We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Nearby Hotels
US$160
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Impiana KLCC Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)
US$86
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$111
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$136
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,352)
Filter reviews
5,352 results
Traveller rating
3,959
995
242
92
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,959
995
242
92
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetronas towersmosaic restaurantthe club loungeklcc parkpark viewinfinity poolour honeymoonchinese restaurantluxury hotelwonderful hotelshopping mallbuffet breakfastbukit bintangmosaicsmoklheenkeiko
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,818 - 2,823 of 5,352 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in KL for a long weekend over Chinese New Year and picked the Mandarin Oriental based on location, reputation, reviews but also because we could get a room with a view of the Petronas towers for just under £200 a night which we felt was great value for a five star hotel. We were not disappointed!

The hotel was great - location is unbeatable and the views are fab. We opted to splash out on a fancy dinner at the MO Grill - a must!! It was outstanding - the food, atmosphere and decor are all fantastic. The hotel pool and jacuzzi are quite nice too, and as an added bonus there is an indoor golf simulator next to the spa so that husbands and boyfriends can enjoy themselves while their other halves get pampered - genius!

Overall highly recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lucystravels87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear lucystravels87

Thank you for the positive review and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are also glad that your boys had fun at our new Indoor Golf centre!

We look forward to having you with us again.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

At the beginning it was an ordinary start, which made me thought that this hotel is overrated. But the staff - Ms.Vee (lobby cafe) , Arif, Faisal, Kiran (at the concierge) changed my point of view about our experience.
Smart, personal service. (Congrads. MO management) Good location. Small but very good swimming pool for after shopping.

Dated, kind of small, but very O.K rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leylek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear leylek

We are happy to receive your compliments towards Vee, Arif, Faisal and Kiran which will certainly keep our team motivated at the highest level.

We appreciate your review and will take your feedback under consideration as we proceed with our room renovation plans. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We have occupied three bedroom apartament for our family. The apartaments are on low floors only. The cindition of furniture and interior were very bad for this kind of hotel. And as well missing such simple things like shoe spoon, converters or sockets adapted for different plugs. Swimming area dissapointing and unimpressive. The only thing is entrance and lobby look good.
Service is weird at least. When outside asked for limo service, the attendant asked to pay cash or go to reception and wait in line. I asked him to put it on my room bill he denied me. So I payed cash for the service.
Kitchen in apartments is old and unusable. Strange hotel I would say. Restaurants however serve good food and service is fine as well.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear L A

We sincerely regret to note the less than satisfactory stay you had with us and we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Our sincere apologies for the negative impression reflected and we are pleased to share that we have recently commenced the design stage of a complete guestroom and apartment renovation project that will complement the needs of discerning travelers such as your goodself.

We have also taken up the issue about transportation with our Head Concierge who has re-briefed his team on our regular standards to ensure hassle-free service.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel, next time for a more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Location is close to Petronas towers , a 15 minutes walk from raja chulan train station. Room was a little bit outdated with wooden furniture, old telephone... nevertheless, large enough for 2 people. Breakfast buffet quite good and the japanese restaurant too. Wifi not free even in the public areas ,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amexGosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear amexGosier

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to share that we have recently commenced the design stage of a complete guestroom renovation project that will complement the needs of discerning travelers such as your goodself.

In reference to the provision of complimentary WiFi service, we are pleased to share that due to the high costs of quality bandwidth in Kuala Lumpur, most hotels charges for WiFi accordingly. Guests who choose to stay on our Club Floors do receive complimentary internet access. On this note, our hotel provides by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city and once logged in, you may use up to 6 devices on your account. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group has recently launched an initiative in regard to WiFi costs whereby all bookings made via our website are inclusive of free WiFi for all the various packages available on our website.

Thank you for our patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Recently stayed here and thought the hotel size was overwhelmingly large - very conference oriented. The service was good but nothing spectacular, wasn't quite up to the usual Mandarin Oriental standard. The rooms were nice but a bit outdated, feel they could do with a bit of a facelift. Brilliant location, next to Petronas Towers. Great breakfast buffet and one of the best steaks I've had in South East Asia at The Grill. Definitely stay there but perhaps there's no need to go for the most expensive rooms because there are better for the same prices.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenOfTheOrchids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear QueenOfTheOrchids

Thank you for sharing your experience and we are delighted to receive your compliments on our outlets, namely Mosaic and Mandarin Grill.

Further, we are pleased to share that we have recently commenced the design stage of a complete guestroom renovation project that should restore your confidence in the design and style that Mandarin Oriental is renowned for.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews