We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to take a break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Damas Suites and Residences
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good place to take a break”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I went there with a couple of friends and we booked the standard rooms meant for two. My review would be as follows:-

Location:
the place is rightly situated at the heart of KL. it is just a stone throw's away from KLCC and the KL High Court. Mont' Kiara, Hartamas and Publika, the expat hangout place famed for its arts and well-heeled revelers are less than a few minutes drive. Despite being located in the hubbub of the urban landscape, Damas Suites is a really quiet short of being eery given that not much business has yet to open up shop.

Faciities:
if you plan to take a few days break with some ftiness activities involved, the gym moderately equipped. its not meant for seasoned bodybuilders or athletes rather for those who needed to exercise somewhere away from home but not in a commercial gym. there's also an open air swimming pool and also a barbeque place (which have seen better days i guess). the front desk was helpful all of the times i have been here (twice). the guards were also nice enough to help us find our room and the parking was ample and you will always get to park at P1. the elevators however have some room for development. some of the elevators have yet to have its proper interior installed and the management instead relied on blue construction covers which were hideous to the sight.

Room:
here is what i have to complain. the designer tried to make the room look modern and chic but i guess it must have failed terribly. firstly, damas incorporated a business desk but the rooms lack proper power points. other serviced residents on the same par seem to have sockets in abundance. the electric stove has a switch which was very difficult to reach and we didnt expect for it to be switched off upon our arrival. there was also lack of good amount of utensils, oven and microwave which are essential for travelers who prefer to stay in and cook. floor and kitchen towels were also sparse. the design of the bathroom was nice but i found it weird that the shower cubicle had to be very open hence allowing water to splash onto the dry side of the toilet. the built in cupboard was also awkward especially if one is watching the TV while the other searches the cupboard because the sliding doors obstruct the view of the TV.

one thing i like about the room was the washing machine although it was not an essential part of any serviced residence. the aircond and TV and the channel selection on the tv were great too. the internet connection via wifi was also swift and the front desk were kind enough to provide more than one username and password for our room.

Conclusion:
damas suites and residences is a really good place to go to for a short break from home and work. its nice for couples or small families. the price is reasonable and i hope the management will do its best to continue improving the place. i will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    47
    45
    12
    13
See reviews for
23
27
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

Located in a suburban area with a shopping mall close by, we spent a night here with our 4 month old just for a mini getaway. The units are very much like private residences, tastefully furnished, rather new-ish in a quiet area with many shoplots yet to be occupied. The mall is a short walk across an overhead bridge with sufficient distractions including restaurants, Starbucks, a supermarket and Times bookstore.

The staff were courteous, and provided a baby cot when requested. The security guards patrolling the area also helped by pushing the baby stroller (in the rain) and lent us an umbrella. Free wifi is available in the room, and a fridge, kitchenette and utensils are handy for those planning to cook. Breakfast which was included was pretty ok, simple but filling with a selection of breads, cereal, fry up, congee and fried noodles.

Free parking is available at the basement, and we would have no qualms recommending the venue for a short term stay if you need to be in the Hartamas/Mont Kiara area.

We were happy with our stay, and

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SuzySkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World-wide Traveller
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Likes:
1) Nice lobby, swimming pool, coffee-bar.
2) Walking bridge straight to a large shopping mall with plenty of restaurants.
Dislikes:
1) Although rooms are modern, they reflect very poor workmanship and are not practical: there are barely any electric plugs (and none next to your desk for plugging your laptop), workers left their handprints and stains a bit everywhere, the decoration is quite ugly (the big luminary is of the atrocious style), the door are like cardboard and you hear everyone passing through the hall, the outside airco unit reverberates through the windows.
2) Internet is useless: you can connect in the room, then nothing happens (email not working, you cannot get through any website).
3) The rooms are in another building than the reception, and you are basically in a kind of ghost real estate, except for some people shouting around at midnight.
Basically, for the MYR 250 ++ they charge, except if you absolutely need to be on that location, you can find much better.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanLouisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

spent a couple of days at this hotel and i must say this is a very new hotel. it's so new, it's not even finished yet. most of the walls/hallways are not yet finished. although most of them are. i think i am the first one (literally the very first one) to use the room i was booked into. all the things were new, aircon, bed, tv, toilet, kitchenware etc. if i could only rate a hotel by how new things are, i'll give this a 6/5 rating. but since we can not rate like that, let's start with its location. very quiet place away from the city with a great view of the new palace. also it has a mall (hartamas shopping center) in front and i must say the annex from the hotel to the mall is very convenient! bad thing about the hotel is that the lobby is separated from the rooms but then again, the hotel is designed to be an condo-apartment style residential community so i guess it is ok. it's just that the lobby(pool area/game room, gym) was so nice, it doesn't match the other buildings. maybe because it's not finished yet. oh, and the soap seems like a candle, felt like wax. maybe they can improve their toletries next time. anyway, give it a year (or less) this will be a great apartment style hotel.

Room Tip: take a dip on their inifnity pool and relax yourself with the sauna. mall is just a stone's thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reddefinition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaka, Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed there from end of March with family.Unfortunately it is not a family oriented hotel.Suites was in different building from reception , no bell boy service to carry your luggage , room was at the far corner of the building which is next to a construction site.Luckily there were minimal noise or we were too tired to care.
As for the suite (2 bedroom premiere) decor was modern but room was small and weird size (due to it being at the far corner).But the only thing that was bothering us (due to having a small baby crawling around) is that there are NO carpet on the floor .Not even a small one front of the TV (but there is in the brochure)We had to walk around on the COLD hard tiles.It would be nice if they can provide at least bedroom slippers.So baby only had the baby cot to crawl around(by the way thank you for the baby cot)
Next day went to the pool.This is when it gets funny.Pool towel can be obtained from and return to the reception(?).What was even funnier , you can actually see PEOPLE in the next building and from the construction site when you are at the pool.So ladies be careful if you want to wear a two piece bikini when you go to the pool(unless you enjoy other people staring at you).By the way the pool is just on top of the reception are so you can guess how "high" the pool is.Next day checking out was another nightmare.Call for help (to the reception of because no bell boy) to carry luggage but no one came.Then got tired from waiting so me and the rest of family carried our own luggage (which is a LOT considering having a baby with us).And to check out is a long process because they only have two staff (thank you for your service) to be the concierge , pool man and receptionist to attend to guest.Talk about multitasking.Bravo!Overall this is a place suitable to people who are on business trips and too busy to explore the hotel NOT for families

Room Tip: Don't take corner rooms Be careful of baby lizard in the shower and smelly sink Parking is tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUPARJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed in a studio apartment. Boy, was i impressed when stepped in! Although new (opened in Aug 2011 i think), this hotel had everything. The studio apartment is like a holiday house of my own, equiped with kitchen facilities and stove for cooking, a fridge (not minibar ya) and even a washing machine! What more can i ask for? The hotel also had its own gym, sauna, pool! Not forgeting excellent staffs! They were always there to help you. Although the reception is closed by 11pm for now, it is quite alright. A very much recommended hotel for those looking for long stays. If you have your own car, it is an added advantage as the hotel is located in the middle, between Kuala Lumpur and Petaling Jaya where shopping is a must. Those that do not have your own transport, fret not, there is a shopping center right across the road! There's a supermarket there too for you to stock up stuff for cooking. And of cos, cabs are available both at the mall or just a call away....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darleen_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

THE BEST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER…..I can’t say enough about the Damas Suites. From the moment I arrived (a bit grumpy if I’m honest) the manager, Richard, leapt from reception with a huge smile to carry my bags in himself. It was like arriving home! The infinity pool is beautiful, great sauna, gym with a lovely view of a water feature and greenery (rare in KL). My studio apartment was well equipped, spotlessly clean throughout, with a big fridge, loads of storage space, a very comfortable bed, spacious balcony (with another great view of the Petronis towers and the new palace) and a washing machine (they even provide washing powder). I had a desk with a swivel chair and even a dressing room unit with large mirror built into the wardrobe. The food is VERY reasonably priced and yummy with a good mix of Western/Eastern food. The security are vigilant, respectful and so friendly (whilst remaining entirely polite)…. I stayed in 2 other 5 star hotels, supposedly the best in KL and found the inefficiency in these other places didn’t come close to meeting my demands – the DAMAS suites, however, far exceeded them, met my every need with professionalism, friendliness, efficiency and what actually felt like genuine joy (!!)….….. I had a business soiree for about 40 people around the pool and catering provided food/drinks with less than 24 hours notice! Damian, operations manager, gave me great advice on what to serve my guests and his chef & bar staff were superb!! It went down a treat and I felt very proud to invite business clients here.
Plus its location is great – linked directly via a skybridge to a large shopping centre with supermarket etc. Still, I think the main bonus with this hotel is the warmth of the staff. The slightest little request is dealt with immediately, swiftly and efficiently and every single member of staff seemed happy to be working there – hard to imagine but it really felt like a family and I was actually sad to leave! I cannot thank them all enough for making my stay so fantastic. As a business customer I had high demands – all were met with gusto… AND it’s really great value for money too. I would return to KL JUST to stay here….…..highly recommend this place (though I sort of want to keep it a secret!! )))

Room Tip: Several colleagues stayed here - all the rooms were great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
The Signature Hotel & Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
The Signature Hotel & Serviced S...
#111 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
5.0 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Residence Kuala Lumpur
Oakwood Hotel & Residence Kuala ...
#79 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wedgewood Residences
Wedgewood Residences
#26 of 251 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
RH Suites @ Publika, Solaris Dutamas    No 1, Jalan Dutamas 1, Solaris Dutamas, 50480 Kuala Lumpur (
RH Suites @ Publika, Solaris Dut...
#68 of 251 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peninsula Residence All Suite Hotel
Peninsula Residence All Suite Ho...
#99 of 251 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cempenai Parc Residences Damansara Heights
Cempenai Parc Residences Damansa...
#22 of 328 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damas Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damas Suites and Residences

Property: Damas Suites and Residences
Address: Damas Club, Plaza Damas 3 | No. 63 Jalan Sri Hartamas 1, Kuala Lumpur 50480, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 251 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Damas Suites and Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sri Hartamas, we provide spacious accommodation for both short and long term stays. Our serviced apartments and suites range from 49 to 94 square meters and are ideal for guests or even families that require extra space. Sri Hartamas is one of Kuala Lumpur's exclusive enclave within 10 minutes drive of KL city centre. Offering a hip, chic and trendy environment, our property is also an ideal base from which to explore Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damas Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damas Suites And Residences Hotel Wilayah Persekutuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing