We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Luxury Hotel in the middle of KL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Luxury Hotel in the middle of KL”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

If you want it all go to the Mandarin Oriental in KL.

The location, the facilities (especially the pool), the brunch buffet are all extra ordinary.

You are right next to a huge high-end shopping mall. The mall, the Petronas towers and the hotel are directly connected. On the other side of the hotel is a nice lushes park.

The rooms are very spacious and furnished conservatively elegant.

We had some small issues with the concierge organized transportation and housekeeping. Nonetheless, the manager on duty made according generous concessions and proved that the Mandarin Oriental prides itself in great service.

Room Tip: Get a high up room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryBudgetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear LuxuryBudgetTravel

Thank you for sharing your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur experience and recommendation to the other travelers on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your kind description on our hotel’s facilities and service. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,428
    923
    222
    82
    50
See reviews for
927
1,778
268
1,078
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I told you this hotel is amazing.
We arrived around 07:30PM, the kind front desk welcoming us very nice
The room was spacious and for me the number one is very clean.
Next morning, we woke up and saw the petronas towers.
The location was perfect, close to the petronas tower..
Breakast totally great..
Many variant cuisine..
Can't wait to come back again next time... :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gendissafira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear gendissafira

We are honored to receive your compliments on our hotel’s facilities and service. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming back soon for another memorable stay.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar, Europe
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed there last June with my family - a group of 8, the youngest being 17. From the moment we walked into the hotel we were knew we were in for a treat! I will never forget walking into our rooms that night and finding that "spectacular" view with the twin towers almost within arms reach!…WOW!!! That will stay with me for the rest of my life! What a beautiful memory! The hotel room and bathrooms were spotless, very comfortable with lovely toiletries to pamper yourself with! The hotel staff were extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. Breakfast was absolutely out of this world! I have not had a better breakfast in any hotel to date.The food, the bar, the pool, jacuzzi…everything was "perfect". I would love to come back to Kuala Lumpur if only to stay in this hotel! My family has very good memories here! Thank you for that!

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast… it is out of this world!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear ChrisGib

Thank you for the 5/5 “Fantastic Hotel!!!” review.

I am most pleased to read that your family had a memorable stay and look forward to have your family back for yet another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here over New Year and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The hotel is well located, next to the Petronas Towers and within walking distance of the Bukit Bintang area. We arrived at around 9am and were able to check in to our room straight away, which is always a bonus. The hotel was very busy while we were there, but the staff at the pool always managed to find sunbeds for us. Service overall was fantastic, staff were always very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, there was an enormous selection of both western and eastern food that really set you up for the day. The room itself was very spacious, with a lovely large bathroom. Decor was a little dated, but the room itself was spotless. This is an excellent value Mandarin Oriental property and I would highly recommend it to both business or leisure guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Sarah P

We are delighted that you had a fabulous stay with us and found our location convenient.

Thank you for sharing your experience and kind recommendation on the hotel. Your comments regarding the hotel’s facilities and our staff service is much appreciated.

I am pleased to share that we have recently commenced the design stage of a complete guestroom and apartment renovation project and look forward to the pleasure welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Everything was perfect...
Almost situated in the twin towers, the view is amazing and the service perfect.
We enjoyed the fitness and the bar near to the swimming pool. The door men are really very kind and helpful! A must go in KL

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gigiroesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Gigiroesti

Thank you for your positive review and recommendation on the hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Perfect place! Perfect Service! Unbelievable breakfast! About breakfast, the funny thing was: Europeans enjoyed the great variety, especially the Asian specialties & flavours, while Asian women tried it the European style: Toast!

Our visit to KL started with a very warm welcome at the Manadarin Oriental! Reception Manager Tania realized that during our stay will be our daughter's 16th birthday, and she immediately promised she will organize a surprize for her. Of course she did and since our daughter had no clue, the surprize was twice as big! Thank you so much, Tania!

About the Hotel: simply perfect in every detail! Whatever you are thinking of: quality of rooms, restaurants, facilities, etc. It is classy! Service great! Location great! Our room showed to the Petronas towers: amazing especially by night!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear kikimoo

Thank you for a great review and praise towards Tania who is indeed one of our ‘Stars’!

Your comments regarding the quality of our hotel and the professionalism of our team is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My husband wanted to stay in a Mandarin-chain hotel during our honeymoon, so I used my contacts in order to get a cheap hotel accommodation at the Mandarin Oriental Kuala Lumpur :)

We arrived very late evening, around 23:00 and were super tired after a non-stop day! The kind front desk clerk was waiting for us and our room as well!! The room was huge with impressive views at the Petronas Towers and a tray full of fruit and 2 bottles of water. The bed was king size and super comfortable, we had a great sleep! The furniture was old fasihoned. Everything was super clean.
Next morning we woke up seeing the Petronas Towers, a fantastic way of starting a new day!
The breakfast was remarkable! You had all kid of food: Chinese, Indian, Occidental, Japanese, etc. We wanted to try everything since all food was delicious! All the waiters were super focusing on people and very polite.
The concierge was super cool and help us planning all the visits, trips, etc. And got us a very nice taxi diver!
After a day discovering the city we arrived at the room and after 5 minutes there, a hotel's worker came to the room to give us some chocolates, a bouquet for me and to prepare an awesome honeymoon-bath (you can see the pictures!!).
The rest of nights were amazing sleeping in that super huge and comfortable bed with that unbelivable views!
When we checked out the left the luggage at hotel and when we went back to pick the them, the concierge with a bellboy took them to the taxi.

In spite of I do not recommend to visit the city of Kuala Lumpur since, in my opinion, besides the Petronas Twin Towers, it is not ready for tourism (highways in the middle of te city, not really interesting places to visit, dirty place, taxis taking the advantage of you, etc). I really recommend this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: The standard rooms have not views to the Petronas, so I really recommend to pay an upgrade to those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almireta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Almireta

Your review title “Better hotel in Kuala Lumpur, impossible!!!” is much appreciated. We are delighted to note that you were impressed with our service and had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are pleased to share that we have recently commenced the design stage of a complete guestroom and apartment renovation project that will complement the needs of discerning travelers such as your goodself and look forward to welcome you back to the hotel for another memorable stay.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
9,657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
6,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
686 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Mandarin Oriental, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing