We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the Grande Dame of KL hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #3 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still the Grande Dame of KL hotels”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Been staying regularly at the M.O in KL since it first opened in the late 90s. It was state of the art when it opened , and has aged well since. The scale and simplicity of the public areas makes it very user friendly , and the sense of familiarity makes it a home from home . Staff are unfailing in recognising returning guests and this enhances the "family' feel . All the restaurant outlets have been refurbished over the years and with leading Chinese and Grill room restaurants in house there's almost no reason to leave on a short stay. My personal favourite is the cosy Cuban themed cigar lounge , where late night stogies can be enjoyed with business friends and colleagues.

The pool area , spa and health club are first rate - the view across downtown KL from the infinity pool is iconic.

The rooms are large , with spectacular views over the city and KLCC parkland. Go for an Executive room for more space at little extra cost . The rooms are comfortable , but they do need to start a programme of gradual refurbishment as the decor and fittings are now 15 years old. Knowing this group of hotels well it will doubtless be on the cards.

The room rates at this M.O are very good value - if you are holidaying in this part of the world and fancy a bit of low cost pampering at one of the leading 5* hotels in Asia then this is the place to do it.

Room Tip: City view or Park view , doesn't matter . Executive rooms will give you more space at little ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corfuandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_KualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Corfuandy

Thank you very much for staying with us at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate your kind compliments on our colleagues, our F&B outlets, recreation facilities and The Spa. We are glad to note that you enjoyed Cigar Divan too. Your positive observation would certainly motivate our colleagues further to fulfill our mission of completely delight and satisfy our guests.

On this note, we are pleased to share that we have plans for a complete guestroom renovation in the near future which will help us better cater to the changing needs of our discerning guests such as you and allow us to stay competitive against new hotels.

Lastly, we wish to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and greatly appreciate your kind patronage. We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,383
    913
    220
    81
    49
See reviews for
909
1,757
264
1,069
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

I use to stay in this hotel for annual business visit in KL. Rooms are large, nit very new but maximum comfort. Large bathroom and shower. Perfect in room studio. The service is excellent both at the reception and everywhere.
The location is, needless to say, perfect. If you like jogging, the very close KLCC park is amazing.
Grill restaurant inside the hotel serves excellent food and wine, ideal for business dinner.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MatteoZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_KualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear MatteoZN

Thank you very much for staying with us at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur and taking the time to share your experience with us prior to your departure from the hotel.

I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments would certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrey Hills, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Beds are comfy - view is amazing (stayed in a Tower View room) bathrooms clean and good sized rooms. Phones have speaker option and the desk is well set up to work from the room, one of the better rooms to double as an office. Very close to shopping and the staff are very helpful and courteous. Only downside is the roomservice menu isn't as extensive as I would like, but what is there is very good.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are cheaper and I think I have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liss K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_KualaLumpur, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Liss K

Thank you for staying with us at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur. We truly appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have duly noted of your comment on our room service menu. Kindly rest assured that your comment will be reviewed as part of our regular food & beverage analysis.

Apart from the above, we are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

I have the pleasure of staying here annually for business and always enjoy the luxurious comfort that the hotel provides in a very convenient setting with fabulous views over the park or twin towers. The staff are efficient and polite. The pool is one of my favourite places to relax after a hard days work

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maybeormaybenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_KualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Maybeormaybenot

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay experience with us.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your valuable feedback would certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

Last but not least, we wish to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and greatly appreciate your kind patronage. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon for 2 nights. We found the check-in to be easy and quick. On our first evening we had dinner at Mosaic. We thought the buffet dinner selection was excellent, our only issue was that the drinks we ordered took slightly too long to arrive once we had ordered them. As well as this being vegetarian we found it slightly off-putting that the vegetarian choices for some dishes were on the same plate as the meat choices, just a personal thing though.

At breakfast we were given someone else’s bill to sign near enough as soon as we sat down and thought that this was bit upsetting considering we had only just sat down for breakfast.

We thought that the food was very good though and we ate at both the restaurant as well as ordering room service.

My wife and I both agreed that the customer service needs to be improved, we felt that the restaurant staff were slow when bringing drinks too us and felt that when trying to get their attention it seemed to take longer than we expected. That’s not too say that all the customer service was bad, it wasn’t, just certain things that need improving on.

We also found that charging for the internet was slightly unfair. We stayed at 2 other hotels whilst on honeymoon where the internet usage was free and felt that this is something that the Mandarin Oriental can surely offer their customers. The location of the Mandarin Oriental is superb though, right next to the Petronas Towers and the shopping centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_KualaLumpur, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Raj N

Thank you for staying with us at Mandarin Oriental during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback, which is a very important instrument in ascertaining our guests’ perception of our hotel.

We are most concerned to note of your comments on the service delivered by our colleagues at Mosaic during your patronage and please accept our humble apologies for the unpleasant experience. We take this feedback very seriously as it is utmost important that we ensure our guests received the best level of service at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur. We have reviewed this incident with our Director of Food & Beverage and kindly rest assured that appropriate remedial actions have been initiated to improve our service and prevent similar recurrences in the future.

We have further noted your comments on the internet charges, kindly be informed that it is a norm for the 5-star hotels in the city to impose a premium charge. However, guests who stay with us at the Mandarin Oriental Club Floor enjoy the benefit of complimentary internet access.

Aside from the above, we hope you had an enjoyable stay with us and greatly appreciate your kind patronage. We look forward to the immense pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel should your travel brings you back to Kuala Lumpur in the not too distant future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadiaro, Spain
Level Contributor
301 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We spent four nights at the hotel whilst experiencing some retail therapy. Ideally situated within short walks of three or more shopping Malls where goodies with all the right names are on sale. The hotel is typically "colonial" and in line with other Mandarin Oriental hotels. From the concierge to the room staff, all were polite and very smart.
We had an executive room on the 29th floor overlooking the Petronas Tower and found the room spacious and relaxing. The Executive meeting room on the 24th floor was excellent and the staff attentive and helpful with all enquiries. The food and drinks throughout the day were plentiful and refreshing on the 24th floor and the Grill and the Lai Po Heen restaurants were excellent and well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pavakeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Located right next to the Petronas towers, Suria KLCC shopping centre and the KLCC park, the hotel is in a great location.
The restaurants at the hotel are great and offer good quality delicious food. Service is good and prices are reasonable.
The pool has a good view of KLCC park and the towers, there are some wonderful restaurants and bars very close by too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EaterKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,496 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Travelbag, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing