We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic luxurious experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic luxurious experience”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel was so great and the feeling to be there was beautifully memorable. We stayed there for 2 weeks and they have upgraded our room to club corner room due to the unavailability of the standard rooms.We got the beautiful sight of Petronas Twin Towers and lush gardens of Kuala Lumpur City Park and admirably when you have starry night in luxurious bedding ,that was such a gift to us.

The room was so clean and the bathroom was beautiful. I really enjoyed their jacuzzi and pool,Somehow, it gave me moments of tranquility when I was there. The staffs were courteous which completed this unforgettable experience.

The location is really strategic. Its just next to KLCC and within walking distance to Pavilion in Bukit Bintang.There is also LRT within walking distance and taxi is everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Siti A

Thank you for choosing to stay with Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to note that you had an unforgettable stay. Positive feedback such as yours will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future, for another memorable stay.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,475
    931
    225
    82
    50
See reviews for
941
1,799
273
1,090
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
knightsbridge
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Yet another great stay .. MOKL is an institution. The first 5 star deluxe to grace KLCC .. I have been a guest every year over the last 15 years and I still think it retains its charm. It certainly has been challenged of late by the towering grand Hyatt nearby but I tell you why it's still my favourite choice . I had stayed at grand Hyatt the week before and was fortunate enough to be upgraded to a grand suite and yes it was simply amazing! While Hyatt is glass and steel with the most panoramic view of KL skyline and contemporary furnishing it lacks the intimate feel that MOKL has to offer .. In MOKL the staffs are dressed in traditional Asian style , gracious and courteous .. you feel like coming home with years of experience entertaining guests and the whole setting exudes classic luxury from the newly refurbished restaurants and the common area. The hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment that will soon include the rooms . I was upgraded to the Park Suite for the first time ..A very spacious suite overlooking klcc park but the decor is pretty dated and need a major overhaul .. In this regards the grand suite in grand Hyatt exceeded in terms of room design and interior features .. I look forward to returning when the refurbishment is completed in MOKL. The rising Four Seasons Hotel at the other corner of KLCC which has resumed construction will certainly give
MOKL and Grand Hyatt a run
for their money ..but for now MOKL still reigned supreme in most categories . Thank you to all the wonderful staffs .. Dr Sabree

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FABREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear FABREE

Thank you for returning to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to note of your insightful praise about our hotel. We are very aware of the growing competition in the city and welcome all new hotels. Our current renovation program and ongoing staff training are designed to help us deliver the finest experience possible and we will continue in our quest for continual improvements. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We checked in at the Manadarin Oriental after visiting the Shangri'la Hotel in Borneo and it may be for this reason that we disliked the Mandarin Oriental so much. Coming from the Shangri'la (which was amazing) the Mandarin Oriental was drab, outdated and a real disappointment. The room had a musty smell and there was wallpaper hanging off the wall in the bathroom. The carpets looked as though they had seen better days and the room was so dingy and depressing. The bedding also had marks on it.

The pool area was nice but the pool itself was quite cold and the sunbeds looked like something out of the war era. They definitely need replacing and were not what I expected from a Mandarin Oriental.

What made this hotel for me, however, was the Mandarin Grill restaurant. We ended up eating there twice in our four night stay and have to say it is one of the nicest meals I have ever eaten. The staff in the restaurant are also fantastic. It is not cheap but well worth splashing out on. We also ate at the poolside bar on the first night and again the food was very nice and the staff very friendly. Also, the Mandarin cake shop is worth a visit if you fancy indulging.

Overall, as the title of this review suggests, this hotel needs a serious face lift if it is going to uphold the Manadarin Oriental reputation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Hannah C

Thank you for staying with us.

We have taken note about your comments on the guestroom. Please allow us to share with you that the hotel has a complete renovation plan for all guestrooms and or new poolside lounges are arriving in August.

We are happy to learn about your other positive observations and they will further motivate our colleagues to deliver excellent service.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again the future, next time for a more memorable stay.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

the hotel is Very good
And location of the hotel is excellent too
And excellent Staff
we dont had breakfast
i like it so much

الفندق ممتاز جدا ق
و موقع الفندق ممتاز جدا
و طاقم العمل ممتازين
لﻻسف لم نطلب فطور

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Lolo P

Thank you for staying at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note of your positive observations and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights and were very impressed by the staff who were very efficient but courteous at the same time. Our room was lovely, overlooking the Petronas Towers and the dancing fountain, well worth the small amount extra. We were able to explore lots of KL very easily using the hotel as a base. We went to the aquarium which we enjoyed very much and felt that it was informative and well laid out, we also managed to go to the bird park and the butterfly park very easily. We used the La Po Heen restaurant in which we enjoyed as very nice meal together with Mosaic and the Cascade Restaurant and ate well in all of them. I did not enjoy breakfasts as much as the evening meals as they seemed rather rushed. All in all the room was lovely, the facilities good and the position of the hotel excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Clare I

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us. Positive observations such as yours will certainly motivate our colleagues further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This time we decided to stay in MOKL because we had limited time available and did not want to spend time traveling around and wasted in the traffic jam.

For shopping in the only Kinokuniya Bookstore in Malaysia at KLCC next to MOKL, MOKL definitely was the best choice.

We took up a Romantic Offer, with minimum stay of 2 nights, staying in the Park View Room (516 sq. ft.), paying about RM2,000, we had free room upgraded to Park Suite (882 sq. ft. and published rate was more than RM2,000 per night per room), a bouquet of roses upon arrival, a champagne (or alcohol free drink), chocolate and fruit platters, a romantic bath, breakfast inclusive and one romantic dinner per couple in Mandarin Grill during our stay.
I would say this was a great deal. With the amount we paid, usually we could only get the Park View Room without breakfast and all the above.

The Park Suite was big and was spacious for my family of 2 adults and 2 young children to move around. A separate living room with TV, dining area with coffee making machine, mini bar and a guest toilet. Next to the dining and guest toilet it was the entrance to the bedroom. Room had a writing table, an arm chair, king size bed and of course side tables. Before entering the bathroom, there was a tiny dressing table and next to it was a walk-in wardrobe with bathrobes and slippers ready to use. The bathroom was same like what I had in Park View Room. A small shower cubicle, a long bath, opposite them was the basin and at the end of the bathroom was the toilet. Toiletries used in Park Suite was difference from the ordinary room types. Aromatheraphy brand was used in Park Suite.
I loved the supply of mineral water (or bottled water) and toiletries in this hotel the most! Upon request, they replenished 10 bottles every time they make up room or having turn down service. As we had 4 in the room, they gave us sufficient toiletries to use (which was 4 sets of bath gels, shampoo and conditioners in the shower cubicle, 4 sets of shower gels and 4 pieces of loofah at the long bath, 4 sets of cotton buds and cotton pads, 4 sets of toothbrushes and toothpastes! Throughout the years of traveling and staying in hotels, this was the only hotel supplying more than enough toiletries for the guests!

There was no standard procedure to serve children milk, chocolate bars and cookies during turn down service. So please ask if you are traveling with your children. As the hotel has record of my son was allergy to egg, they sent us egg free cookies. The chocolate happy face cookies (with egg content was so delicious!)
When we stayed in the Park View Room, there was no child size bathrobes provided for usage. This time when we stayed in Park Suite, 2 child size bathrobes were sent in for our usage.
Remember to ask for child size slippers. This was my son's favourite!

The breakfast in Mosaic was buffet style and food spread was not fabulous but wide enough for sure. From continental, Japanese, Malay-India, Chinese (dim sum), egg counter to plenty of pastry, breads and fruits.

Dinner in Mandarin Grill was the highlight of our stay. Set dinner without beverages was included in the room rate. The atmosphere and environment was so pleasant, the attendants were so sensitive to our requests and needs. Food was good. Top notch restaurant.

Overall, this stay was very good!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ok_xin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear ok_xin

Thank you for choosing to stay in Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We are happy to note your positive observations; they are very motivating for our colleagues.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again for another remarkable visit.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location. The Club Room Deals offer great facilities and super value, especially if you have a large appetite.

One big tip though is to book your own tickets to go up the Petronas Towers, as the Box Office is only 3 minutes walk from the hotel.

Do not believe the Concierge when he tells you ....."that there has been a massive queue at the Box Office since 6am and all the tickets are sold out, but that he could still get you 2 tickets through an Agency for 410 Ringitts".

I simply went round the corner to the Box Office at 10:15am and bought tickets for 6pm the same day and at the face value of 120 Ringitts!!

Most of the people who were in the Box Office were Ticket Touts on the phone to Hotel Concierge taking their "Agency Orders" for the alleged sold out tickets!

Unfortunately, the Box Office staff are also in on the game, allowing the touts to go to the front of the line after they have taken their telephone orders.

Anyway, once you get there the tour is fantastic and excellent value (if you paid the face value) . Well worth the hassle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Petronas Tower View _ Spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear MRP14

Thank you for staying at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note about your comments on experience with our Concierge. Our sincere apologies for the miscommunication on ticket availability; we certainly do not condone the services of ticket touts who charge excessive fees. We have highlighted this matter to our Chief Concierge and remedial actions have been initiated to ensure there are no re-occurrences in the near future.

We look forward to having you at our hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,741 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
7,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Mandarin Oriental, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing