We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fitness , while on hols”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #20 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fitness , while on hols”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Can recommend gym & fitness centre @ ISTANA htl
professional staff - the pleasing results are most gratifying
Thanks to Alan, in particular for expert advice & assistance
- all in a day's work but really appreciated!
/ANOTHER DAY , ANOTHER KILO LOST :-)

Tanku RI

Room Tip: TWIN TOWER VIEW IS PREFERABLE AND WORTHWHILE Location of the hotel is excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosco1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,616
    1,330
    465
    180
    128
See reviews for
845
1,287
259
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

From the minute we arrived we felt at home. Greeted by very friendly staff we were guided to the Club House floor for a personal check in and welcome drink while our bags were taken to our room. The hotel is full of old world charm and the rooms may need an upgrade however they were clean, light and spacious with great views of the twin towers. Breakfast...what can I say we were spoilt with choice. The pool was beautiful, shopping was virtually on our door steps and little eateries surround the hotel. An ideal location, relaxing and friendly. Definitely a place to go again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reynell5162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Thank you.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed as part of our return stop over for 2 nights. I cant fault the hotel in anyway. Checkin was quick and smooth - we were upgraded to the Club floor.

The room is a little dated but it is more than adequate for a couple of nights, nice big bed and big Sony flat screen. Bathroom was also big and a lovely powerful shower.

Breakfast buffet was plentiful and lots of choice. We ate in the Sports Bar the first night due to the time we arrived and the food and service was also very good. Huge portions from the bar snacks menu.

Concierge was really helpful on tips and hints. They were very prompt in arranging a private taxi to the airport for us.

Would definintely stay again when we reutrn to KL. Service with a smile and polite staff is also a bonus.


Thanks to the staff for the suprise birthday cake - nice touch and very nice to eat. Thank you Hotel Istana.

Room Tip: Go for a club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Best regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I had a deluxe room for a 5-night stay with breakfast included. Room was large with one king bed. Matress on the hard side but i slept OK. There was a constant humming sound in the room at night. I used ear plugs so i would not hear the noise. Except for the humming noise, the room was quiet and did not face a busy street. Bathroom was good but the toilet did not flush well. Nice large TV but the cable channel selection was horrible. The only two channels worth watching some of the time was a sports channel and occassional movie. Breakfast buffet was OK. Exercise room was OK but it closed at the early time of 7 PM on weekends and 10 PM on weeknights. Hotel elevators are slow and wait time can be up to five minutes if the hotel is busy.

Hotel location is very good and is about a 10 minute walk to the pavillion mall that has many places to eat and a food supermarket. Also close to a 7-11 convenience store. Hotel staff are friendly and efficient with overall excellent service.

Overall, a good hotel except for the terrible cable TV selection. Would stay again depending on the room rate. Compare room rates at various hotels to determine the best value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comments_USA_154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre in the future.

Best regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My partner and I booked a deluxe room with king bed at hotel Istana. We arrived and they put us into a room with 2 single beds. They then changed us to a room with 2 single beds pushed together and a gap down the middle still with 2 single duvets on. They said they have no available rooms with King bed even though this is what we booked. The bathroom was full of mould and paint stains all over the floor. Big chips out of the tiles in the shower and the shower water comes out in big hunks instead of a consistent even flow. I do not think it is value for money and although the lobby is beautiful that's where it stops. Breakfast very average too. Do not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch0pz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the effort to share with us your comments. As much as we understand your disappointments, we do our utmost best to serve every of our guest well. We can assure you, your comments are being dealt with and we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Istana on our way to Borneo from the UK for two nights. The foyer is very impressive, and the staff can not do enough to help you. Rooms were well equipped, and are well maintained for such a large hotel.

The hotel is well located to explore the city using the monorail system, and very close to the pavilion shopping centre with a wide range of shops and restaurants.

If I had a minor complaint, it would be breakfast. While it is varied, it was produced in huge quantities which affected the quality. It also seemed expensive for what was on offer, so ensure it is part of the room price (as it was for us).

Room Tip: Some of the Club Rooms offer views of the Petronas Towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased to have served you well during your stay with us recently. Your valued feedback surely will give the extra boost to the team. We look forward to welcoming you again. Till the next time, may you have a pleasant day ahead.

Best regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were very well looked after at this hotel. We were only there for 1 night but received a free upgrade to the club suite for the night. Breakfast and service was fantastic, and the price was very affordable. Walking distance to many attractions and public transport. Big thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shobags88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIstana, Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Istana Kuala Lumpur City Centre.
It is with great pleasure to read your review knowing that we have lived up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Till then, have a pleasant day ahead.

Best regards.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#22 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#26 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
1,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3,249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.5 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#25 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Property: Hotel Istana
Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing