We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are incredibly rude!!”
Review of Central Lodge

Central Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Lodge
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff are incredibly rude!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

As we were arriving into kl very late from a flight we prebooked and thought this would be good as it was cheap and right beside kl sentral! The location was about the only good thing abut this place, staff were so rude barely even grunting wen either coming in or leaving, we met Robert on our 2nd day and he was very friendly and made us feel welcome unlike the rest, girl on reception especially needs some customer service training on our 4th morning she came knocking on our door telling us we have to hurry up and check out even tho we had booked and paid for 5 nights, she rudely told us we were wrong but when she went to check she came back and just said 'yes Uve paid for 5nights' no apology for disturbing us and speaking to us so rudely, also when checking out she couldn't even manage a hello, ask us how everything was or even a thank you and goodbye she took the keys off us gave us our deposit back and carried on as if we weren't ther...we were more of an inconvenience for her!! the lock on our door was very temperamental, it was a struggle locking and unlocking which made us worry about our possessions! The sheets were filthy and under the bed was disgusting! They told us to pay straight away and stupidly we did without even seeing the room, I guess they do this so wen u realise it's not worth it you can't ask for up your money back! Yes it's cheap and close to train station but wish we had paid a little extra for somewhere 10times better than this!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    2
    5
    8
See reviews for
3
9
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
padang
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spent 4 days in this hotel and I can't complaint about anything. It has very well located, only few minutes walk from KL Sentral and little India which is good point for women-solo traveler who have no idea about KL. The price was also reasonable for a single room. He gave me discount for staying couple night. Also, it has very kind staffs who always keen to helped their guess. The old man who work on a day time even gave me a medicine to treat my sprained hand. The room itself was good and its toilet is clean. The provide bread and coffee/tea in the morning and free drinking water. There's also WIFI, desktop computer, a couch, and TV in the "dining room"

Room Tip: if you wanna have a view outside this hostel, you'd better prefer room no 1 and/or room no 2. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deedee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

this hostel is SUUUPER well located ! few mins walk from sentral kl, and just a straight line

its perfect if u want to go to the airport very early or arrivng late

the owner is very nice, helpful and friendly ! its also cheap for kl standards and clean

i stayed there 3 times

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Unfortunately, I stayed at this budget hotel. The owner doesn't follow the published price at his website. It seems when there aren't much customers that day, he increases the price. He charge me 50% more. As I was checking out, I wanted to check from the logbook and found out that there was indeed only 2 rooms booked that night. Suddenly, the owner started shouting at me and said I shouldn't look at the logbook. His face was all red and screaming and practically pushed me out. I hope nobody stays at this hotel.

Room Tip: No matter how good the rooms are, it doesn't do any good if the owner doesn't have manners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olbaido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The location is within a 5min walk from KL central station. It's really easy to get to and from the airport, roughly (7 malaysian) to the airport to hotel. It's great for getting around since all the metro lines met up at central.

Around the hotel is not much to do our see. There is a 7-11 across the street. Also there is other local markets for cheaper, restaurants and also banks near by. It's also in a walking distance to little India.

The room it self is nothing special. We got a private room for a couple and it was just a room with a bed. Our room had a certain smell to it even when I bought spray and sprayed the room it didn't go away. Our room faced the street which made it to noisy to sleep with the window open. The bed was just a sheet over the mattress and hard. Really it's just a budget room, you get what you pay for. The shared bathroom is kept clean and there is hot water.
They do offer bread and tea in the mornings. There is also WIFI in the lobby and also a desktop computer in the lobby to use. Also there is a tv and couch to hang out in.

The front desk guy was a little nutty but very helpful with giving us maps and also bug spray if you needed any and also he took us to dinner one night with another guest.


This is a good place if your on a budget and need a place to stay for a few nights.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back of the hotel, the front one can be noisy from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raspberryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Being located within five minutes walk KL sentral, Central Lodge is in a good locaiton if you have an early flight the next day and don't want to pay the high price for an airport hotel or taxi in the early hours. Aside from this there isn't a whole lot within walking distance, so if you are staying more than one night in KL you're better off going to Bukit Bintang.

However, the room I stayed in was very poor. The floor was dirty and the room was noisy, being located next to a busy road. The fan worked reasonably, although it was still quite hot since closing the window was necessary. The only bed linen was a bottom sheet with clearly visible body hairs and flakes of skin from the previous user(s). The mattress was thin, and the bed frame creaked loudly whenever I rolled over, which was often because it was hard to get comfortable. All this combined to make for a poor sleep.

On the other hand the bathroom was reasonably clean and the hot water worked well. The staff were polite and were around when you needed them (including for a 4am checkout), but not overly friendly. It wasn't an expensive place, but you can get much better for the same price in KL.

All in all it was a pretty bad stay and if I found myself in a similar situation I wouldn't stay there again. Based on the other reviews, maybe there are some better rooms, so if you need a place for one night it might be worth checking out, but only if all the other places nearby are full.

Room Tip: Inspect rooms carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The owner is mentally unstable.You ask a normal question about the room rates & he would start interrogating you as if you are some kind of an intruder & he behaves as if he would be doing a favour to give you place in this lousy prison.
After climbing a flight of stairs to 4th floor with the baggage,as there are no lifts, you are treated by this stupid moron with arrogance & indifference as if you are going to stay there for free.He is extremely unwelcoming & rude.The rooms are small & look like prison cells.Charges are way too high.The staff is equally unfriendly.The rooms & beds were not clean either.He did not show us the rooms until we booked,Very mean & malicious kind of business tactics.In short ,don't stay here!

Room Tip: Find some other guest house nearby,there are plenty
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
MM Hotel
MM Hotel
#103 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flip Bunc KL Sentral
Flip Bunc KL Sentral
#96 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Joy Inn Hotel
Joy Inn Hotel
#69 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
My Hotel @ Sentral 2
#88 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
#11 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bodhi Lodge
The Bodhi Lodge
#22 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Lodge

Property: Central Lodge
Address: 27A, (4th floor), Jalan Tun Sambanthan 4 | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 259 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Central Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing