We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Shangri-La for the first three nights of our honeymoon in October 2012. Our room was upgraded so we would have a brilliant view of KL's skyline, including the Petronas Towers. We received flowers on arrival, baskets of fruit and chocolates, and even a free breakfast when we got there as the room wasn't immediately when we arrived. We felt very special!

The hotel has some great restaurants but it's fantastic location means that getting out for dinner is really easy too. If you like shopping, then you'll like the Suria mall which is only a five minute walk away - as are the Petronas and KL Towers.

We couldn't fault this hotel. The staff are ultra helpful, the breakfast is ridiculously good - so good we didn't even bother with lunch, and the pool provides a nice break from the city when you need it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seb28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,013 - 5,019 of 7,286 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Was treated to a lovely 'staycation' for a night recently as we were attending a Gala Event in the hotel on a Saturday night.

On check in I confirmed a non-smoking room but when I got to the room it really smelled badly of smoke. This was quickly recitified and we got a lovely Club Room (no Club Access unfortunately) with a lovely view of the nearby Twin Towers

The weather was not typical for KL as it was a wet afternoon so I abandoned my plans for a poolside lunch and retreated to the Japanese Restaurant with my book for a delicious Japanese Brunch Buffet. Great selection and service was lovely.

I used the in house beauty salon - wouldn't rate the experience highly but the final results were pretty good.

Breakfast the following morning was pretty typical Shangri-La - great selection (fab curry laksa), freshly prepared and though it was busy no long waits except at the egg stations which is normal as they are popular.

After checking out I realised I forgot my phone charger and called the hotel. Housekeeping confirmed they had it. I came back 2 days later to collect. Housekeeping told Concierge they didn't have it. After 20 mins waiting for them to check again he apologised and went and looked himself and returned with it after a few short mins. I found staff to be very helpful and friendly in general in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Having stayed a week at the Shangri-La in Singapore I had high expectations of this hotel and I was not disappointed. Its a stunning hotel and that strikes you as soon as you enter the lobby.

I had a Horizon Premier room which was smaller than the same type of room at the Shangri-La Singapore but that was the only noticeable difference. The room was as you would expect for a luxury hotel, very clean and well appointed. A very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, great views and everything a business or leisure traveler would need. Considering the rate its really fantastic value for a hotel of this caliber.

The pool is smaller than in Singapore too but its not too small and the Horizon Club lounge is really impressive.

The one thing that remains a constant with every Shangri-La hotel I have stayed at is the service is outstanding and this hotel is no exception. The staff everywhere were so welcoming, helpful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. I've said it before but the reality is its the staff that really make a great hotel and I couldn't speak highly enough about the staff at this hotel.

The location is good as its a comfortable walk to KLCC and close to public transport as well as shopping.

Its no accident that this hotel is ranked number 1 in KL and its easy to see why. If you want an experience you will treasure and value service of the highest quality then this is the hotel to stay at in KL. Great service, good location, value for money and exceptional rooms, there's no need to consider other options in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Consult_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We had an amazing 3 night honeymoon stay at the Shangri-La. We booked Premier room on executive floor and were upgraded and received flowers on arrival. The service was excellent, we loved the room and the hotel. The Executive floor was perfect, amazing breakfast, tea-time and cocktail hour. We really enjoyed everything. We even had Nespresso in the room. It was perfect honeymoon. Definitely would return!!!

Room Tip: Choose the executive floor, on Shangri-la web we got a great deal 3 nights for price of 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucikDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

i stayed 4 nights in this hotel, i booked a superior room which was amazing, the service is exellent, the staff are very helpful, breakfast was greattt, my room was very nice and elegant, the room size is good and location is very good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smaani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

A very comfortable stay in a top quality hotel, for a price that was very affordable from a western perspective. They looked after us really well, upgraded our room, and one morning I left my camera in the restaurant and they found it and successfully returned it to me. Highly recommended for a treat stay in SE Asia.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank londonjamie186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I stayed here at the end of October.The hotel is beautiful and my room came with some stunning views of the Petronas Towers as well as being very comfortable, tidy and spacious. Staff are very attentive and helpful and made the stay even better.

I would definitely stay here again if I came back to Kuala Lumpur and it comes very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KChan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
10,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
4,249 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
902 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £89 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing