We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 332 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 years ago (when it was the nest) as a group and again last night in transit. The location is great although the rooms are on the small side. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately there can be a bit of street noise during the night but otherwise it is excellent value for money.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thetravelbugs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Thetravelbugs5, thank you for your review and for staying with us again. When guests decide to return, it is the biggest compliment we can get. The size of our rooms varies considerably between different categories. And yes, our Budget Rooms are small which is why we do not recommend them for guests who travel with full-size luggage. So maybe a Superior Room or a Deluxe Room would suit your needs better?! Should you stay with us again some day in the future, we will be happy to advise you accurately on the various room options available. Best, your OP Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    318
    72
    10
    10
See reviews for
103
340
117
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

After travelling from Singapore to Malaysia,I was a bit apprehensive about the type of Guest House we would land in. But arriving in Orange Pekoe by the direction given my them, I was quite surprised to see such a warm and nice welcome for us. Lee the receptionist welcomed us and instantly we connected with each other.The lounge area is the best place of the guest house, the breakfast was also quite impressive. The rooms were nice n tidy. A very well maintained home feeling...Will recommend all the travelers for trying this nest out...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMRITA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear AMRITA D, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions here. We are happy to know that our guesthouse met your expectations and that our friendly staff contributed to a pleasant experience. We hope to be able to welcome you again next time you are in KL. Until then, all the best! Your OP Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a double room with bathroom down the corridor, both of which were basic but clean and just right for us. The kitchen area was a really nice space and there was plenty on offer at breakfast with tea and coffee available all day. Close to all that you might want to see in KL in a few days and very near to good restaurants and night market. Friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anamariebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Room is basically more spacious than the price paid Entire floor is clean and breezy
Above all friendly welcome makes you feel at ease and at home Thanks to the team, you all have done a good job !!! ....Tanaka 19.8.14

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed in each and every room Grab any types when vacant and available !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanakorn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This guesthouse is about a 5 to 10-minute walk away from Jalan Alor and major shopping malls in Bukit Bintang. The entrance is a bit hard to find, but for the orange color of the building.

The rooms are not big but sufficient for two. Airconditioning and wifi were fine. The bathrooms were showing some signs of mold on the doors (since shower heads do spray the doors quite a bit). The in-room safe was broken so we had to borrow the key to the safe during our stay.

What I liked: 1) Friendly service by Lee and the other receptionists; 2) Decent breakfast provided of toast with butter and jam, plus some fresh fruit in a very pleasant setting

What I didn't like: 1) Too many men hanging out at the restaurant near the hotel entrance - sometimes it made me nervous to walk alone back to the hotel especially at night. 2) No elevator and no luggage service - it was hard to carry my luggage up the stairs all the way to the third floor.

I would stay here again in the future if traveling with someone else (and if I didn't have much luggage!).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

After having travelled through Malaysia for 6 weeks on a backpacker budget, we treated ourselves to an upmarket guesthouse for our very last night. We were surprised both by the pro's and the cons.
Great:
* location!!! 5 mins walk from Jalan Alor, Petronas towers, shopping malls and bars
* warm welcome asking us where we wanted to go and very helpful
* clean
* warm atmosphere

What needs attention:
* terrible mattress; the worst we've slept on during our whole trip
* shower holder was broken causing water to spray full blast against the door and causing a flood in the bedroom. We had to hold it in our hands
* poor maintenance in the bathroom
* a taxi was ordered for us to the airport for early next morning. We then found out that there was another couple also taking a taxi to the exact same flight. We are used to guesthouses automatically asking people is they'd be willing to share the ride to half the price. Neither the other couple nor us were given this opportunity

We met one of the owners and know that he's very passionate about his guesthouse, so we hope that this feedback will be taken seriously

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyrenite, Owner at Orange Pekoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Fiona C, thank you for your feedback. We are passionate about our business indeed. So we do read each review carefully and take it as an opportunity to learn and to improve where possible. We are sorry to hear that you didn't like the mattress of your bed. We instantly checked on the shower head of your room which is a little bit leaking rather than broken. The bathroom is scheduled to be repainted this week as part of our on-going maintenance programme. More importantly, allow us to clarify the taxi question: for airport transfers budget taxis in KL accept max. 3 passengers, not 4. Apart from legal provisions this has a practical reason: most of these cars run with liquid gas - accordingly the boot space is too small to fit even limited luggage of four adults. For groups of 4 people, our taxi agent offers larger vehicles and charges RM 160 instead of RM 180 for two budget taxis. So you had an extra expense of a little more than 2 Euro per room. We apologise for this inconvenience. Passionately, your OP Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you're looking for budget location with a good location then this is perfect. The staff here were very friendly and gave advice on where to go, booking transport for us etc.

The rooms are basic however exactly what you would expect for the type of accommodation it is. Clean and comfortable with a good selection at breakfast in comparison to other hostels that I have stayed in - fresh bananas and sometimes other fruit, bread, jams, tea, coffee and milo. The hot drinks are available in the lobby 24hours a day.

Computers available for free use however there is free wifi in the hostel too.

Really good location, 2 mins from Bukit Bintang main shopping area including the famous Jalan Alor - Hawker street food area. Free GoKL buses are just a 2min walk in the opposite direction for those who do not want to walk to the main attractions. Close to KL tower too.

Good aircon in the room kept us cool all night. One of the ladies working there recommended an Indian at the end of the street - GO THERE! It was the nicest Indian and probably most authentic that I have ever had. Really cheap too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larnie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
9,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#22 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#26 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#20 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3,722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Pekoe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Pekoe Guesthouse

Property: Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Address: No. 1-1 Jalan Angsoka | Off Jalan Nagasari, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly The Nest)
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orange Pekoe Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Orange Pekoe (formerly known as The Nest), our award-winning guesthouse in downtown KL. Located on a quiet side-road in the Golden Triangle area. Orange Pekoe is the perfect starting point for your KL adventure. Bukit Bintang's shopping district, famous Jalan Alor with its countless local restaurants and the hip bar strip of Changkat Bukit Bintang are all just a 5 minutes stroll away. Free Wifi in all rooms, daily change of towels and safe boxes (Sup., Deluxe, Family Rooms) are all elements of the feel-good accommodation that we offer our guests. We accept Visa/Master/Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Orange Pekoe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing