We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

First, it’s at the perfect location; part of the Kuala Lumpur City Centre complex that houses the Petronas Twin Towers, the convention centre, the KLCC Aquaria, a great park, the wonderful Symphony Fountain, the Suria Mall…..it’s all spitting distance from the hotel.

Second, it’s a Mandarin Oriental so the standards are exceedingly high and this particular property excels at meeting the MO standards. Service is near perfect, the dining is excellent, and property maintenance (especially for an aging hotel) is good. It’s elegant and it’s comfortable. Naturally it’s a busy hotel, which you’d expect of a MO in the city centre but for holidayers, it isn’t really intrusive.

The rooms you get are the park view, the Petronas towers view, and a city view. If you’re a holiday traveller go with your budget because however good the rooms and views are, you’ll want to be stepping out into a fairly happening city. If you’re a business traveller, anything on the club floors is fine.

There are plenty of dining options both inside the property as well as in easy walking distance, but the hotel’s Wasabi Bistro (California-Japanese cuisine) is worth a slightly expensive visit.

There’s been a lot of gripe on this forum about Wifi not being free and the GM has religiously been responding with the usual platitudes. However, online bookings, club floors and maybe some others get complimentary connectivity. For the rest, either go to Starbucks or pay the fee….not really worth getting annoyed about.

As a final word, staff at the Concierge desk are really helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeevDeRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear RajeevDeRoy

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and your kind explanation on our Wifi charges is much appreciated.

It is awesome to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s strategic location and surroundings attractions as well as our F&B outlets. Your kind feedback on our staff service, in particular our Concierge service will certainly motivate our staff in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

I truly appreciate your kind support towards the hotel and look forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,472
    931
    225
    82
    50
See reviews for
941
1,798
273
1,089
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and the hotel and the service were both amazing. We got a lovely drink on arrival and some flowers for me. The only downside was that the sauna and steam rooms are separated for the sexes, however that seems to be standard in Malaysia.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucyekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Lucyekay

I am delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us on this occasion and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Mandarin Oriental KL is the best hotel that we have ever stayed in, and the food selection is nothing short of AMAZING!!
The staff used just the right blend of friendliness, politeness, helpfulness and efficiency to make our stay in Kuala Lumpur a delightfully memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BILLnNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear BILLnNola

It is awesome that our staff had “Wow-ed” you on this occasion and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the near future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed at the mandarin Oriental hotel for the first time on my latest business trip. The hotel is very good, the friendliness of the staff superb and very genuine, the rooms are spacious as is the bathrooms. For work purposes the desk and chair are comfortable and has all you could need.
Room service food is also very good

If I was to mention one drawback it would be pricing - USD 6 for one soft drink - tip here is to go next door to SURIA and go to Cold Store and buy a couple of cans at USD 0.60 instead :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterTerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear PeterTerk

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us on this occasion and appreciate your kind comments on our service which will certainly motivate our staff to the highest level.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you to Kuala Lumpur.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Arrived 7am in morning, check in was only at 3, we were given a complimentary breakfast on arrival and checked into our room at 7:30am. Staff we excellent and went out of their way to accommodate us .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank R0naldGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear R0naldGreen

Thank you for your kind review and I am happy to note that you were well taken care of on your arrival at the hotel.

My team and I look forward to your return for another memorable stay in the near future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very nice luxurious hotel, very comfortable and with a very good location. It is the kind of hotel that makes you want to stay in the hotel the whole day. If you want to pamper yourself, it is worth staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Francisco A

Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to the pleasure of your return for another enjoyable stay in the near future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
7,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
725 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing