We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location - Great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #22 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Wales,UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent location - Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Stayed for just 3 nights at the Istana on the way to Penang. The hotel is right opposite the Raja Chulan Monorail station, and such is the ease of travelling in KL that we made it there via KL Express/KL Central/Raja Chulan with our suitcases in tow! The hotel reception always smells divine!!, the staff are very attentive and friendly. The pool area is clean and tidy;.It's an easy walk to Petronas Towers, and the main shopping malls. It's a short hop on the Monorail to Petaling Market in Chinatown. I would definitely stay in this hotel again because of the location and staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monambyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,527
    1,286
    452
    175
    128
See reviews for
800
1,231
248
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Istana Hotel. The facilities and location are great but we were overwhelmed by the genuine and friendly staff and managers. From the lovely girls that would light up when you enter the building right through to management staff, on all levels in all areas the staff and management really personalised our hotel experience and are all diligent and professional in their duties. All staff were excellent, front reception, fitness room staff, restuarant staff and all managers excelled in their duties. Managers Madsa, Fatimah and Rai took the time to get to know us and would always stop for a chat and ask us if everything was alright. These staff along with many others know exactly how to make you feel special on your holiday and are a credit to their work and an asset to this hotel. My wife and I thoroughly recommend hotel Istana to all types of travellers and will be returning ourselves in November.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IoannisPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Hotel Istana in Kuala Lumpur is perfect for a short business trip. The hotel is well located in the city center. The offices are located very near to the hotel and taxis are readily available from the main entrance.

The reception of the hotel is huge and the hotel staff attend the guests amicably. The food is good and the bar serves good liquor.

The room quality is good and the over all feeling of sleep is comfortable.

I would recommend this hotel for any business traveler.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohrisaurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

Only stayed at this hotel because the Travel Agent recommended it. After reading the reviews wanted to change to another hotel but hubby said to give it a go. What a disaster! Arrived at 9.30pm to be told that there was no booking for us even though I had the paperwork. It was funny though that they knew we had booked breakfast but supposedly didn't have a booking?? As previously mentioned with this hotel, I believe that due to the time of our arrival they have given the room to someone else. Anyway after about 45mins they said the only room they had was a twin with the beds pushed together and that they would give us the correct room the next day. We accepted this as it was late and we were tired (Rm 616). This room was okay. Next day went to Reception after breakfast as was told to go back at 3.00pm. So we did with all our luggage to ensure that we got the correct room (Rm 1201). This room was located right next to the floor staffs room but luckily this was no problem. The bathroom was the biggest bathroom I had ever seen in a hotel - double sinks, separate shower and toilet. The fixed shower head was fabulous and adjustable for massaging but that was all that was good. The room was freezing and even when we turned the aircon up to 30 degrees and the fan to one, it made absolutely no difference. The next day we turned it off but still didn't resolve the issue. The were no spare blankets in the room either so we had to request one of these which did turn up on the same day. Back to the bathroom, when one closed the door in the toilet it looked like it hadn't been clear in a month of sundays and the hand held shower head in the shower was disgusting. How hard is it to wipe down the hose. The biggest issue in the shower was the leaking door. It wasn't sealed properly at the bottom and the water just poured out. We would normal use our towels for a couple of days before having housekeeping come in but this needed to be done everyday otherwise the room would have been flooded. One day housekeeping forgot to leave a bathmat and rang the doorbell at 10.00pm to give it to us even though the do not disturb sign was on the door. The next issue we encounter though was the noise. There must have been a club or something nearby as the music was so loud that it kept us awake. Now my hubby is a light sleeper but I normally sleep like the dead so for me to be keep awake it must have been loud. This noise went from about 10.00pm to 3.00am intermittently but every time one dropped off to sleep it started again. The pool area was okay but small and sign saying to have a shower so we went to the change rooms but there were no showers there and no signs. Found them behind the fountain into the pool. Had a Relaxing Foot Spa in the hotel spa and that was excellent but a bit expensive. The other good thing about the hotel was the location, it was walking distance to all the shops in Bukit Bintang and walkable to KL Tower and Petronas Twin Towers. When we went to check out they tried to charge us for someone else's meal in the restuarant and didn't believe us when we protested. It therefore took almost and hour to check out and the Duty Manager had the audacity to give my hubby his card and offer a discount next time we stay - there won't be a next time. But that wasn't the worst of it "The worst was the morning that housekeeping rang the door bell to give us the water that we had apparently requested (this water is complimentry each day and we hadn't had any for two days). The only issue with this was that it was 4.00am and we had only just managed to get to sleep

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

This hotel is in best position,next to huge shopping malls,restaurants,markets and transport. Rooms are classic,large and service is excellent.Price was about 100 AUD per night and we got upgraded to a suite at no extra charge.Staff is very well trained and helpful.
Great bargain 5 star hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jas130849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

I stayed here with my husband from 13 to 16 Feb 2011. We had a deluxe room on the 7th floor (non smoking floor). We chose this hotel after extensive research on Tripadvisor which we have used on almost all our trips. At first I was concerned about the mixed reviews but I can say now, after saying there for 4 days, that I am very happy I stayed here.

Room : Very spacious. Comfortable bed (firm mattress). Can see KLCC Petronas Twin Tower. Very clean. White furniture makes room look homely. Aircon works well.

Bathroom : Very spacious. 2 sinks, a bathtub, a separate shower, a separate toilet.

Very minor complain that we did not bother to get fixed: a picture light not working, a bathroom door handle missing, a sink not flowing smoothly.

Buffet Breakfast : Very good. Wide variety (Western, Asian, Indian). Tasty.

Service : Good enough. We arrived 10min before 2pm. We booked non smoking room and got it. We booked double bed but the reception said had to wait for an hour or more, so we settled for 2 single beds side by side which we can check in immediately. Check in took 10min. Luggage took 20min and 2 phone calls to arrive. Bell hop was very helpful to show us how to turn on the shower (the knob is unusual). One of the days I asked for more shower gel and a lady came within 5min with a tray of shower gel and many other types of toiletries ! Wow ! We asked for late check out at 2pm and got it. As we have already paid for the room when we booked through internet, check out took only 1min ! (We paid SGD 125 a night with breakfast)

Restuarant : Limited. The western restuarant was closed on Sunday night. The other place to eat was the "breakfast" restuarant. However, just opposite the hotel is a small hotel called Paradise Lodge. Its poolside restuarant serves good Thai food. There is also western and seafood choices. I saw a few local families eating here too.

Pool : Looks nice. Did not use. There is also a fitness centre but I did not go in.

Spa : Quite pricey. RM 340 for 90min scrub and massage. We booked but never tried it because the reception staff that served us (her name is Mae) was very rude, non obliging, argued with us and spoiled our mood. The spa just lost RM 340 (+10% + 6%) x 2 persons.

Profile of stayers : More Middle Eastern and Indian, followed by Asian and then Westerners. This was not an issue.

Location : Very good. 2min walk to monorail station. 10min walk to Bukit Bintang shopping/eating area.

Tip : We needed a taxi to go up to Genting Highlands which is an hour's drive. The reception quoted us RM 150. We went to the taxis waiting just outside (blue limo cab) and we got RM 100.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginkonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Our recent stay at hotel Istana was so good that it prompted me to write a review. I am a 5 star hotel girl and wasn't expecting much of this 4 star establishment but we got a great deal on booking.com with a suite and the executive club at a normal room price. The facade is impressive as is the foyer and lounge. There is always plenty of staff in the foyer to request things of. I felt the staff went out of their way to help and be friendly. The hotel is within walking distance of all the best shopping in KL. The rooms are a little tired looking but still marble vanity, bath and good strong shower and king sized bed. They made up for the tiredness of the rooms with fresh flowers in vases and purple orchids left on the pillow and on the towels each day
The executive lounge with breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks with canapés was well worth the money. We often couldn't fit in dinner after the evening canapés. There was a white and red wine, beer and some spirits. The buffet breakfast was a real winner with western food as well as Malay and Indian (delicious). We also had the dinner buffet one night and it was one of the best buffets I have done (and I've done a lot!). No alcohol served in this restaurant though.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonieshorncliffeQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#24 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#34 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
#35 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Property: Hotel Istana
Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo and Holiday Gems so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing