We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, and smiley welcome”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #27 of 355 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I just come back from 2 days in KL, and I would like to say thanks for the really warm welcome that Istana hotel is providing !! The place of the hotel is really central, 5 minutes by walk to Pavillon, 15 min to KLCC. Rooms are really big, clean and so quiet !!! even if you are in the city center, you don't hear anything. The pool was really appreciated as well, just before dinner time, also clean and nice. Thanks again for the service. For sure, i will recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: 524 , quiet area, view on the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.

It is with great pleasure to read your review knowing that we have lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 4,108 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

The location of hotel is excellent. It is centrally situated in KL. Rooms are spacious and clean. t is 23floor hotel. Lots of restaurant, market and disco. Low cost restaurant also near to hotel. We arranged a company function of 600 people. they arranged function very well. I personally didnt like Indian food served due to more spices specially chilly.

Room Tip: You can watch the Patronas tower from room. Just ask the side at the time of check in. I stayed in 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhishek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello,

Thanks for your “GOOD LOCATION AND WELL MAINTAINED” review of Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.

We were pleased to read that our team was able to deliver an exceptional experience during your stay.

If your travels take you back to the heart of KL, give us a-buzz so that we can continue to served you better.

Best regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in September - principally because we were travelling on to Taman Nagara and the transport left from this hotel.
A good location for central KL. The hotel itself was a little anonymous but the room was clean and the bathroom palatial! Breakfast was good enough.
A word of warning if you are using the bus to transit to Taman Nagara - check with the office the night before that they have your reservation - Thankfully we did - We had emailed from home the month before to confirm but they had apparently lost the details of our reservation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hello,

Thanks for your “CONVENIENT AND WELL LOCATED FOR A ONE NIGHT STAY”review of Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur.

The hotel talent work hard to delight & deliver and we pleased to read that the team was able to deliver an exceptional experience to you.

Our hotel is strategically located in the heart of KL city centre and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed staying here because of the location and easy access to places of interest.

If your travels take you back to the heart of KL, give us a-buzz so that we can continue to serve you our award winning services.

Best regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I stayed four nights at this hotel in September 2013. Thanks to its excellent location, we were able to visit many tourist spots of Kuala Lumpur on foot. Since there was a monorail station nearby, we also tried the mass transit system of the city. Though we seldom stayed at the hotel, the staff we met were always friendly and helpful. On one occasion, it was only after we left the main entrance of the hotel before we started to find the location of the KL Tower. Shortly after we took out a map, a smiling staff approached us and offered his assistance. The hotel did enable us to relax and experience the hospitality of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hello,

Thanks for your “WELL-LOCATED WITH FRIENDLY STAFF” review of Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur.

The hotel talent work hard to delight & deliver and we were pleased to read that our team able to deliver an exceptional experience to you during your stay with us. We will definitely take the time to recognize them accordingly.

If your travels take you back to the heart of KL, give us a-buzz so that we can continue to serve you.

Best regards.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed at Hotel Istana for a week during a official tour in Sep 13.
The hotel location is great. It is near to all shopping complex like, shoong yan, Pavilion, Lot 10, Barjaya times square, Lot 10. Most of the shopping malls are at a walking distance.

My stay was average considering the tariffs. Paints coming out of walls and torn carpet would be easily visible. Aircon were not responding to the controls in the room and it was very cold most of time. The same was the condition of the meeting rooms especially Ratna meeting room.

They have a very fixed lunch buffet menu.
After staying for a week, on the day of check out request for late checkout was declined.

I'd prefer to stay some other hotel on my next visit to KL.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibhutiprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your "AVERAGE STAY" review of Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken notes of your comments and shared it with our associates to ensure that the quality of our service will always be at the highest peak.

If your travels take you back to the heart of KL, give us a-buzz so that we can continue to deliver our award winning services.

Best regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just Checked out of this hotel after a three night stay. Exceeded our expectations. Staff went out of their way to make our stay here memorable. Gave us a fantastic room on 16 th floor with a view of the Petronas Towers. Big very clean room and location is fantastic. Breakfast good and no need for taxis. Very walkable to major city attractions. Thank you Istana management for a fabulous stay in KL. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Checked out of this hotel after a three night stay. Excellent. Staff went out of their way to make o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hello,

Thanks for your “EXCELLENT STAY” review of Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur.

The hotel talent work hard to delight & deliver and we were pleased to read that the team was able to deliver a tremendous service to you.

We at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur is concerned of our guests comfort and we always ready to serve and ensure the comfort of our guest is at its best.

If your travels take you back to the heart of KL, do give us a-buzz so that we can continue to pampered you.

Best regards.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I were lucky to find such a nice motel, after being booked into another dirty motel, were we refused to stay.
The Istana staff were very helpful and made our stay extra special.
Great food, we ate at the restraunt every night. Chef Nazar was so friendly and it was a pleasure to have him greet us each night and only 95RM for 2 people, thats $30 GREAT value.
Rooms were excellent, VERY clean!!!!
Breautiful decor, swimming pool and GREAT location.
4 days of feeling like kings.

Room Tip: Excellent value, VERY clean, great service, great food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hi,

Thanks for your “EXCELLENT” review of hotel istana kuala lumpur city centre.

The hotel associates work hard to delight & deliver and we were pleased to read that you enjoyed the stay and our team was able to deliver a memorable experience for you. We will definitely take the time to recognize them accordingly.

Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur is also different from the rest whereby we delivered traditional service standards and emphasized on personal contact with our guest. It was great that you appreciate our warm hospitality and service.

If your travels take you back to the heart of KL, give us a-buzz so that we can continue to serve you.

Best regards.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#26 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
2,641 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#21 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Suites Kuala Lumpur City Centre
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.3 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#40 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#27 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £54 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing