We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD AND COMFORTABLE PLACE IN THE CENTRE OF TOURIST AREA”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #21 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“VERY GOOD AND COMFORTABLE PLACE IN THE CENTRE OF TOURIST AREA”
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Stayed there with wife and kid for five nights.Room was big,clean and very comfortable.Did not eat anything at the hotel since it was very expensive.Very cheap and good food available right next to the hotel.Bintang walk,jalan alor,petronas towers,shopping malls in bukit bintang and kl tower are within walking distance.Raja chulan monorail station is right opposite to the hotel.Overall a very pleasant place to stay for such a low price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudhir_an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,594
    1,316
    460
    179
    128
See reviews for
836
1,271
252
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on our way back home to the UK from Borneo. Never again this is not a 4-5 star hoel as it ma be featured in brouchers or n the web.
We styed in the club lounge rooms, cannot imagine what the normal rooms are like if these ones are upgraded.
The staff in the club room lounge where breakfast and evening cocktails are served speak very very little english found it vey hard to commincate with them. At breakfast we asked for a fried egg and got an over cooked omelette.
The hotel staff are not very presentable,looked like i had walked into a 2 star hotel when was sold to us as 5 star what a joke never again will i be going back.
The rooms were okish, the bath was awful with mould in the shower cubicle YUK.
Heard some one enquiring about moving to the Shagri La ,as he was also told that this hotel was also a 5 star,BIG BIG DIFFERENCE between Shangri La and the Istana.
The bar/club in the basement was disgusting never seen such a filthy place in my life.
Dont be fooled by the Club Lounge offer with free breakfast and eveing cocktails, you won't be missiGn MUCH.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubsyMiddlesexLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Very large rooms in a central location (on the monorail, 10-20 minute walk to either KLCC or all major shopping areas). Our room had a good view of the Petronas Towers, even though we were on a lower floor. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was very large - it even had two sinks.

On the other hand, there were some rough edges for a place that presents itself as an upper tier hotel. We had to wait for an hour to check in to our room, and then I think they forgot about us as we had to wander up to get our key. There were blood or some kind of other stains on the curtains, and on the duvet. There was black mildew on the base of the shower and other places in the bathroom - it was clear the area behind the door in the toilet room had not been cleaned in some time. The hairdryer was very ineffectual, and probably 20 years old.

We enjoyed our stay for the price we paid, but if you do stay here, get a good rate - if you're to pay a bit more, opt for something nicer like the Traders Hotel (keeping in mind some extras here, like internet is RM60/day).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChitownGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Just come home, have stayed at this Istana for 3nights, the staff where very helptful and the lobby was very nice, had a lovely meal in the restraurants 2 nights , and really enjoyed ourselfs. The only thing with this hotel i felt was the rooms was not of good standard, i would say a 2 or 3 three star rating, if the rooms where upgraded it would be a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Im a regular visitor to Malaysia and stay in many hotels there, but I can honestly say my hotel of choice is the Istana. The hotel although tired and dated and in need of investment is comfortable, but he main attraction is the staff - especially on the club floor, kamal, the floor manager leads a team of dedicted staff who worked hard to make my stay feel like home from home, especially Nanthe a young guy (around 18 yrs old) who always had a smile on his face no matter how demanding the guests might be. For afacilities this is a 4 star hotel - but staff and service are 10 star

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Best Value for your money...

The Club suites are great, but the TV provided is out dated. or else they are very spacious..
Get the booking via tripadvisor with their deal. I got the Breakfast, Evening snacks & Cocktail free every day of my stay Free of cost provided by the Hotel. Also the High Speed Internet is Free.

Few packages also have Airport Pick/ Drop included.

Nice location with in stone throw distance of Bukit Batang, the shopping district & Walking distance from KLCC.

Overall, Great Value at the price charged.

Room Tip: Check for their offers while booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vamsi_ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I stayed for 1 night just for leisure with my husband.
We check in late evening.
The room just nice but the TV replacement not in the suitable place.
I love the bathroom, superb.
We have in room dining..i really like the food being served and the taste also.
Upon check out, i think they have to place more receptionist on the counter on weekends.
Over all...me and my husband have a nice weekend there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anirsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#34 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#20 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Property: Hotel Istana
Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing