan – the owner), you were just finding fault from the start till the end with the driver, what can I say further……

Mam, do you remember, from the beginning itself you had been giving us a headache, one of the main reasons being that you were not listening to the driver when he was explaining things to you.

Kind Regards
Michael Manivanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    73
    3
    7
    31
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Batu Caves / Cameron Highlands & Firefly tours”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a great time. Shaan was a great guide and his local knowledge and experience was invaluable. My wife and I were treated very well and enjoyed every part of the trip. I'm very happy that we chose this tour and we would highly recommend this tour to our family and friends.

Thanks Shaan and it was nice to meet you Michael.

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 amazing days in Taman Negara”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

MM Adventure tours are really great. We spent 2 days in Taman Negara which was really perfect.
If you have limited time and want to see and experience lots of things.
Then you need to choose MM adventure tours. ı want to special thanks to Guna, which was our driver. He showed us various things and make us eat real local food.Thanks again

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Melis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Batu Caves, Cameron Highlands, Fireflies and so much more”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Michael, our guide and owner of the company made this a fabulous trip. In addition to the caves, Highlands and fireflies we visited different traditional Malay villages, saw rubber being tapped from the tree, basket weaving and spent a memorable time with the leaf money's feeding from our hand and sitting on our shoulders. Food throughout was excellent. Michael chose for us and we had tastings of street food, local fruit including the smelly durian fruit, strawberry tea, an amazing banana leaf curry, in fact much more food than we were expecting, all part of the package, you will not go hungry. This was not just a trip to the Highlands, it was a journey through Malay life and cuisine. Don't be put off by the quirky booking process, it's just Michael trying to make sure he has everything in place for your trip. It seemed expensive when we booked, but it was our personal tour, just my wife and I, and worth every Ringet. Book it, do it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank liz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning places and a foodie's paradise”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This has definitely been one of the highlight of our honeymoon. We did a private two days trip including Batu Caves, Cameron Highlands & Fireflies Sanctuary. We especially recommend Cameron Highlands to everyone visiting Malaysia. The river boat ride along the fireflies too, which I would describe as a magic experience.
Micheal, our guide, has been professional, entertaining and helpful. We told him that we love to try and discover local food when travelling: based on that, he rearranged part of the trip and took us to restaurants and market stalls where only locals eat! We dig the local delicacies and enjoyed each bit of it. Thanks Michael!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank emiravasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MM Adventure Travel and Discovery also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to MM Adventure Travel and Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing