We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel has great ambience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #22 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
chilliwack
1 review
“Hotel has great ambience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Really had a wonderfull time at this very centrally located hotel .Room was quite spacious.
Walking distance to twin towers and shopping area's. Breakfast buffet was excellent.
Hotel staff very courteous ,pleasant and helpfull. Management & staff were thoughfull of sending us flowers and fruit basket when my wife was not well due a slight cold, which was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: a vieuw of twin towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,564
    1,305
    457
    178
    128
See reviews for
824
1,255
251
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Had two days at this Hotel. We usually stay at the Prince and I wish we had stayed there. I was so disappointed with the standard of our room and would have checked out if I hadn't yet paid for it.

While the foyer is very impressive the room certainly wasn't. We were apparently upgraded to a Club Room. I can only imagine what the 'normal' rooms are like!

While the room was large it was definitely in need of a renovation. The carpet was very old and while it probably wasn't dirty, it certainly looked it. Bathroom is extremely tired, years of ingrown mould was very unappealing and grotty.

The pool area needs a bit of work. While the pool itself is nice, the pool lounges need to be replaced. They seemed to be stained by mould and are really old and uncomfortable. The change area around the pool is false advertising. It is just a toilet with a basin basically. You were hard pressed to be able to change and then had the worry that someone would walk in while you were changing. There was no separate area to change, had to do it in front of the hand basin and there was no shower in the 'change room'.

On the plus side, the bed was extremely comfortable and pillows fantastic. Unfortunately that isn't enough to make me return.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. Very centrally located, close to Pavillian, Bukit Butang and the monorail. The lobby is large and has a great atmosphere. The staff are friendly. We had a room overlooking the twin towers, and it was definitely worth the extra $, the towers look stunning at night! Would definitely stay at Istana again.

Room Tip: Higher floors which have a view of the twin towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I spent 2 days and 2 nights at room #1943 Istana hotel, the friendly environment and the worm greetings from the hotel staff made me feels like a V.I.P. Everybody serves you with a big smile in his / her face and takes care of you in the best possible way.The breakfast at theClub Lounge was excellent even after having my breakfast they made me a beautiful omelette. Along with great facilities the Hotel is in a perfect location for all your needs.

Room Tip: •"Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Though I spent 4 days at Istana hotel, the friendly environment and the worm greetings from the hotel staff made this place feels like home and that you belong there. Everybody serves you with a big smile in his / her face and takes care of you in the best possible way. Along with great facilities, perfect location and excellent food choices, Istana is a place where you can spend weeks without getting bored. The only downside I faced at the hotel was the old furniture at the club room, although you'll kind of forget about this once you get to explore all the wonderful features of this hotel. And regardless of how old the furniture was, the room was super clean and spotless. It was a great experience and I wont hesitate to stay there again or recomend this place to whoever goes to KL.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayman Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is a great hotel with nice spacious rooms and a decent breakfast spread. Well located - can walk to Menara Tower in 10mins, Petronas Towers in about 40mins. The major shopping centre is about 10mins walk away too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DipaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, U.A.E.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

It was a wonderful and awesome experience staying at Hotel Istana from 6th to 12th January 2012, which ofcourse was in a prominent location with easy access to monorail, shopping complexes, Bukit Bintang area, approx 10 min walk to Petronas Twin Towers etc besides the excellent Front office receptionists as well as the ever-smiling Greeting Hostesses stationed at the Lobby entrance to welcome the guests. The smile on their faces would never fade. They were always full of energy, even though the shoe tend to pinch at the end of the hard days work standing at the Lobby entrance greeting the guests. We would say that Hotel Istana has a great selection of well trained and well behaved staff and its an asset to Hotel Istana rather than a liability. To name some of the excellent staff that we associated during our stay at the Istana Hotel were - Mr Norman, Front Office Manager, Namrata, Front office receptionist, Greeting Hostesses namely Audrey, Sonam, Farina, Rehana and Manisha.
The House-keeping lady staff stationed on 17th floor Ms Siti Amina was also cheerful and ensured that our room was always clean and tidy.
The two young boys at Sauna and Steam reception counter were also helpful and never neglected their responsibility of helping us in ourr needs.
Last but not the least, Hotel Istana gave us a very good and a pleasant surprise for our 38th wedding anniversary which was on 6th Jan 2012 by sending us a bouquet of Roses, an anniversary chocolate cake and a bottle of Champagne. It was a wonderful thought of Hotel Istana to make our stay a pleasant and a memorable one, which will always be cherished for many more years to come. It was not the materialistic value that made us happy but the very thought of the Management to surprise us with the bouquet of roses, chocolate cake and a bottle of champagne, made us realise the professionalism and thoughtfulness of Hotel Istana staff.
From the very first day that we entered the Lobby of Hotel Istana on 6th Jan till we left on 12th Jan 2012, it was just awesome, amazing and wonderful experience with the excellent Manager Norman and his staff whose names are mentioned above and we would once again strongly say that Hotel Istana has a treasure of excellent staff.
There was a wide selection of food at the morning buffet breakfast at TAMAN SARI as well as the Buffet Dinner at the same restaurant. The buffet dinner was a good value of the money paid.
Lastly a very "BIG THANK YOU" to all the staff with whom we associated during our stay and look forward to staying at ISTANA HOTEL once again, if ever, we plan our next trip again at Malaysia.
Richard & Dorothy - Dubai, U.A.E...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richdotDubai_U_A_E_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#26 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#24 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#37 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#20 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Property: Hotel Istana
Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing