We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly mis-managed and poorly maintained property”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairlane Hospitality myHabitat2
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I am still here in MyHabitat having being lumbered with a long-term rental that I can't get out of.

The access card system and video entry phones still don't work, meaning that anyone can just walk in off the street at any time of day or night and appear outside your room . Apparently the (mis)management just can't been bothered to fix these for the past 2 years!

As the last reviewer mentions, each block has a nice empty air-conditioned lobby on the ground floor of each block, complete with receptionist desk, which have never been used for anything; Yet the elevators have no air-conditioning at all, meaning you must travel up and down sweating in a stifling hot tin box. There's adverts all over the walls for this company's other properties though - meh!

Every night, the swimming pool deck, with its useless 1 meter deep alleged 'infinity pool', is used as a skate park and playground by the local kids. No attempt is made by the 'security' to stop this anti-social behaviour, meaning that there is no place to sit and relax. Gym facilities are limited to a couple of treadmills in a room smaller than a jail cell. Get 4 people inside here and it is full !

As for the pool: brick wall halfway along under the water, only 1 meter deep; and how safe is it? Go to car park level 8, below it, and observe the water damage to the building structure.

Cigarette butts everywhere: Thrown from the apartments into the pool and onto the entrance ramp. There are Satellite dishes and laundry on balconies, making the place look like kampung housing.

It was probably ok when first built, but shoddy maintenance and zero management has quickly turned this into sub-standard accommodation in Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WorldBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

How can you have such poor management Security Access Cards and Intercom not working for YEARS!. TV breakdown often.Dangerous place to stay strangers can appear at your door without warning. Security personnel speaks a language from a different planet.Non existent management at the building. Fire Department must recheck the building as some public areas dark and unlit. At the entrances there are reception tables and empty chairs. Those chairs have been empty since the building was built and not a single receptionists have sat on those chairs.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Gee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent landing pad for business travellers. Multiple access to various commercial and tourists spots with multitude of amenities within the hotel itself.
The restaurant also offers generous spread and the floor staff were nice and friendly.
I strongly recommend this for business people like myself.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyJ308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and booked 2 rooms, 2 bedded... Price was ok since we came as a Family and there were discounts during booking. If not i would have felt cheated, big time..

I just cannot accept the level of cleanliness this place has to offer.

Carpet was filthy.. Wall stained.. Kitchen full of ants.. Toilet drain clogged with hair and dirts on the day we checked in.. Pillow cover stained.. Bedsheets dirty.. And the list goes on.. Literally one can smell that the room is not cleaned when nose become itchy and we will start sneezing everytime we are back to the apartment.

Everytime we shower the water level will rise up ankle deep. We brought this up to the housekeeping and they mentioned that their drainage works that way and all the rooms are the same. Pathetic.

Breakfast was the same boring spread everyday.. Oh yes and the pool is really dirty with dead leaves and insects floating..

With all these, attempt to speak to the Manager seems futile. Lots of excuse till the very last day we checked out.. My piece of advice is to stay somewhere else and dont waste time here. Since the management seems uninterested to improve the standards.. Im contributing pictures here to justify my comments..

Stayed: September 2013
4  Thank KikinY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

After reading the previous review, I was prompted to log in to Tripadvisor and write my first ever review as I have been staying in 'MyHabitat' on a long-term basis for a few weeks now.

This property tries to market itself as high-end serviced suites but this is untrue. What 'Fairlane Hospitality' does is rent out as 'hotel rooms' all of the condo units for owners when they have been unable to tenant them out to private individuals due to the glut of property in KLCC area.
It is therefore a complete lottery as to what standard of accommodation you will receive, as it depends entirely on what the unit owner has invested in the property in terms of bedding, furniture etc.

I find myself in agreement with the previous reviewer. This property markets the fact that it has a 45-metre lap pool. In reality, there is a brick wall two-thirds of the way down the pool which you can swim into with an almighty 'Thunk!' because the pool is tiled in black, and is completely unlit....Yes, they illuminate the plants surrounding the pool,but not the pool itself so after 7pm you are literally swimming in the dark!!!

Additionally the pool is only around 1 metre deep anyway...meh! hopeless!..... and has no privacy from people gawking from the cafeteria area. There also seems to be no security or management on the 'facilities floor', as every night a bunch of overweight noisy Iranian kids appears and runs riot on bikes, skateboards, roller skates etc with nobody stopping them from disturbing everyone's peace.

As for the cafe food, I had satay here and they served it with sweet chilli sauce rather than traditional peanut sauce, so they cant even get that right!

There is a tiny gym with just a couple of exercise machines. The room is so small it is like exercising in a broom cupboard! But right next door is something grandly labelled a 'multi-purpose hall'. In reality, a big empty room used for absolutely nothing, which could quite easily be used for a better-equipped gym or even a convenience store.

The access card system in the building doesn't work, and video intercom system has never worked, meaning there is absolutely nothing to stop strangers, nutters etc. wandering in.
The elevators in the building are completely without air-conditioning and using them is the most uncomfortable experience.God help anyone if they ever get trapped in there because they would actually die! The elevators are also dirty and horrible, and at time of writing, one actually has a hole in the floor!

This is not a good place to stay. The Doubletree by Hilton is just next door, and there is no shortage of quality accommodation in the area with good facilities. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Rooms are ok, but basic, and I expected more for the price. However the building maintenance & security seriously let down this accommodation.

Elevators are old and dirty, with scratched-up glass and badly scratched stainless steel panels. What is even worse, the air-con doesn't work at all in any of the elevators, so you are literally boiled alive as you descend 30 floors to the lobby!

The 'infinity pool' seems nice at first glance. But on closer examination it is lacking in maintenance: The black tiles have turned brown in many places,and are missing in others, giving the impression of the pool being dirty & covered in brown algae (whatever happened to using nice blue tiles for a pool?).

The main problem with this pool is that the management are clearly so stingy that they don't bother to illuminate the pool in the evening. As a result, you are literally swimming in the dark - This is particularly dangerous when halfway along the pool - hidden beneath the water - is a dividing wall which you can literally swim right into - ouch !!

Continuing with the theme of poor maintenance. The much-hyped high-security video entry-phone system doesn't work. I thought it was just in my room, but on checking with the management, they told me that the system throughout the entire building was broken & they couldn't afford to fix it!
In addition, I noticed security switches designed to open doors from the inside of the lobby areas were not working, meaning that anyone could just walk in and out.....

Security seems to be a problem, as I noticed people coming and going at all hours without being stopped by the security guards, including a lot of Middle-Eastern looking men returning from the city with Vietnamese hookers.
However, one of these vigilant (!) security guards did stop me from dipping my sandaled foot into the pool to test the water temperature!! ("You cant swim here in sandals!" - wtf? I had no intention of swimming in my sandals!)... I then witnessed the same fool guard stand and watch as a bunch of Arab kids used the pool desk as a skate park for an hour - zipping up and down on roller skates,shouting, screaming, almost knocking people over!!

The gym in this place is tiny. Just two treadmills in it, not worth bothering with.. . There is a much larger, empty, and unused 'multipurpose hall' which would be much better utilized as a gym or second gym... I'm guessing more penny-pinching by the management!

Wouldn't stay here again. There are far better choices in KL for the same budget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WorldBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed in 2 bedroom appartment in level 29, The rooms were nicely cleaned, very big and spacious,
Location is very good only a 3-5 minute walk from Ampang park shopping center, and 10 minutes to KLCC Suria shopping centre.

Breakfast is very limited and nothing new, same breakfast every day.

The place is not known for taxi drivers so better to tell them to go to "cross of Jalan Ampang with Jalan ton Razak" then u turn to Jalan Aman.

You will not feel cofutable when using the swimming pool, as its located in the eating area and its limited as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muhanadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
3 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
7,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
3.1 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#16 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
3,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlane Hospitality myHabitat2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlane Hospitality myHabitat2

Address: Jalan Aman, off Jalan Tun Razak, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 80

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing