We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2009

A really well located hotel - right next to petrona towers. The hotel staff and housekeeping is excellent. The view is great. An excellent gym and very nice pool area as well. The rooms, however, do seem a little old fashioned and need to updated.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,786 - 3,792 of 5,007 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2009

We stayed at the Mandarin at the end of our SE Asia trip. We had begun our SE Asia trip in the Hilton which was spectacular and which we loved (see our review on that). The Mandarin was meant to be a final treat for our last 2 nights and it was terrible. As a few other reviews have said (which I stupidly ignored) it is badly, badly in need of a refurb. The swimming pool area and reception are OK - nowhere near as good as the Hilton but OK. The room was awful. We had a deluxe room overlooking the towers and it was like a Best Western from the 80s. Awful decor, terrible facilities/goodies and just a total lack of wow factor. We complained about the room and were given a corner suite which wasn't much better. So old fashioned, but not in a glamorous, faded glory kind of way - in a way past its best, shoddy kind of way. When I complained the manager on duty admitted that the Hilton was superior to the Mandarin as he used to work there and promised me that a big refurb programme was planned and was way overdue. I appreciated his honesty but it did make me feel like a chump for paying a lot of money to stay in a sub-standard hotel. We had a great time in KL but did regret not spending our final 2 nights in the Hilton! By the way Tamarind Springs restaurant was an amazingly romantic restaurant for our last night - highly recommended, unlike the Mandarin!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank libero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Its sad to say but the service in the UK is very poor compared to malaysian standards.
The MOKK was a wonderful hotel, excellent staff, all very helpful from the doorman to the lift boy and the maids. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Good size rooms, lovely barthromms and towels, and 2 robes each. Slippers to small for us UK fatties and the wardrobe space was lacking but overall a fine place to stay. Very close to an excellent shopping centre and train station. Go on treat yousrelf you only live once

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duncrieviedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

This is my firm's standard hotel in KL, and it's always a pleasure to stay here. Yes, once or twice the carpet could have used a replacement and the weights in the gym could use some updating, but what makes this hotel outstanding is the service and how well trained the staff is from top to bottom. They notice the details and take action- no empty smiles here. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepid88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

My wife and I stayed here for a week in February as part of a Malaysia tour. The location next to the Petronas Towers/KLCC Shopping centre is perfect. Book a Park View instead of a City View, the views are superb. Lovelly infinity pool/gym on the 4th floor, with complimentary iced water and fresh fruit at the poolside. The staff here are all amazing. After the first morning we were greeted by name and they remembered our seating area preference and seated us there daily without a prompt from us! We cannot fault the service, attention to detail and professionalism of all members of staff we dealt with. We have stayed in KL on 2 previous occasions at other 5* Hotels but the Mandarin Oriental is without doubt the best hotel in KL.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loppylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

My housband and I stayed here for 6 nights and payed 980 Euros for the entire period, for both of us, BB.

Location and acomodation: amazing, the hotel is almost pasting to the Petronas Towers. Also, it's next to the biggest and best mall, KLCC, only 50m distance. We had a standard room, the cheapest one, but was large, around 35-40 sqm, with a view on the city, pool and park in front. I can only imagine how are the other rooms and the view to Petronas Towers. They cleaned and changed all in the room every day, also we had fresh ice, water and fruits each day. Pool was another great thing, being suspended on the 3rd floor and having a great view on the park, city and KLCC. Rich breakfast, half asian, half international. So, great location, great room, great pool!

Services: great! Malaysians get an A+++++++++ for this. Always smiling, checking if you eat, drink and being treated ok. They give you suggestions where to go and what to see even if you don't ask. We took a car and driver from the hotel to be at our disposal for 5 hours, for 2 days. It was very cheap! And we visited places outside KL, going into the mountains or to the water park, 75 km outside KL. So, great services!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alinutza_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

If you are a regular traveller and you wish to enjoy normal hotels again, do not stay here!
If you are offended or upset by gorgeous food and drink served by the most attentive and charming staff I have ever met in my life, then this is not the place for you. If you don't want to be right next to the Petronas Towers and a delightful park then move on my friend. If you are allergic to large plush luxurious rooms then look elswhere. If you don't want to be spoiled and pampered then stay away! This hotel will set a standard that you will be hard pressed to equal anywhere in the world. . You have been warned!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
7,284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
901 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,249 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £117 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing