We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #49 of 353 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Another short business trip, seminar. 3 days stay. A really really big hotel, seems to have hundreds and hundreds of rooms
Can't complain about the rooms or the service. Was really quite spacious and the service very good. Complimentary wi-fi - as part of the deal.
What I didn't like was the food. The buffet spread during all the meals ( we had meal coupons for all the buffets)- were rather too Malay, and hence not much fun for me. I opted to eat out wherever possible- except of course during breakfast when it was not really an option.

That too was not very good. Funny incident, I opted for a boiled egg. Tried to crack it against my bowl,- it was raw- yuck ! A case of poor labeling. Lucky didn't spoil my dress.

Apart from that, the service was very good, and frankly the appetizers and snacks they served during the sessions were much tastier. I suppose to be fair to them, a buffet must cater to the usual clientele, and I guess an A-la-carte preparation would probably be good - but didn't get to try.

Will I stay there- not on my own money- not because it's not affordable- it is. It's just that in KL - you have so many other options, and I would prefer something slightly less formidable and huge.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMillenniumKL, General Manager at Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review.

As August is the month of Ramadan and Hari Raya for Malaysians, we wanted to introduce a bit of local flavor delights. Our chefs were pulling all the stops to really bring in the essence of Malaysia, we do apologize if it doesn't meet your taste buds. We've taken your comment into consideration and will plan our meal plan accordingly in the future.

Once again thank you and we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.


Sincerely,
Melvin Lim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

the main attraction of this hotel is its location...its at the doorstep of pavillion mall and the gateway to bukit bintang the best shopping district in KL.

the staff were average and the rooms were clean functional pretty large and well layed out

the only issue is the rates which fluctuate ,i have stayed at the hotel 3 times and all three times got a drastic different rate for the same room.i guess thats the luck of the draw
other than that no complains and would stay here anytime
the beds are fabulous and assure a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: hope for the cheapest rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaupai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Our room got upgraded upon arrival which is nice and spacious. It is on the lower floor so you just get a glimpse of the city skyline. The best thing about the hotel apart from the room , is the location. It is in the heart of Bukit Bintang area so everything is within walking distance such as the shopping mall and all sorts of eateries. Considering the location, the hotel lobby is still quite lively with people even past midnight.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmyusof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

One needs to strip away the years and imagine what this hotel was like 30-40 years ago when it was new and KL was a backwater. Now, imagine time passing by and the hotel just wearing down with no renovation. Jump 30-40 years and that is exactly what you get now.

On the plus side, it is a good location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthFrequent_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMillenniumKL, General Manager at Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and sharing your experience with us.
We are looking into refurbishment plans, hopefully it will be ready by the time you come back.

Once again thank you and we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Melvin Lim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The hotel was crowded & fully booked during our stay. As you enter you see the lovely lobby & a huge chandelier. The staff were friendly & the check-in process was fast. The room had a lovely viw to the pavilion mall & the patronas. However the room (especially the toilet) and the amenities were not great. Breakfast buffet was excellent with varieties & many options. The concierge staff were super efficient, helpful & informative

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkhateeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMillenniumKL, General Manager at Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we will take in your feedback in regards to the amenities and will look to improve it.

Once again thank you and we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Melvin Lim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I checked into the Grand Millennium Kl with my husband, 3 kids all under 6 years old and my over 60 year old parent-in-laws. the hotel is located in a very central location and is definitely impeccable in terms of accessibility to food, shopping and the night life.
However, what I wanted to share is really the experience at the hotel. I was greeted by wonderful reception when I checked in. Upon arrival, check-in went without a glitch. In fact, it was only at that point that we were informed that the hotel is offering us a free upgrade to the rooms. I was truly appreciative of that. After sorting out the neccessary at check-in, we were even personally guided to our rooms by the Guest Relations Officer. THANK YOU, YUKI!
The rooms? Wonderful! Imagine coming into a room with clean sheets, flat screen TV and a nice recline chair. Normal? You might say that. Add the following in then: aroma oils burning, personalised cards signed by the General Manager, Mr Melvin Lim to greet your whole family, a basket of fresh fruits, a nicely lined baby cot for baby with new fresh bed linen that comes with matching blanket, pillow and even saftely cot cushions! I am not done yet. The baby even has his own set of baby toiletries! How is that for service!
Everywhere we went, the lounge, the dining floors, we were greeted with smiles and warm gestures. My baby suffered a small cut on his tiny finger during breakfast and the whole crowd of servers and the manager all came by to ask how he was. We were truly touched.
To be honest, I was rather concerned when I read some of the reviews here about the hotel and was worried that what was shared would make this holiday trip a drag. To be fair, I truly think that due credit should be given to this hotel for making an effort to be different through the one asset that is of most important during an overseas stay: the people that forms the soul of a place. This place makes you feel that it is like a home away from home.
Sure, there is rust near the rinser at the bath tub, the taps are ancient looking and the furniture probably needs a fresh change but the smiles and ernest willingness to make one's stay here memorable was great. Ina, the waitress at the lounge shared with my husband and I her experience working on an exchange programme in Bali. Wadki ( sorry if I got your name wrong!) on the executive club floor served me the nicest cup of hot coffee at 11pm at night. Prompt housekeeping with a smile. These are the things that, to me, matters.I travel quite extensively with my whole family very often and I can truly say that this is one experience that I will always share with people if they are keen for a stay in KL.
Mind you, I did not afford a suite to share this experience. In fact, I paid for 2 normal rooms on early bird specials online.
I will definitely come back here again soon!

Room Tip: Drop the hotel an email and let them know your needs. They will try their best to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstherYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Super location right near Pavillion Shopping Mall and plenty of great bars, restaurants and nighlife right on the doorstep. The service is outstanding, the staff seem to pay attention to small details. The rooms are spacious and clean. The fitness centre has an excellent locker room with spa, steam etc which is great for unwinding after a long day. Price was VERY competitive compared to comparable properties in KL. Great for businessmen, and holiday makers who love shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mush5273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
#24 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
2,701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel and Residences
0.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
10,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
3,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur

Address: 160 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#25 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#28 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#29 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#45 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £81 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Bukit Bintang, Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur is an international five-star hotel nestled within the luxuries of the city’s fascinating Golden Triangle. Adjacent to the popular Pavilion Kuala Lumpur Shopping Mall and situated right across Starhill Gallery, Fahrenheit 88, Bintang Walk as well as Lot 10 Shopping Complex, the hotel is home to 468 spacious guestrooms including 16 suites, well-appointed with plush beddings, LCD TV and floor-to-ceiling windows that boast the city’s breathtaking skyline. A luxurious urban retreat, the hotel features an outdoor resort-style swimming pool, state-of-the-art fitness centre, holistic treatments at The Spa, four distinguished culinary options and 1,500 square metres of atmospheric meetings and events space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Grand Millennium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing