We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”
Review of Hotel A-One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel A-One
Ranked #27 of 345 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

It took us nearly an hour to find this hotel. NO ONE KNOWS WHERE THIS HOTEL IS. The pictures are rather untrue the hotel is covered by a construction site.
We finally arrived at the hotel- gave a 50 ringit deposit got given the remote control for the TV and a key there was a lift to take you upstairs.
Once in the room we realised just how small it was! There was a TV, A/C, 2 bottles of water, towels and wifi. The sheets were stained and didnt get changed.
And there was only 1 plug socket which wasnt helpful!

Thats about it really!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Hotel A-One
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

This is a great little hotel. Clean and modern decor, helpful staff, and a brilliant location, just 2 mins from Central Market and Masid Jamek LRT station and 5 mins from Petaling St and Little India. We stayed for 4 nights and it was one of the best places we stayed during our 3 month trip. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here for ard 6 nights. We were really glad we found this hotel. The location is great just walking distace from central market, LRT ( subway station- Masjid Jamek), 10 mins to petaling street. The room was small and basic but very clean and was in everything we needed. Also the bathroom was very clean. Our room wasn't facing the street so it wasn't loud at all. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. I recomend this hotel to stay because the price is affordable and you won't regret.

Room Tip: Book room earlier so you will be able to choose the rooms with window and also not facing the street...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in A-one for three nights, before heading of into the country. The staff is supernice and made us feel very welcome as soon as we walked through the door. The room was superbe (very clean!). The location is just great: on the formerly Central Market and right next door to the painted shophouses. Central Market and Petaling street are just round the corner. Also, the roof terrace is brilliant!
Tip: Wake up around fourish to see the paper being folded and distributed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1981Mirjam2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The hotel is located next to the Central Market and close to Masjid Jamek subway station. You can also go by foot to Kuala Lumpur station and to the Islamic Arts Museum and the National Mosque. I booked a deluxe double room with a window, but it was facing the street and it was quite noisy. The room was not big, but ok.
What I liked: the location, the service, the price
What I didn't like: the dirty linen and grey towels, the noise from the street
This hotel is a good option for short stays (I stayed here for 3 nights) and for people who intend to visit the city rather than stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brunhilda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel for the KL Marathon, since it is just walking distance from the starting point.

Besides, it is also close to LRT stations, as well as China town.

Rooms are tidy and clean, as seen on the website, staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leungleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Very good location not far from Chinatown night market. Walking distance to LRT train station. Pillows need changing as they were old. A kettle and cups will be nice in the room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good place to stay for a short break in Kuala Lumpur. Some rooms don't have windows.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Oz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Avenue J Hotel Central Market KL
Avenue J Hotel Central Market KL
#108 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cosmo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Cosmo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#113 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Express Hotel
Pacific Express Hotel
#84 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
YY48 Hotel
YY48 Hotel
#162 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leo Leisure Hotel
Leo Leisure Hotel
#129 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Submarine Guest House
Submarine Guest House
#22 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel A-One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel A-One

Address: 17 Jalan Medan Pasar, Kuala Lumpur 50050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 345 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £15 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel A-One 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel A-One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing