We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no so worth staying hotel...”
Review of Iris Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iris Garden Hotel
Ranked #233 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“no so worth staying hotel...”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

i've stayed in the standard king room few days back.

security : not so secure as from the lift, you may access to the upper floor without any supervision, or security, basically anyone can go up...

cleanliness : not so clean, some stains on the quilt, i bet they dont change all the time... some left over unpleasant odor on the quilt... toilet was ok, only the sheets need improvement

staff politeness : not so good service, as if "oh really"? first world problem anyway.... kind of attitude.. which i dont like.... not helpful, no luggage storage facility, just leave it anywhere around the garden area... no proper place, tag or security.... just leave it there.... hmmm...

if noice is a concern for you, this is not the right place... its so noisy... even when other guest coming back and talking, you will get to listen to their conversation in your room... hmmm...

for that type of price, i dont think so.. there is plenty of other choice in that area...

i will not come back for this hotel..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALVINGODSPEED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I Experience a lil bit difference staying in Iris Garden.

Price:
* Standard for the same hotel, same star, same location around Bukit Bintang. But Iris offering a "bigger" room, and more complete in room service

Cleanliness and Maintenance:
* I found a lot of ants in my desk, and some in the floor
* my Bed linen has spot when i arrive, im doubt that this one is not change many days. fortunately when asking to the cleaning service, they are very helpful in changing the new bed linen
* they will not clean your room, unless you ask for it to the receptionist
* All the room facility (ac, TV, shower, kettle) is in well function, except mini refrigerator.
* The wall has some spot

Service and hospitality:
* i got no smile at all from all staff
* the staff is not helpfull when you asking about some activity to do in KL, seems like they are new in KL

Location:
* very superb, only 1-2min walk from LRT bukit bintang, and step away from Alor st the food paradise. and in the heart of Bukit Bintang Walk
* surrounding with Massage parlor, sometimes they can be very disturbing you by the massage offering even they will not catch ur hand
* the place around very famous with Middle east traveler
* breakfast is very easy to find.
* money changer, 711, guardian drug store, subway fast food, KFC fast food are the neighborhood
* sungai wang step away

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kakek_ganas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The room is clean, fully air-conditioned and are provided with basis necessities -towels, soaps, shampoos, drinking water and you can boil your own water. You can even chill your drink/food as there is fridge in the room. Overall I was a satisfied customer though you can't expect quiet and tranquillity. Since our room was facing the road so kind of noisy. Guardian store is just underneath the hotel so if you are running out of toothpaste or forgot your toothbrush, fret not! The store closes quite late and open up early. For nasi lemak lover like me, in the morning, there's a hawker stall selling nasi lemak. Best so far, at least to me :)

Room Tip: You can ask for the most top floor to avoid the noise coming the room, at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoefied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Find a hotel with windows, clean, quiet and around 30usd is not easy in KL !!! Here, it's not heaven but it's not hell. The rooms are cleans, the bathrooms also. You are close to all facilities. The street is busy but inside, it's very quiet. The windows opens to the corridor of the hotel but it's well done, look like appartments. For 2 days it's ok !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Normally In Kuala Lumpur I stay in hotel Bintang Warisan in the same street as Iris Garden. However the hotel was full, so why not Iris Garden? I had walked many times along the hotel and seen the photo's. Nice, big rooms so to see. With photographs you can create a new world which has nothing to do with the reality. Iris Garden masters this technique very well.
The rooms are very small. Not unusually in Malaysia, but it is always a surprise to see how small a hotel room can be. Most of the rooms have only windows on a corridor. No view of the outside world. If you don't mind it is perfect. I do mind and got a room on the backside of the hotel with a view.
We had our first night. In Iris Garden.and got the surprise of our life: Music!!! There is a big band playing till 5 ó clokck in the morning. They are outside but it feels if they are sitting on the end of your bed. So, if you stay in this hotel take precautions. Plaster your ears with cement ore something less frightening. It helps to get some sleep perhaps..
The cleaning of the rooms is sometimes a problem. Once we had to wait till the evening.
If it rains, and it does rain sometimes heavily in Kuala Lumpur, the corridor is flooded. When you are a little bit athletic you can,avoid the little lakes by jumping. It keaps you healthy.
Should I come here again? Certainly not. But muic lover go to Iris Garden and have a nice night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hessel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Hotel is right above Guardian pharmacy shophouse. You will need to standby RM$50 for deposit. They will pass you remote control for air condition & TV. Refund will be done when you checkout & return both the remote controllers. Reception desk is at 2nd level of the shop house. There is a small enquiry desk at level 1 but it was unmanned most of the time which also means that intruders can access hotel undetected. I had no problem with the noises from the clubs since the nice chinese lady boss gave me a room away from the back. Back row rooms are closer to the clubs so it could be rather noisy. Ask the helpful people at the front desk if you have any enquires regarding directions. The walls are rather thin, so if your neighbours shuts the doors or bath you can actually hear them. The room service comes around 10am and they can be v.noisy, so please note if you're a late sleeper. Good air condition & rain shower. Many rooms have corridor facing windows. Rooms are with tap card access. Limited TV Channels available, I personally watched the entire series of Rocky Balboa on HBO zzzzz. Many massage centers downstairs. No cafes within the compound but there are many good food on the next street. They have a cheaper sister hotel call Bintang Garden down afew shops down the street. The Iris hotel meets all my basic needs, I'll go back if I go KL again.

Room Tip: Try Jalan Alor food street. Many many good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michouetmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Located right in the heart of Jalan Bukit Bintang, Iris Garden Hotel may fool visitors as it's like none of the others in the area within its price. The interior of the hotel was recently renovated and updated. While the rooms may be a bit small, what more can one expect for the price? More importantly, they are clean and adequate for those who are there to shop, tour or party. If you want a room to lounge in, this may not be quite the place for you. If you have expensive taste and a huge budget, look elsewhere. But if you're in need of a place to crash that's well maintained, this is it. The staff are super nice and amazingly accommodating...they get an A++ from me. If you're a light sleeper, however, ask for a room that does look over the back alley. The bands there will keep you up through the wee hours of the morning. In spite of that, I'll be back. Often.

Room Tip: Don't let the entrance fool you, it's really quite a nice hotel for the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chunkysaurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Alor Boutique Hotel
Alor Boutique Hotel
#224 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sungei Wang Hotel
Sungei Wang Hotel
#132 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#177 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#197 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#86 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Garden Hotel

Property: Iris Garden Hotel
Address: No. 89-91 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Iris Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iris Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing