We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but not really to our tastes.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ribbon Stayyz Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location but not really to our tastes.”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Liked: Good location right in the middle of Chinatown (which we were told was sketchy, but we felt fine there) and near a subway station, very busy area (which can also be a dislike for some), but it made the area feel safe and not deserted to us. The facilities were clean, and the staff is friendly. Sometimes the bathrooms ran out of toilet paper, but it was usually checked on throughout the day. The aircon worked great but with the humidity, and no windows it could get a little damp in the rooms and the pillows smelled of damp. There is a convenience store on the ground floor which came in handy.

Dislike: Cramped rooms and I've stayed in small rooms before, We could barely fit both of us and our one backpack in there. The walls were thin and you could hear everything if people were in the hall, no windows which is probably why the furnishings smell damp....but these aren’t secrets, you get what you pay for. If you are a backpacker and don’t care about space, just a place to sleep, you will probably like it. It’s the cheapest place around in a pretty good location. The breakfast was meager and we'd end up getting another snack downstairs, and upon early checkout there was none ready for us. They were apologetic and tried to scrounge us up something to make but we were in a hurry and didn't bother. We probably wouldn’t stay there again, but just because of personal preference.

Room Tip: The second floor of rooms seemed quieter so we went with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destinationnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    41
    22
    7
    15
See reviews for
3
44
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santorini
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I needed somewhere cheap for a couple of days, centrally located and with wireless connection.
The check in was very smooth, with the staff being being very nice and efficient.
There is wireless free of charge even inside the dorms and of course at the reception area.
When at the dorms, i was not crowded and i felt comfortable...
The location is excellent, near Puduraya bus stop and near many food shops and minimarkets(there is one right downstairs).

I did not like the fact that there were not enough toilets and showers..especially toilets.
And i don't understand why everybody takes their shoes and slippers off, when they walk around the hostel(this is a buddhist practice-see Thailand). The bathrooms are ok for showering, but never did without wearing slippers.
Maybe I am not the best backpacker in the world but i could not walk around without slippers inside..
The other thing that would probably need attention is the breakfast. The area for it is the reception area, and the kitchen occupies a very small corner, and it is not very convenient if more than 2 people want to make breakfast (you make it yourself from what I could understand-never had any), it is very difficult and then there is not enough space to eat it. My opinion of course.
The beds are also not very very comfy and they move a lot when someone wants to climb to the top one, so the person below will be annoyed for sure!
Possibly the private rooms are a whole different story.

Bottom line, I would stay there again if I needed somewhere cheap to stay and with internet access.

Room Tip: Try the private rooms in the hostel..probably worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank private-villas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We booked this place for a short stopover while in KL. Got there at 4am in the morning and someone was there to help us check in and get to our rooms. Location was excellent, close to the Pudu bus stop so it was easy to catch the bus to the airport. Shopping area was less than 5 mins walk away.

The people were very helpful in giving directions and travel tips. Even on the way back to KL we did not book a room but our flight was delayed. We had half a day to spend in KL so we went back just to take a shower and keep our luggage. Very friendly staff and would definitely recommend going back there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Good staff especially Joy, very friendly to the guest. THe rooms are enough to accommodate yet you feel secure, the internet connection is good, the location is very accessible to restaurants, Trains stations. And especially the staff are excellent when it comes to dealing with guest.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mags_11_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We were very disappointed by Ribbon Stayyz. which turns out to be unprofessional. When we arrived at the hotel after a very long trip, they told that despite several emails and a booking deposit they didn't book a room for us. The lady at the reception apologises and suggests a friend hotel which was in a very poor condition for still an expensive price. Not happy at all with that experience with Ribbon Stayyz!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Bad:
- The rooms were not ready to move in, so we were asked to leave our stuff in the lobby. After we came back from lunch, my jacket was stolen.
- The 2-bed rooms are tiny. Only one person can stand and move at a time - honestly!
- The bathrooms are horrible: In the pictures the bricks look like a design, but in fact the bathrooms are made of bare brickworks. Additionally the flush did not work properly for 3 days!
- We were not asked to fill out the official reviews as all the other guests. And after we posted our opinion online, it was deleted immediately!

Good:
- The private rooms and communal areas were clean.
- People could watch movies in the lobby.
- The location is central.
- The general atmosphere was friendly.

With sharing our experiences, we want to help others to find a good and safe place to stay when visiting Kuala Lumpur!

Have a good trip!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank me_kisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed at Ribbon Stayzz on the recommendation of a friend. It was so good I've been back twice! I always get THE warmest welcome.
The standard of customer service is excellent, Joy, Saufi and Miss Ali are great hosts.
The rooms are a little on the small side but then it's just somewhere to sleep and secure your stuff.
It's clean, there are loads of showers that are always hot and a never ending supply of tea, coffee and water. Generous breakfast time too. Great location, 5 mins walk from Pudaraya and Petaling street, maybe 7 mins from the Central Market and Pasar Seni station.
The 2 lounges are excellent - one for TV and one for a bit more chilling and Joy is the hostess-with-the-mostest keeping the interactions going and introducing people!
When the showers are the guesthouse I had booked into, due to Ribbon bring full over New Years, weren't working I was allowed to use the showers at Ribbon no problem.
Definitely in the top 3 hostels in KL!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo_thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 251 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 251 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 251 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
#16 of 251 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bullock Cart Hostel
Bullock Cart Hostel
#41 of 251 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
#15 of 251 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribbon Stayyz Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribbon Stayyz Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse

Property: Ribbon Stayyz Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse
Address: No. 31-M1 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 251 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to stay with us for a truly Malaysian experience! Located along one of Kuala Lumpur’s oldest streets, experience the sights, food, people, culture and lifestyle right from our doorstep. Petaling Street is one of Malaysia’s heritage spots where you will find endless antiquities and local delicacies, cafes, clothing, souvenirs, cultural performances, temples, hundred year old buildings and so much more. Ribbon Stayyz is a brand new guesthouse that will make your stay pleasant with its cosy Malaysian interior, comfortable & clean rooms and facilities. All-day air-conditioning, hot shower, free wi-fi internet access, lounge and mini library. Daily breakfast and free flow of coffee and tea is also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing