We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sleep at bustling location”
Review of Sohotown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sohotown Hotel
Ranked #249 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good sleep at bustling location”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

It is really hard to find an affordable but central and at the same time comfortable place to stay in Kuala Lumpur. I spent sooo much time on researching all kind of budget places and could not be happier after I found Sohotown Hotel in the heart of Chinatown, just a couple of steps away from Puduraya bus station and the blessings of Malay streetfood and famous Petaling Street. Perfect!
Oke, the rooms do not have proper windows (just small ones towards the corridor), but this is absolutely common all over Malaysia and you will not find otherwise unless you pay a lot more. Otherwise the rooms are nicely furnished, spacious enough and clean. The hotel is fairly new as well, which adds up to the over all neat impression.
Staff at the 24 hour reception is very helpful and knowledgeable (unless you ask the night guard at 3am about getting a receipt for your stay ;-)).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
8
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Java, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Got to this place very late in the evening, and they
said only one room left its 'family room' ok no choice Very tired but found the sheet lot of hairs and the pillow was disgusting. Anyway still need to rest.
But I think they could do
better with the cost that we paid.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morinamorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Th hotel looks very clean include outside of room and inside too.The staff are very friendly and solve any problem quickly like what i had with the wifi problem..after few minutes the problem is solve and i can get the connection in my room.The bathroom has a good shower and the flat screen tv has a couple of English channels.Its near to chinatown and very near to Mcd, Kfc and many more

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djshan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Nothing fancy in this hotel..u need a room..u got wat u pay for..the room we occupied was good for 2pax (size of the room is less than 20 sqm)..clean..just got dizzy with the whiteballs scattered on the ground for cockroaches..everytime u passby d aisle ur going to inhale it :-(

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gielaica Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed here for three nights it's right in the middle of Chinatown quite easy to find, the rooms are not what you would call luxurious but they are very clean and modern, bathroom has a good shower and the flat screen tv has a couple of English channels but as most budget hotels in Kuala Lumpur no fridge also most of the rooms don't seem to have direct natural light but they do have a small window looking out onto the passageway, main thing is I had a good peaceful nights sleep that is until the maids started chatting rather loud in the early morning.
Staff are very nice and helped me out with a few things, lots of places for breakfast in the morning right outside the front door and the market is only a minutes walk away.
If your after somewhere to rest your head and not cost you a fortune I'd recommend you give Sohotown a try I'd certainly go back myself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORGE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We came here to take a rest and wait for our bus ride home at Puduraya, which is just about 200m away from the hotel. Luckily they had day-use room available on the day we went - sometimes day-use room are fully booked and would not be available (we had been passing by and inquired a few times previously but no rooms were available back then).

We got ourselves a double room. It was not big, but it was clean and had no funny smell. Nonetheless, the hotel staffs at front desk were not very professional - they argued among themselves in front of the customers. No language problem with them as they spoke Cantonese and so did we. Fast food (KFC, Nando's) or local hawker fare (bak kut teh, chicken rice, wantan mee, etc...) is just <1 minute walk away. Watson and Guardian is close by as well.

For those who want a place to rest while waiting to board buses in Puduraya you can consider this little stopover - you get a decently clean place to shower and sleep, plus you get a place to put all your belongings while you explore Petaling Street.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenchime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curepipe, Mauritius
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Hotel is value for money. Rooms are very clean. Walking distance from Pudu Sentral. Nando's, KFC and McDonalds are very near, walking distance (2 minutes). The hotel is very near Pellating street. From the hotel you can go to little india by walk (10 minutes).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irfaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Winsin Hotel
Winsin Hotel
#132 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel China Town Inn
Hotel China Town Inn
#107 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street
Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street
#283 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tang City Hotel
Tang City Hotel
#229 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
17 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aira Hotel
Aira Hotel
#270 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Signature International @ Pudu
Hotel Signature International @ ...
#121 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotown Hotel

Property: Sohotown Hotel
Address: No. 113 Jalan Sultan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sohotown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotown Hotel strategically located in the heart of Chinatown Kuala Lumpur. We have 30 rooms with either twin or double beds. Our family rooms are for three people occupancy. All the rooms are fully air conditioned, with attached bathroom. All rooms are equipped with 32” color LCD satellite TV channels. A hotel with clean and spacious rooms yet at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sohotown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing