We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to KL Sentral”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stay for 2 Nights there in a single private room. Got window so can see view. My bed n room quite clean. Nice staff and got simple breakfast. What i love from this hotel is soo close to KL Sentral so easy to take public transport. Near Sentral Mall, so easy to find food and so many food stall (India's Cuisine).
For me good to stay

Room Tip: Better choose the private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kaze752002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

First night I stayed in a dorm. I didn't really like the top bunk as it was close to the lights that are for the whole floor, therefore people coming in late and turning them on bothered me. The four bed female dorm was really cramped as well so I upgraded to a single only to find a bedbug crawling across the wall a few hours later. I informed the staff and they really didn't seem bothered, which is worrying as the problem is likely to get worse. It is otherwise clean, especially for the area, and budget friendly. But bedbugs mean that I won't be back. Sorry.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simone195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wah_Harun, Owner at PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Bed bugs is indeed a complicated problem that many hotels or hostels tend to have and to be honest, we're not excluded from it. But we're not ignoring it at all. We've been working hard from time to time to eradicate this problem. This includes the following:

1. Closing rooms/floors to get pest control to come from time to time to do misting and spraying.
2. Vacuuming and steam cleaning the pods and bunks.
3. Sending all our linens to hot wash daily.

Even though the problem is not completely solved, however we've seen a lot of improvements and we will not stop there but we will continue to maintain our place towards achieving bed bugs free. The staffs do take it serious and they have always been informing me whenever there's complaint. Thank you very much for your feedback as it's very important for us to keep track of it.

Regards,
Wah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for a night here. The staffs are friendly, the concept is good and it's very near from KL Sentral station. It's very quiet and perfect for those who are tired and just want to hit the bed. The room I stayed in is not clean though, also the pillow and the blanket. Not that secure if you want to stay for a long period of time. Overall my stay was okay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Ideal for KL Sentral which mesns the whole of KL is easy to get to. Accommodation is good and the staff and communal area excellent. Only criticism would be the communal lights which mean room lights can go on and off accidentally (as guilty as others) but that is a minor point compared to all pros.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan_lincoln1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I’m not one to start a review by criticizing others reviews, but those who give

negative remarks on the locations being “far away” from the city centre, either didn’t look at the map, or read the hostels introduction.

Pods is a 2 minute walk from KL sentral, perfect for those arriving at random hours of the day or night, as a quick walk through the brand new NU Sentral and The Brickfields (little India) and your there.
Location wise, it’s a 15minute Train ride to KLCC (Petronas Towers), or if you want a little walking tour, about a 20minute walk to the National History Museum, another 10mins to the Main Mosque, about half an hour to Berijah Times Square shopping mall, then about a 20minute walk to the Petronas.

The Staff are quite Simply Amazing, Moji,Rizal and the team make you feel super at home the entire time, the pre-arrival communication is superb, they organized the safe keeping of a parcel sent from the UK for us, and are also holding our luggage FREE OF CHARGE (I did ½ day worth of emails and research… you will be hard pressed to find anywhere else offering this service).

The dorms and Pods themself are fairly Unique, the dorm is big at 16 beds, but quite, air conditioned and equipped with power outlets and big lockers. (30-35mr). if dorms aren’t your thing, the double pod at 75-80 does the job.. there are no ceilings percae on the individual pods, to allow the air conditioning to come in, and at 75-80… the double which in essence in 2 single mattresses could be a great shout.

The common area is a great place to come out and chill … super fast Internet, massive TV with a few Sport channels and I’m sure others, some computers for those needing access, and a great snooze area for siesta’s.

Don’t usually do massive reviews like this. But the guys deserve it, all the best for the future, and look forward to spending a couple more nights there at the end of our adventure.

Darren, Matt & Charly

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DarrenHalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wah_Harun, Owner at PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you very much for your awesome feedback! I'm very glad to know that our continuous efforts to bring more values to the hostel for a better stay for our guests has resulted in positive feedback like this. I wish you pleasant travelling ahead and hope to see you back home again in the future! :)

Regards,
Wah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Pros: clean room, good wifi, decently clean bathrooms, and good location near KL sentral

cons: the walls of the room end before the ceiling and the light to your room is outside of the room, so we were woken up early and often by other guests moving about and at one point in the morning a person turning on our light and not realizing it

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is my second time to stay in this fabulous hostel. The staff are diligent to maintain very good
shape of the premise. Tidy, clean and comfortable. The dorm equipped personal lockers and power outlets which can't easy to find in the hostels in South East Asia. There is a newly opened huge shopping center complex. Just walk 3 minutes to reach the grand supermarket on the ground floor of the complex. This is a value added accommodation opened to all backpackers.

Room Tip: If you are easily to catch cold, ask the dorm bed not near or under the air-conditioner - should ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lui w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
3,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Summer View
Hotel Summer View
#63 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#91 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
4,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
NU Hotel Sentral
NU Hotel Sentral
#75 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sentral
Hotel Sentral
#112 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe

Address: Jalan Thambipillay | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 283 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £11 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just opposite KL Sentral the hub for transportation in and out of Kuala Lumpur PODs The Backpackers Home offers affordable accommodation without compromising on atmosphere and cleanliness. Rest. Assured. Our common room is equipped with internet access, wifi, door security tags, a library as well as a wide selection of local traditional games. PODs offer trips and links to the roads less travelled, a choice to stay at a Perma- culture farm or an orang asli hut. For the more adventurous, Friends Of PODs have many exciting trips and hikes into the Malaysian rain forest and quietly hidden crystal clear waterfalls. You may join our free R2B2 wheelie rides and experience Malaysia through the eyes of the locals. As the people from PODs are mostly from the art scene, do not be surprised if we break out into song and dance every first Friday of the month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing