We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

If your travelling with a group the dorms are unreal, pull across curtin for privacy, the rooftop bar is amazing, there's a cinema, breakfast and the staff are really helpful. You can also hire I pads, and outside the dorm is a fresh cold drinking fountain so you can refill your water bottles. It's just such a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    255
    82
    26
    34
See reviews for
8
100
245
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Stay here for two days. A clean and nice hostel. The staff are helpful. The decoration makes me feel comfortable. Will come again in the future

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Clkyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

a little fancier than i usually go, but overall a modern, safe place. locks for the in room lockers cost 9 ringit, and you can only use their adaptors (20 ringit deposit) to charge stuff (sometimes unavailable). full of young early-twenty-somethings yelling and shouting constantly and the bar is pumping every night but nice and quiet in the rooms. internet very intermittent, 50% on/off at any time, but gets the job done, eventually. in their defence they did say the internet was not working while i was there. Breakfast looked like left over dinner from last night (noodle dish) but tasted good, if you like dinner for breakfast. Very good air con in female 16 Dorm.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spotted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

This place is as "party hostel" as it gets. Wasn't exactly what I was looking for but if it was then I'd've probably given it a 4/5. Some things that bothered me: there are cameras in the room. I personally felt like it was an invasion of my privacy, although it being a party hostel, I understand to an extent why they have it. Same goes for the no alcohol rule. And lastly (since it's a 16 person dorm or something), all depending on the crowd, you could very possibly be kept up all night by aaall the types of shenanigans 20 year olds can be involved in. I think there may be smaller rooms though. On a positive note, the breakfast was solid, the beds were comfy and showers/ washroom was fine as well. Overall, it was ok I guess. Depending on who you are, it can be the best experience ever or, very possibly, the opposite.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Joey613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed there a few nights and really liked it. Had a private room on the ground floor, so we were spared from the party noises. Only minor complaint about the maintenance staff. They kept chatting and whistling on the hallway in the middle of the night. The room door didn't really isolate the noises...

Pros:
- Professional reception and bar/restaurant staff
- Clean and nice surroundings
- Price was reasonable, though not cheap
- Secure
- Rooftop bar
- Parties!

Cons:

- As said, minor complaint about the maintenance staff...

If you don't like to party, stay away. It WILL be noisy especially on the upper floors.
If you do like to party all night, don't mind the noise levels and want to meet new people - This is definitely your place!

Room Tip: Room from the ground level is highly recommended if you want to sleep at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Having stayed the night before at a pretty basic guesthouse nearby, we switched to Reggae Mansion for 2 nights in a private room. Though a little pricey (140 MYR) it's a really well-designed hostel. Nice courtyard space. Spacious rooms. Feels like being in an actual colonial-era house, but with lots of modern touches. Convenient to access LRT (Masjid Jamek Station) and great rooftop bar!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amalit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed at Reggae Mansion for 3 nights in January and I have to stay it was one of the best looking and best maintained hostels I have stayed in. My opinion changed however when I happened to see the cleaning guy walking around the hostel wearing my bracelet. I told the woman at the front desk and she asked security to find him. After it was all said and done they said they found my bracelet in the trash. The bracelet i speak of is huge and colorful, no way it ended up in the trash. The staff offered no apology and it was treated as no big deal. If anyone stays here keep and eye on your belongings even if in a private room. The hostel is located in a great area near China town and very close to a metro stop. The free breakfast is nice and the rooftop bar has a great view. So sad that my stay at this hostel ended up the way it did.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dnfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
1.3 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,368 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#3 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur

Property: Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Address: 53, Jalan Tun H.S. Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 247 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by towering skyscrapers and buildings in Kuala Lumpur, Reggae Mansion is a colonial style building which invokes a sense of nostalgia both to locals and visitors which is scarce these days. Happily, these nostalgic feelings are now captured by Reggae Mansion KL with its unspoiled, colonial charm reminiscent to days gone by. The Reggae Mansion Hostel, Kitchen and Bar is the newest and most funky place in town. We are located in the heart of bustling China Town in a beautifully renovated 3-storey building. This is KL’s most happening and atmospheric hostel for international travellers. Our bar serves a wide range of *ALCOHOLIC drinks and the kitchen offers our famous WESTERN and ASIAN food menus *NON HALAL. Our comfy outdoor terraced area and garden is a hub for travellers from all over the world to meet, share stories and party. We have so much to offer, you will never want to leave!! Our facilities include:• Free continental breakfast with tea/coffee & fruits• Internet station with skype headphones• Free WIFI throughout the mansion• Safety deposit box at reception & in private rooms• Filtered drinking water dispenses on every floor• IDD call phones• Door card access key• Coin operated Laundrette• Bar & restaurant• Guest courtyard with BBQ area• Sky bar on the roof (Unobstructed view overlooking the Twin Towers & KL Tower)• Transfer service to Airport (chargeable)We even bring you a 40 seat cinema room (Equip with latest high-tech THX sound) for your entertainment experience. In-room facilities feature 2 power points and reading lamp for every bed, free lockers (padlock for sale) in the dorms, AC in all rooms. Universal adapters, irons, hair dryers/straighteners available for free rental. Free shampoo/shower gel, linen, blanket and towel. Cable Satellite LCD TV in private rooms. Our Reggae Tours help organise and arrange all sorts of exciting activities and tours around Malaysia. We also operate an exclusive city tour for our in-house guests. PLEASE TAKE NOTICE BEFORE MAKING A BOOKING• Wheel chair is not accessible since our hostel has no lift. • Reggae Mansion is a backpacker and party hostel. We have an age limit to 60 years old above.• We do not accept online bookings from Malaysia, India and middle east countries. Bookings made and paid online by these countries shall not be refundable. We accept walk in check in only for these countries and it is subjected to the room availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing