We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Showing signs of wear”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Furama Bukit Bintang
Ranked #50 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Cape Town
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Showing signs of wear”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Furama when it was new and it was excellent. The reception area and staff are still first class and the rooms are spacious but the wallpaper in our room was bubbling, the carpets were stained and the bathroom was showing signs of deterioration. Nevertheless the swimming pool and gym are great and the hotel is conveniently situated near to the main Bukit Bintang attractions. The breakfast is also plentiful and varied but we did not think it was as good as it was on our first visit

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bizgarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Bizgarrick,


Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at the hotel.

We are sincerely disappointed that we were not able to fully meet your expectations during your stay. Your comments about the room condition and the food are duly noted and we will make sure to review it with the concerned departments.

I do hope you will take the opportunity to stay with us again when your plans bring you back to Malaysia and would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    846
    430
    157
    104
See reviews for
554
681
168
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel claims to be a four star hotel but clearly it is not. Driving up its parking area is convoluted and parking headroom is quite low and tight. The rooms are spacious but quality is variable. my friends booked two rooms and were told that they were upgraded to a suite room. One room had complete furnishings, bath robes and amenity kits. Thee other room had a table and a sofa in the "lounge area" and nothing else. It was simply a bare room. No bathrobes and no amenity kits in the shower. Worse the bed linen was stained. One the of the windows was even opening dangerously that if you accidentally lean on it you might fall. There is no free wifi in the rooms, although our room had free wired internet. It was a bit of a misnomer as their advert said "free wifi" but turned out it was only free in the lobby and restaurant areas.

Location wise the hotel is slightly inconvenient because of the current MRT construction. it's right next to one of the most congested streets in KL (after living in KL for nearly 8 years, i try to avoid this street at all cost). So be prepared to walk a good 10-15 minutes in order to get to the big malls of bukit bintang or risk getting stuck in a bad traffic jam.

On the upside there are still a lot of restaurants nearby and if you aim to buy wholesale, the kenanga wholesale mall is nearby. But if you want to be close to the happening places in KL, this is not the hotel to pick.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunnerJaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel surpassed my expectations. Everything was lovely. The check in was smooth. The room was spacious and modern. The pool was wonderful. The gym was very well equipped and located right next to the pool. The breakfast was outstanding. There were so many different choices. The service was excellent. The location is right across the street from a 7-11. The walking distance to the heart of Bukit Bintang and all the restaurants is about fifteen to twenty minutes. I wouldn't say it's an easy walk since crossing the street can be a hassle, however a taxi only takes about eight minutes and costs under 10 ringgit. We loved this hotel. Let me tell you, sometimes when I read the negative reviews, I start to have second thoughts, but let me assure you that any negative reviews of this hotel would have to be because of personal taste, not because of quality or service. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardenbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Gardenbear,

Warmest Greetings from Furama Bukit Bintang!
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel.

We are thrilled to read of your wonderful stay to the hotel. I am indeed proud to be working with such an outstanding team of associates. Please be assured that your review will be shared with the team.

Nonetheless, thank you again for your warm comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

For my second visit, Furama Bukit Bintang still did not disappoint. Location is convenient. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast buffet is very affordable and abundant. Nearest mall, the Berjaya Times Square is around 3-5 mins walk away. Nearest train LRT station Imbi is also here.


For a detailed review, you may visit my blog:
http://mypeachhouse.blogspot.com/2014/03/furama-bukit-bintang-hotel-review.html

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank just_travel_with_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here at the end of June, we had a family suite which had 2 very large bedrooms & a sitting room, so was really spacious. Sadly it wasn't well maintained & there were large pieces of wallpaper peeling from the walls, despite this the rooms were very clean. The location was great for walking to the monorail & into the shopping district & we had a great time exploring the 'golden triangle'. We had a few drinks in the bar one night which my husband signed a reciept for to be billed to our room, however a few minutes after returning to our room we were telephoned to say we hadn't paid for them, this was 12.45 at night, then someone came to our room & asked us to pay, we re-iterated it was to be billed to our room (the bill was approx $30), then we received another phone call asking us to come to reception to pay (by now it was 1.15am!) We spoke to the manger the next morning who was extremely apologetic, but it did mar opinion of the hotel. Also don't expect the view shown on the website, we looked out on a busy street & the wall of the next door building!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyMac2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in the center of bukit bintag, walking distance to everything, our room was even overlooking the Petronas towers. Food great, cleanliness superb. Family rooms have two rooms, two bathrooms and a living room, so perfect.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DinaElGhitany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Dina ElGhitany,

Warmest Greetings from Furama Bukit Bintang!

We are extremely happy to read that you had a fantastic time and a perfect stay at the hotel. Your warm comment will definitely be shared with the team so we may provide you with the positive experience again on your next visit.

Thank you and we are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Best wishes,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Located in the bukit bintang shopping area and in close proximity to malls like Berjaya Times Square and Pavillion, this hotel is brimming with energy and is ideal for families.Food is good and rooms are well appointed. There is hardly any drawback and I urge those visiting KL for shopping to stay here.It is neat, minimalist and clutter free, just the way I like my hotels and the staff is always eager to assist.From.what I observed, it is a busy hotel and not without reason.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanafisaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry D, Executive Assistant Manager at Furama Bukit Bintang, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Hanafisaima,

Thank you for taking the time to write us your valuable feedback.

I am glad that your recent stay with us was pleasant where you experience our good service and location. I will be sure to share your review with the team on how our actions have made a significant impact on your visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Gerry D'Cruz
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#37 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#53 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#49 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#22 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Bukit Bintang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Bukit Bintang

Property: Furama Bukit Bintang
Address: 136, Jalan Changkat Thambi Dollah, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#45 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Bukit Bintang 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furama Bukit Bintang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Bukit Bintang Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing