We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at Istana”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #21 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We arrived at the Istana Hotel and from the moment we walked in the door we were disappointed.
1) The Concierge when we asked if they could take our bags ignored us. When I complained at the front counter they then took our bags.
2) Check in was painfully slow
3) We booked the club lounge and club rooms. We had to be moved 3 times.
- We booked a King Room and received Twin Share.
- Bedding had stains on it
We moved to another room
- The toilet had leaked water all over the floor
- The room had an extremely strong odour
We moved to another room
4. Once our luggage was collected we did not see it for another 2.5 hours.

The manager did not seem to care.

The positives of the Hotel;
1. Club lounge food was very good.
2. Pillows were very soft although mattress was very hard.

Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sethjaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,736 - 2,742 of 3,894 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2011.

We found our room to be very average to be honest. It was very dated and basic. Everything seemed old and dull. The bathroom was barely average and the slide door to the toilet broke as soon as I tried to open it. Although the shower was decent it wasn't always easy to get hot water.

The pool area was very nice and the restaurant was ok. But food is not an issue due to the hotel being in the city centre.

The check-in was not exactly service with a smile but it was efficient. The girls welcoming at reception were beautiful though and a particular highlight

The only great thing about the hotel was the location, very central and easy access to everything in the city centre

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I love istana hotel.. The rooms were spacious, the staff were friendly, and most importantly, the location is great! It is a mere 5 minutes walk to Pavilion, one of the largest shopping centre in K.L. The breakfast was not very good though...
Just opposite the hotel was a WENDY'S. The burgers there tasted so good, and it was open even late at night. I went there to get a midnight snack, and the walk there was well-lit, though it was midnight. But look out for traffic though, as the traffic there tends to be heavy.
Will stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilian_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Istana is situated very handy to downtown KL. It is very close to some excellent foodhalls and shopping. Although we enjoyed the lovely pool area, our room was in need of renovation, which I am advised is slowly taking place. The bathroom especially was in need of repair...one tap was 'non-op' and the basin spring loaded plug held no water. In our room, one of two windows had broken latches and would not close. The staff were excellent and the reception area and surrounds are palasious...it is just that the rooms do not match the grand entrance. I would stay again but would certainly upgrade to see if the rooms were better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Although the lobby is impressive the rooms did not live up to expectations, the carpet was extremely stained and dirty and it had a run down feel about it. The water in the pool was cloudy did not look too clean. I would not stay here again when back in K.L.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We have stayed in this hotel earlier this to celebrate my wife's birthday, we booked 1 Executive Deluxe Room, the room was very comfortable, staff at the Executive Lounge are very friendly.

Room Tip: high floor facing KLCC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnang6409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Istana. What a great place to stay. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and upgraded to the Lounge bar. Check in was was very easy and the room very comfortable. Staff at the hotel are the best I have dealt with in all my travels, always helpful and gave us good advice on how to travel to places outside KL. The hotel is within walking distance to the Petronus Towers and KL tower and shopping at the Pavillion, monorail is 2 minutes walk.
Lounge bar was great with cocktails and drinks provided dailly. Special thanks to the staff Fipbob, Humrata and Ahmed who looked after us so well in the long bar and Audrey for the advice on places to visit and how to get there without breaking the bank

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Loungr bar you wouldn't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brar1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#22 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
2,590 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#35 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
3,436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#24 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
1,790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#41 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing