We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I was impressed with the friendly staff, the cleanliness of the room particularly the bathroom. There was free daily bottled water, english newspaper and fast wifi internet. Great breakfast too at one of the restaurants. Indeed a memorable stay.
Edgar

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Edgar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,994 - 4,000 of 7,338 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband on a little holiday. It was our first trip to KL and this hotel was a beautiful retreat from the bustling, hot city. We paid about AUD 135 a night for the lowest grade room (I think they call it "Superior" or something) and it was just wonderful. Small but nicely fitted out. Bathroom had no bath but a double shower.

The breakfast buffet was about the most extensive I've ever seen and if you can find something here you like there is something seriously wrong with you! Malaysian rice and noodle dishes, made-to-order omelettes, French patisserie items, homemade granola, smoked salmon, sushi rolls, tropical fruit, yoghurt, exotic cheeses, dumplings... I could go on, and I'm salivating just thing about it.

The best thing about this hotel is the amazing world class service - it was flawless. The outdoor pool area is a gorgeous oasis and you get decent cocktails from the bar. Didn't have a drink in the hotel lobby bar but wish I did as it looked great... typical 5 star Asian hotel... lots of chandeliers and bling,lots of ambience.

There is a constant stream of Ferraris and Lambourghinis parked out the front to reassure guests they are staying in a world class hotel ;)

Location-wise the hotel is a little out of the way of the main shopping/dining hotspots, but only a 10-15 min walk. Getting a taxi around KL can be a nightmare, especially around peak hour so best to stay here if you're a walker. If you get a chance have dinner at La Vie En Rose around the corner.

Room Tip: The most basic room is still pretty spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissPuffK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is a beautiful, beautiful hotel and it is definitely verging on six star quality and service.

The service was stellar throughout the hotel, and as we booked the limo to and from the airport, I was blown away, particularly on the way out, where we were not just dumped at the door of the airport, we were guided through check-in, and right up to security! Have I been living under a rock? I've never had such amazing service anywhere. We certainly got some quizzical looks from other airport users...

The whole hotel is stunningly opulent, in great shape and the room was large and beautifully appointed. The bed sheets deserve a special mention as they were the best I've ever slept in... Gorgeous cotton sateen that was soft as silk.

The lounge bar was lovely, a pity that smokers get the prime seats near the window though. I had the Martinez cocktail as a nightcap after dinner and it was veeerrry good.

We had dinner in the Chinese restaurant and it was outstanding, the mixed BBQ plate in particular really hit the spot for flavour, great textures and quality.

The breakfast buffet is up there with the best I've ever been to - possibly in the number one position... They have a vast range of breakfast options to cater for every taste and it is all superbly prepared. I could easily spend a couple of hours there devouring my own body weight in multi-cultural breakfast items. The coffee was also excellent.

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. You will love it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunAndFoodSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Shang KL few times and it continues to pleasantly surprise me with its consistent service level. The rooms and amenities are top grade and as the Shang advertises it makes it's customers feel welcome, always. While a hotel can look grand the staff is what it's all about especially for people like us who travel on business - short visits and stressful meetings. The place we stay should not add to the stress but rather be able to take the stress away and the Shang does exactly that.

All the very best to the wonderful staff and a big thank you as well.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank ShanakaRSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Have stayed many times and it is like coming home. Staff food facilities are exceptional. Brought the whole family for xmas one year. Can throughly recommend it to one and all. See you again soon, we will be back

Room Tip: Go the club room, it is a wonderful experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Pinkertons0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Shangri-La for three nights during our recent trip to KL in September. The service was friendly and efficient, and our room was beautiful and comfortable. We enjoyed the wonderful variety for breakfast with the buffet, and we particularly enjoyed the service and food at Shang Palace. Overall we would highly recommend and happily return!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photosnfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This lovely hotel is fast becoming our second home in KL. We LOVE it here and you will as well!
One cannot beat the hotels central location, beautiful gardens, pool area, welcoming foyer, bar with live music and the choice of many restaurants.

We enjoyed yet another stay in a spacious and luxurious room which provided a peaceful and relaxing holiday. We were spoiled at the Horizons Club lounge with the delicious breakfast, afternoon tea and pre-dinner cocktails and canapes. All delicious and varied in choice.

Each member of staff at this hotel are worthy of high praise - from the room and pool attendants to the concierge and especially ALL the staff at Horizons.The staff make the hotel what it is! Friendly yet highly professional, they go out of their way to make each of their guests feel special. We were there at a very busy time with a Presidential visit and yet we were all treated like VIPs!

We stayed during my husbands birthday and were really touched by the efforts made to make his birthday fun. Every detail was taken care of with special treats and surprises such as cake and chocolates, a birthday waffle cake at breakfast time, dinner bookings taken care of at the fabulous Lafitte! French cuisine - as good as one would get in Paris!
We really appreciate the efforts made by Zie and all the fantastic staff at Horizons for yet another delightful stay, and for making my husbands birthday memorable and extra special.

If you are trying to choose where to stay - just treat yourself, stay here and include the Horizons Club!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmumSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,076 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,317 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
937 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £90 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing