We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better hotel in Kuala Lumpur, imposible!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 356 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My husband wanted to stay in a Mandarin-chain hotel during our honeymoon, so I used my contacts in order to get a cheap hotel accommodation at the Mandarin Oriental Kuala Lumpur :)

We arrived very late evening, around 23:00 and were super tired after a non-stop day! The kind front desk clerk was waiting for us and our room as well!! The room was huge with impressive views at the Petronas Towers and a tray full of fruit and 2 bottles of water. The bed was king size and super comfortable, we had a great sleep! The furniture was old fasihoned. Everything was super clean.
Next morning we woke up seeing the Petronas Towers, a fantastic way of starting a new day!
The breakfast was remarkable! You had all kid of food: Chinese, Indian, Occidental, Japanese, etc. We wanted to try everything since all food was delicious! All the waiters were super focusing on people and very polite.
The concierge was super cool and help us planning all the visits, trips, etc. And got us a very nice taxi diver!
After a day discovering the city we arrived at the room and after 5 minutes there, a hotel's worker came to the room to give us some chocolates, a bouquet for me and to prepare an awesome honeymoon-bath (you can see the pictures!!).
The rest of nights were amazing sleeping in that super huge and comfortable bed with that unbelivable views!
When we checked out the left the luggage at hotel and when we went back to pick the them, the concierge with a bellboy took them to the taxi.

In spite of I do not recommend to visit the city of Kuala Lumpur since, in my opinion, besides the Petronas Twin Towers, it is not ready for tourism (highways in the middle of te city, not really interesting places to visit, dirty place, taxis taking the advantage of you, etc). I really recommend this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: The standard rooms have not views to the Petronas, so I really recommend to pay an upgrade to those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Almireta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Almireta

Your review title “Better hotel in Kuala Lumpur, impossible!!!” is much appreciated. We are delighted to note that you were impressed with our service and had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are pleased to share that we have recently commenced the design stage of a complete guestroom and apartment renovation project that will complement the needs of discerning travelers such as your goodself and look forward to welcome you back to the hotel for another memorable stay.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,713 - 2,719 of 5,225 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

All you can expect from a top hotel in a super top location.
My room was a Deluxe City and it was very spacious and comfortable.
The rest of the hotel is also extremely pleasing. The lobby, the cafe, the restaurants, the gym and the pool .. ( infinity pool ).
The Spa is good too but I think slightly overpriced.
Overall is totally recommended.
Staff were very nice and helpful in any situation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UltimateDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear UltimateDancer

Thank you for your 5/5 review and kind recommendation of our hotel.

We note your comment on our Spa pricing and will consider your feedback during our regular pricing reviews.

We greatly appreciate your kind patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

A room that looks onto the Petronas towers is a must if you stay here.

Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed, we had access to a higher level lounge that served fantastic snacks and evening drinks. Despite its size the hotel did not feel overwhelming, it was easy to relax here.

For first time visitors the location is good, it's right on top of the city park and within relatively easy access of the more interesting and traditional districts. There is lots to do!

The service was impeccable and help with transport, suggestions for touristy days out and "local knowledge" was readily available.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a view of the Petronas Towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roughrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear roughrob

Thank you for your observations and great feedback which will certainly keep our colleagues motivated at the highest level.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for yet another enjoyable in the near future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Fantastic place, outstanding staff! Be sure to book the club lounge, ask for Tania at the reception for her bright sense of humor will make you feel right at home in seconds. Nice pool with overview over KL.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebelresearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear rebelresearch

We appreciate your positive feedback and praise towards Tania who is indeed one of our ‘Stars’!

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights . lobby and public areas felt opulent an luxurious - definitely looked the 5* part. our room was luxurious with a large marble bathroom and nice toiletries. Floor to ceiling windows give great views of the city. The pool area is well staffed and has a lovely infinity pool - unlike other hotels in Kl it is not in the middle of a construction site and overlooks green and lovely KLCC park . Right next to Suria mall and the Petronas towers and near to the pedestrian skyway that takes you all the way to Pavilion mall and Bukit Bintang shopping. Its in a much better location than the Shangri La .
We had a problem with our room on the first night but the management dealt with the problem quickly and efficiently to ensure that it did not spoil the rest of our stay. Mandarin Oriental proved that it truly is 5* and gave us the kind of customer service that other hotels often fall short on. Thankyou manager Danny Chong and your team for a memorable stay - the Mandarin is most definately KL's best hotel and we will return.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors are very quiet and have great city views. We overlooked KLCC Park. Ask for n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear snowieWales

Thank you for sharing your observations and great feedback. We appreciate your compliments for Danny Chong and his team.

My apologies for the inconvenience you had encountered on your first night and am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in KL for a long weekend over Chinese New Year and picked the Mandarin Oriental based on location, reputation, reviews but also because we could get a room with a view of the Petronas towers for just under £200 a night which we felt was great value for a five star hotel. We were not disappointed!

The hotel was great - location is unbeatable and the views are fab. We opted to splash out on a fancy dinner at the MO Grill - a must!! It was outstanding - the food, atmosphere and decor are all fantastic. The hotel pool and jacuzzi are quite nice too, and as an added bonus there is an indoor golf simulator next to the spa so that husbands and boyfriends can enjoy themselves while their other halves get pampered - genius!

Overall highly recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lucystravels87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear lucystravels87

Thank you for the positive review and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are also glad that your boys had fun at our new Indoor Golf centre!

We look forward to having you with us again.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

At the beginning it was an ordinary start, which made me thought that this hotel is overrated. But the staff - Ms.Vee (lobby cafe) , Arif, Faisal, Kiran (at the concierge) changed my point of view about our experience.
Smart, personal service. (Congrads. MO management) Good location. Small but very good swimming pool for after shopping.

Dated, kind of small, but very O.K rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leylek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear leylek

We are happy to receive your compliments towards Vee, Arif, Faisal and Kiran which will certainly keep our team motivated at the highest level.

We appreciate your review and will take your feedback under consideration as we proceed with our room renovation plans. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
10,231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
7,468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
4,488 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
1,011 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £125 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing