We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This doesn't fit into any category”
Review of Orion Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orion Design Hotel
Ranked #114 of 338 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This doesn't fit into any category”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I don't know what to say. How or why was a hotel built in this location, and why make it so quirky?

It is about 10 minutes walk from Mid Valley Mall on a slip road from a major noisy expressway. But it is not a walk taken lightheartedly as there are two crossings that you have to keep alert when you cross.

Taxis have no idea where the place is, however once you are there it is simple to get a cab from the expressway.

The reception is so helpful, they can't do enough for you.

The rooms are spotless but weird. The bathrooms are incredible but they are almost half the size of the room? Was this place built for unmarried couples to come to??? The beds were very comfortable.

The road noise is a big distraction.

Although it is totally value for money and the staff are great I am sad to say I would not recommend it. It is just a little to awkward to get to and I would rather pay a little more money for a quiet night sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cranjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
13
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I am a regular business traveller to Kuala Lumpur. You can't go wrong with Orion Design Hotel. Designer/Boutique hotel rooms with a luxury feel and 'budget hotel' pricing. The staff, managers Marcus and Jeff and team, are really very friendly and helpful for whatever you need. The room service food is great, Italian, and so cheap! It's easily the best of about a dozen "boutique" hotels in Kuala Lumpur I've tried and only thing better would be one of the expensive 5 Star hotels. Can't beat the location. 2 minute walk straight into MidValley City shopping centre over a freeway footbridge. Can be tricky to find off the freeway but it's no hassle in a taxi or walking. Great Internet - fast and reliable.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayts70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Receptionist and the manager was very friendly and helpful. The interior is very pretty and artsy too.. no doubt the design concept implemented.

Room- The room we booked is for 2 person, by right a twin bed room but the room is too small, it became a super big bed for 2. The bed and pillow is really comfortable

Toilet is the thing I wasn't sure if its good or not because the door was made of glass and the only thing is the curtain outside can close. With the tv in the middle, the curtain could not cover the whole glass leaving middle part a little hole.. Luckily my roommate was a girl for this.

Wifi was very fast too and there's a 32inch flat screen tv. Good enough :)

Our room one night is around 200 without breakfast which made me feel a little too pricey.

Overall is good as the bed and pillow are the most important to me for a good night sleep :)

Room Tip: There's no elevator, those who are not convenient climbing stairs, do make request for lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyIb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights at 302 during business trip as a couple through Booking .com. Had a confusion for access to the hotel despite seeing it from the main road. Difficulty to park our 4x4 due to small parking area. Would suggest to close the outdoor restaurant area instead to allow more parking space. Very friendly & helpful staff indeed. Good security eventhough near busy street & commercial area. Elegant lobby & room design with intimate aura; love the rain shower very much. Need to rearrange table to allow space to pray jamaah together(for Muslims). Dark room & dim lightings attract some mosquitoes in. Otherwise; all is well. Keep it up!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady Diamond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After going through the reviews here, i opted for this hotel, booked through Expedia and managed to get a deluxe room at a rate of RM170 nett per night, not including breakfast. I only spent one night here. The location is a bit remote although sitting next to a 7-Eleven. There is one busy highway just in front of the hotel and these is one major bus stand right in front of the hotel as well. If you have problems looking for the hotel, just specify "Taman Seputeh" to your taxi.

The hotel entrance gate is protected by an electronic lock which can only be unlocked by pushing the unlock button inside the lobby. The lobby design is very impressive and modern with colourful liquid motion tiles. By the way, there is also a Mac dekstop computer for use in the lobby. Check in was fast, a deposit of RM100 was required. Staffs were friendy and we were guided to our room and shown how to operate the utilities inside the room. Do take note that only one key card is given. The room is small but the design is superb and the space is used well. It is dimly lighted and i would not recommend this hotel to those in need of fluorescent light. The bed is big and super comfortable. Besides that, the bed design is also very unique and so do the telephone, electric switches.

Moving on to the bathroom, the bathroom is separated from the sleeping area by a sliding glass door with curtains installed. I have to mention that the water pressure of the shower is awesome! However, after flushing the toilet, the toilet tank refilling produces a very noisy noise. The room i got is a corner unit and it is facing the busy highway. In the midnight, a little noise can be hear and that did not cause me any imsonia.

The hotel not only provides sanitary bag, shower cap, a pair of toothbrush and toothpaste, cotton buds and facial cotton pads, soaps, shower gel, shampoo but also supplies the guests comb, shaver and even sewing kit. On top of all, the hotel is like 5-minutes walk to and from Mid Valley Megamall. However, you need to cross a busy one-way single-lane road then you will reach the Mid Valley KTM station which is directly accessible to the third floor of the mall. By the way, do take note the walk to the mall might be a little bit dangerous so it is advisable to walk there only during work starting time (10 - 11AM) and work finishing time (10 - 11PM) as there will be a lot of employees using the passage.

With the price i paid, i am very satisfied with the room, services and facilities provided. I would definitely stay here again. =)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren_Jelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muar, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Found this hotel via Expedia. As I'm not local, I've to depend on GPS to reach this hotel through rarely-use, unfamiliar road, despite this hotel is easily seen from Jalan Syed Putra. The road in front of this hotel is very narrow, was wondering the road is a 1 or 2 way directional lane when I arrived. The hotel is lack of private parking, feel a bit uncomfortable parking by the roadside as there were many people (there's a bus stop and pedestrian bridge nearby) watching us while waiting for public transport. There's a 7-Eleven convenience store beside the hotel to make stay much more convenient. The hotel entrance door is always locked & the hotel staff is always there to unlock the door if you need to come in or leave, so a compliment to its security. Staff is friendly, one staff helped carried my luggage to the room & gave some explanation about facilities usage in the room. I was staying in Libra room, it was quite dark (I can even count total light bulbs installed) but comfy. The rooms named after constellation makes me believe that the design theme must be based on universe space with star lights concept blended with realistic modern environment living (hanging decorative balls look like moons, black staircase like walking in outer space, eclipse-like lighting around round bath mirror etc.). Room is very clean & smells good. The bath is divided by a big sliding glass door with curtain available to hide it. Even the power sockets & telephone installed are unique in design. Unfortunately my room 202 is not sound proof enough as I can hear noisy stomps of stair that made me a bit difficult to sleep. WIFI internet speed is good. Didn't explore much during my stay as I was kinda on a rush, heard that visitors can just walk to Mid Valley Megamall from the hotel. Not sure if my stay came with free breakfast too. With lowest rate, I get to stay in a quite small room, so I guess I also paid for a premium.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prognesubis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is great hotel, unique design, large room with great bath room design.
Extra Ordinary service from Hotel staff. I would like to give them a "Like".
Very close to Mid Valley shopping center and it was located next to 7-11.

The value is worth more than you paid. Overall i will give 90%.

Pls take note that this hotel has no lift, and hard to find a car park.
Will return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
My Hotel Premier
My Hotel Premier
#197 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#66 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
#65 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Signature Hotel @ Bangsar South
Signature Hotel @ Bangsar South
#211 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valenza Hotel & Cafe
Valenza Hotel & Cafe
#181 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alex Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur
Alex Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur
#45 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Design Hotel

Property: Orion Design Hotel
Address: No. 62 Jalan Bukit Raja, Kuala Lumpur 58000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orion Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orion Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing