We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with some minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Furama Bukit Bintang
Ranked #52 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good hotel with some minor issues”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Okay, I stayed in the hotel during Sepang 2013 F1 race, which left me not so much choice - all the hotels were full. So I booked Furama Hotel as it was one of the last hotels available at sane price.

Well, 1st of all, it's a non-smoking hotel. I mean totally. Ok, it's my own fault, I should have read it first.

Secondly, it has a pretty good location. There is some construction going around, but it has a variety of VERY COOL Chinese restaurant just on the opposite side of the street. And that really was nice and delicious. I used to live in Shanghai, trust me:)

I don't really think it's hotel's fault, but during the race weekend, as I thought, race programmes (schedule of the events on track) must be available in each corner or at least in each hotel. No way. I asked the front-desk manager for it - but no luck. But again, it's more about quite poor race organization in KL this year.

Finally, despite being located not in the "golden triangle", it's quite close to everything you need, Several shopping malls in and around Times Square, transportation, etc. There are issues with elevators, when the hotel is full you can wait for one forever. That needs to be fixed somehow. Apart from that, a good choice for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    882
    445
    162
    105
See reviews for
573
707
175
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The welcome at this hotel was very impressive, very efficient and friendly. The room we had was really nice and VERY large! Had a good stay, the pool didn't look that impressive so didn't try it out and also cannot comment on the restaurant as we didn't use it but the hotel did arrange a breakfast box in our room at 4am for our early departure which was great. All in all, no bells and whistles but a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ngers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear L0ngers,

May we extend our kind appreciation for your kind words about Furama Bukit Bintang. It is an honored to be able to give you our best service, and distinctive experience to you while you were staying with us. I'm glad to hear that you had a good welcoming experience and found our associates very efficient & friendly.

We certainly value your feedback's & we would be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future again.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

..yet I wish I was aware of the ongoing construction. Was hard to access the hotel entrance. Service was good though not outstanding. A little bit out of town though. Breakfast was plentiful but lacked atrmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MymCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Mymcam,

Thank you for choosing Furama Bukit Bintang as your preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia. We are glad to hear that you've enjoyed our service.

The road construction which is ongoing now by the town council is on the other side of the street and it is certainly not effecting the hotel entrance directly. Vehicles still pass thru. In fact there is a bus stop located directly in front of our hotel and buses passes by everyday.

We thank you once again for taking the time to highlight your experiences & should you have any concerns, or wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Location within a few minutes walk of the transit system and a shopping mall. Staff all very helpful and friendly. Comfortable rooms with plenty of room to move around. As a repeat visitor, I was upgraded which was great. Felt safe walking around at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianvisitorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear MikeeUK,

May we extend our kind appreciation for your kind words about Furama Bukit Bintang. It is an honored to be able to give you our best service, and distinctive experience to you while you were staying with us.

We certainly value your regularity to the hotel & we would be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future again.

Thank you & kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I had a pretty long stay at the Furama Bukit Bintang for 8 days. I had booked through Agoda and had informed the Hotel of late check in through email. Inspite of this, the hotel screwed it up and I had to wait 30 mins for my check in. Apart from that I did not have any bad experiences. The business centre is good which I used a couple of times. The hotel is quite new. I did not have food at the hotel so cant comment on it. The location has a lot of eateries hence no point eating at the hotel. It is quite close to Jalan Imbi Monorail and bang behind Berjaya Times Square which are major plusses. Overall a good place in KL which is worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karthik132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Karthik132,

Thank you for your continuous support & it was certainly a pleasure having you as our guests for 8 nights. We value your feedback & thank you for taking your time to share on your recent stay experience.

At the same note, we do apologies that there was a delay in your check in process. The hotel location is certainly one of our hotel strengths as it is strategically located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur & thank you for acknowledging the fact that our rates are good value for money.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and letting us know your feedback. We hope that Furama Bukit Bintang will be your preferred choice for accommodation on your return trips to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

poor location, not so clean, no free wi fi
nice staff.
very ugly view

it is worth the money but you have to be very careful at night. We almost got robbed on a side street. Managed to get away but it's better for you to stay more in the center

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Nicolasv882,

Greetings from Furama Bukit Bintang and we are sorry to hear about the unfortunate circumstances during your last stay whereby you almost got robbed in one of the side streets.

Many of the reviewers has acknowledge that the hotel's location is certainly one of our competitive strengths and it is much regret to hear that your bad experience which has narrowed your perception towards us.

We hope that you are in good health and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

After reading other review I thought I had made a mistake by booking this hotel and was apprehensive about the hotel. The moment I saw the hotel all that disappeared.

The check-in process was smooth and the elevator was clean and modern.

The room: Spacious, clean, 15th floor, flat screen tv with 7 English channels. The bathroom is big and even has a retractable hanging line which I had ever seen before. They provide all the necessary toiletries.

Breakfast: A large variety with both western and Asian dishes. I enjoyed going to and looked forward to breakfast every morning.

Location: This hotel is near Imbi Station on the Monorai about 5 mins away. The other station is Hang Tuah on the Monorail although this is a bit further.

Conceirge: Will always advice you to use the taxi to go anywhere in KL the taxi starts at 6RM. If you are 2 or more then it would make sense. I preferred to using the subway and monorail of which the minimum I paid was 1.60 RM and most was 4.50 each was to a far station. The conceirge may speak to other people while serving you which I thought was rude but it may be part of the culture so we prepared for this.

WIFI: if you do not have wifi as part of your room rate not that it is around 9RM per hour so it may be cheaper to get a sim card with data for 25RM for 50MB.

Internet cafe: For an internet cafe there is one in Beraya Time Square which is 5 minutes from the hotel. It is on the 9th floor called Friendster iCafe and is open 10:00am - 10:00pm. Cost for an hour 5RM and printing is 1RM.

Convenience Store: There is a 7 eleven across the hotel (behind the hotel). You can get any thing you forgot to pack.

There are a lots of restaurants at the Beraya Time Square and around the hotel.

I would stay at this hotel 10 times over

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not facing the mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandomJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear RandomJLondon,

Thank you for taking time in posting you valuable comments on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Furama Bukit Bintang.

We were delighted to have you in our care and are pleased to have met your expectation. Your positive comments regarding our spacious rooms, great location and delighting breakfast will be an inspiration to keep us focusing in the right direction in delivering the highest quality of service, always with a smile.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in our resort.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Furama Bukit Bintang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#56 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#42 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pacific Regency Hotel Suites
Pacific Regency Hotel Suites
#72 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,961 reviews
3.8 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
0.5 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Bukit Bintang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Bukit Bintang

Property: Furama Bukit Bintang
Address: 136, Jalan Changkat Thambi Dollah, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#46 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Bukit Bintang 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Furama Bukit Bintang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Bukit Bintang Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing