We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for a couple nights. The room was small, but not too bad. We didn't have A/C but with the fan running it was more than cold enough for me! The dinning area was ok, we didn't really meet anyone, but we didn't try that hard. The location is great, near markets and food and of course public transportation. The staff was super nice and very helpful! Not many showers or toilets and I did have to wait a couple times for them, but nothing too dramatic. Overall pretty good!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mieke27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    78
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
8
57
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at Suzie's for3 nights whilst visiting KL and really liked the hostel. The room (twin private) was well-equipped with a/c and fan, if a little small. The common kitchen/dining area was really nice with a good atmosphere to meet fellow travellers. Only a few toilets/showers but it never proved an inconvenience during our stay.

The staff were friendly and happy to help - overall great stay.

Room Tip: If booking a twin ask for the twin beds rather than bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed only 1 night in a double private. Well run and friendly staff. Everything in room works great - fan, air con, wifi. Good price and located smack in the middle of Chinatown. The LRT (rail) is also very close

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hassan the staff in charge was very helpful. He would be patient in answering your questions and knows how to get about most of the places. Had the privileged to stay in a two room hostel as the dorms are fully booked. Good and free wifi connection but toilets are a little too few. Only two toilets and two bathrooms for the number rooms there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiewCheng2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Location is awesome, just in the heart of China town.Its clean and good wi fi connection for free. The only "but" are the small rooms; quiet difficoult to have a proper rest as could be really noisy.
However is a good choice for small budges. Would come again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LeylaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I think some of the other reviews overstate this place, but it is a very solid hostel with reasonable prices. The staff is indeed friendly and helpful. The rooms are rather small, and it can be noisy at night if people are carrying on the in the common room. The breakfast is nice; coffee, tea, and toast are available, with a variety of jams and spreads. There's also a fridge if you want to store your own food, though it was pretty packed when we were there.

Room Tip: The private twin rooms have bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjcgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Lat, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The rooms aren't massive by any means, but they are nice and clean. The whole hostel is well taken care of. Free tea and coffee all day, along with bread with jam/peanut butter until 10:30 am. The hostel felt very secure, and overall was a comfortable place to stay. A/C struggles a bit to keep up with the heat, but it's still a comfortable temperature.

That being said, at the end of the day it's the staff that makes this place so great. The two gentlemen working there are absolutely fantastic. Couldn't ask for better hosts. Any questions I had they'd go out of their way to answer. I asked for directions to the zoo, and he wasn't sure. I came back a few minutes later and he had researched multiple inexpensive routes to get me there.

For me, it's always about the staff. An A+ staff is an A+ hostel. Oh, and the location right near the bus station (minute walk) and less than five minute walk to the petaling street is great!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunshine Bedz
Sunshine Bedz
#2 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
#17 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelHub KL
TravelHub KL
#16 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel

Property: Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
Address: 179, 1st floor, Jalan Tun H.S.Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 259 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A BACKPACKERS MECCA. A New Hostel In Kuala Lumpur.A Fresh and Modern Central Kuala Lumpur Accommodation.Just open early February!!!!!! Great Vibe,Hip,Friendly Staff,Clean&Secure, Location & Beds For Everyone.Suzies Guesthouse KL is only short stroll to all major tourist attractions and also within easy access(2 min) to the Putra LRT station,Central Market(Pasar Seni) bus terminal, business centers. We make you feel at home!Feel pleasurable with the homely atmosphere. Our guesthouse located within walking distance to everything you may need. Next door to famous reggae bar recommended by Lonely Planet. With Chinatown on your doorstep you will never run out of things to see and do. Sights, restaurant, bars, shops, the local market and public transport are all at your disposal. This is an ideal tranquil spot to take a break from all the action. Our aim is to provide you with a personal service, modern, clean and comfortable rooms in an urban, funky and contemporary atmosphere. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff are on hand to help you 24 hours a day always maintaining our standards. Whether you want socialise with fellow travellers or just chill out in our comfy lounge are we want to make you stay in Kuala Lumpur as memorable as possible. ** We provide 4 PRIVATE room Queen beds and twin beds and 7 room Twin type Bunk Bed / Double Decker and Mix Dorm-6 bed and Female Dorm- 6 beds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing