We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at!”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #27 of 355 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is a great and I do mean great hotel! The rooms are nicely appointed and very clean. What sets this hotel apart is the attentiveness of all the staff who look after your every need and are super responsive, not to mention the attention to detail in every little thing they do.

The manager Norman and the welcome staff Farina and Rehina were just amazing. Norman took care of all of our needs and went above and beyond. Farina and Rehina were very gracious and welcoming, giving us pointers on where to go and what to see. The best part were they were genuinely interested in our travels and we 30+ minute conversations with them.

Overall I give the hotel 5 stars, with the one knock being that free wi-fi is not available.

Great job Hotel Istana!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MukeshD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,702 - 2,708 of 4,108 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

My girlfriends and I travel to K L for our annual shopping spree. We stay at the Istana because all the staff there make you feel so welcome and their service is second to none. The hotel is centrally located with access to all the shopping centres is definitely a bonus. Their rooms are spacious and clean. We feel like we come home everytime we return. The welcoming staff remember our names (which is I think is just fantastic). Their breakfast buffet is always of an excellent standard as is the dinner buffet every night. The staff are always helpful and my friends and I always look forward to coming back to the Istana.

Room Tip: If you can get the view of the Petronas Towers. It looks lovely lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We loved everything about Hotel Istana. The lobby, swimming pool and rooms were clean and stylish. The staff were so friendly and would help us with any questions we had. They are always available and make you feel like a very special guest. The bathroom (which I find very important) had both a bath and shower with a seperate toilet and two basins. The curtains were so dark and the bed so comfortable that we overslept everyday we were there! The best part about Hotel Istana however was it's location - it's close to everything. We walked to the petronas towers and back. There are restaurants all around the hotel as well as a seven eleven for some snacks. The monorail is directly opposite the hotel and we used it to go wherever we needed in the city centre, it works out much cheaper than taxis. P.S. Don't miss out on a walk down Bukit Bintang at night!

Room Tip: tro for a room facing the petronas towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryam23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Hotel Istana is situated in great location with KL Tower and Petronas Towers nearby. Pavillion Mall is a stone's throw away. The rooms were excellent with good sized toilets. The buffet breakfast is a little let down for Vegetarians.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rameshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Hotel Istana is located in a great area, close to shops (5 mins from Pavilion) and the local eateries. That is probably the best it has to offer. The rooms are good, though a bit tired. The service was fine, had no problems. Was disappointed free wifi was not available. All in all, if given a good deal I would stay here again. I stayed in Traders 6 months ago and preferred that hotel even though it was a bit further walk to Bukit Bintang.

Breakfast not included in our stay, so cannot comment.

One area of improvement - the shower leaks onto the floor due to the gap between the shower screen and the floor...very strange design.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misstravelbug-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Conference facilities were as you'd expect and food and staff exceptionally good. Top marks there. Day after day the place was cold. People were wearing their jackets and woollens even though it was quite hot outside.
Didn't take a room but stayed at Kamar Suites, only a few hundred meters away, which was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don_the_entomologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Hotel is very well placed in the city. Rooms and decorations are old, about 30 years I'd say, but clean and proper. Breakfast buffet offers a wide variety and the choice is enjoyable. The biggest asset this hotel has is its personnel. They are very friendly, helpful and it is a pleasure to talk to them, you notice instantly that they feel the hotel belongs to them. Although the hotel has 5 stars I’d give it 2.5 stars simply because it needs refurbishment. I am not so fussy about hotels as long as they are clean, have a minimum standard of comfort and friendly, the hotel offers just that. I’d return to it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FM1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#26 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
2,641 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#21 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Suites Kuala Lumpur City Centre
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.3 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#40 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
3,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#27 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £54 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing