We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for solo traveller”
Review of Sunshine Bedz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine Bedz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Right in the heart of B Bintang..taxi fro downstairs for the city easily available..very very friendly staff and other travellers...the staff even gave his bread to feed monkeys as I was going to batu caves..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Anuj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Pros: clean room, lockers to put bags in (bring your own lock!), clean shared bathrooms that are cleaned regularly, nice and helpful staff, and okay location right next to bukit butang stop on the monorail (literally right across the street)

Cons: Street noise (We knew this going in and so we brought ear plugs)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

During a month in Asia, we ended up staying here twice, and I think that sums it up. The atmosphere was the best of anywhere we stayed; the hostel only seems to attract lovely people! The manager & owner, Patrick, is fantastic - a really funny, friendly guy who took us out to drink with him at least three times!

The hostel has a 'dry' policy after 12.00 which means after midnight you can't drink or be loud, but the odd way by which KL works means that drinks in a bar cost the same as from the 7-11 so there's actually no downside to this. They have 2 guitars so you can jam beforehand, we certainly did!

Showers are hot, rooms clean, wifi works, location absolutely unbeatable. Every member of staff was extremely friendly, English was impeccable and I believe they work exchange, so staff are internationally varied; there's a great worldly feeling to the place. Free breakfast an added bonus!

Overall I felt extremely at home here, and met some amazing people. I will stay again if I'm ever in KL, and recommend it to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Before coming to KL, I had heard about Sunshine BedZ and so I decided to stay here due to a friend's recommendation. The hostel itself is very nice with A/C rooms, nice showers, universal outlets, free wifi, breakfast included, and a lovely hostel owner and staff who will chat with you all times of the day! :) Location wise, it is great with the Bukit Bintang station minutes away. You can also walk to the nearby shopping centers, the Petronas Towers, and the street food and bars that are located within a 5-10 minute walk of the hostel.

However, it would have been more convenient to have a better common area. There are some tables and chairs to the side of reception, as well as a couch, but once it hits the nighttime it is hard to very social in that area as it is right next to some of the dorms. The solution instead is to hangout in the back area near laundry before heading out. I still very much enjoyed my stay here, but I hope there may be a better common area in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My friend and I stayed in the double room with shared bathroom. The room was not that big but it had enough space for two small to medium sized luggage. The A/C worked well. There was strong Wi-Fi signal in the room, as well as the whole vicinity of the hostel. Our room was directly facing Bukit Bintang but the sounds from the street never bothered us. In fact, we enjoyed it as it had the perfect view for people watching. The shared bathrooms were regularly cleaned and were almost always empty which was a pleasant experience as it does gives an illusion of privacy.

The hostel does not have an elevator/lift therefore, having huge luggages could be a bit of a problem. Shoes are not allowed in the rooms and were left on assigned boxes near the lobby/reception area. You can bring house slippers of you do not want to walk barefoot. For the free breakfast, we enjoyed the incredibly soft bread and blueberry jam. The staff were friendly and helpful with giving directions and suggestions on the best way to go around the city.

The hostel has a very good location. 2-3 minute walk to the Bukit Bintang Monorail, 5-10 minute walk to the Pavillion mall and 5 minute walk to Jalan Alor (Food Street).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineS_Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

It is in a great location...steps away from the monorail, surrounded by restraurants, shopping centers, and near toristic sites such as Petrona Towers and KL Tower. Patrick, guy at front desk, was super nice and helpful. Besides offering advice on touristic spots and answering questions, he even offered up his personal cell phone so we could make a call back home! The room, restrooms, and showers were very clean. With or eithout kids, this is a great place to stay at!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My favorite hostel in my entire 5 months of traveling SE Asia! Extremely clean... I don't think I've ever seen a dirty toilet. Staff are so friendly and make an effort to learn your name. WOW the location... steps away from the free 'GO KL' bus and the monorail, and bar street. Patrick really does go above and beyond in creating a social atmosphere. Had an amazing time! Definitely recommend it, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.9 mi away
BackHome Kuala Lumpur Hostel
BackHome Kuala Lumpur Hostel
#1 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paper Plane Hostel
Paper Plane Hostel
#3 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
91 reviews
1 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
835 reviews
0.6 mi away
Step-Inn Too Guesthouse
Step-Inn Too Guesthouse
#6 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
80 reviews
1.9 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
#13 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Bedz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Bedz

Address: 65B Jalan, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £10 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunshine Bedz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing