We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

There are numerous hotels in KL, and I guess the reason for this Shangri-La as one of the best hotel is its outstanding service. Every time we contact the hotel, either front desk, or concierge or at taxi stand, the staff there are efficient and helpful. Their service just made you feel comfortable, not too attentive nor too desolate.

The hotel is pretty dated, but it maintains a good shape. The room is relatively small, but the design is so thoughtful that every thing is placed neatly for easy usage. I love the nice comfy bed & strong shower in the bathroom too.

It is a value for money for a 5-star hotel with 5-star service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,981 - 3,987 of 7,331 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great hotel, close to the KLCC, very clean rooms, nice and friendly staff, a warm welcome and very attentive. We decided to stay at this hotel because its very close to all the major attraction in kuala lumpur. We had a great time and will surely recommend to our friends who travel to this part of the world.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room which is quite spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. From your review of our hotel, we are glad to note that you are happy with our services. All of us at Shangri-La Kuala Lumpur look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The overall experience of staying at the Shangri-la was truly one to remember.
The breakfast alone deserves 5 stars. The central location of the hotel makes it so easy to visit the KL tower and the petronas twin towers. The friendly staff are to be congratulated. Thank you for a wonderfull stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank 31martinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel may be old, but the management has done a really great job at keeping the hotel spotless. The hotel room was great -- good bed linen, reliable internet connection (the speed was however a bit on the low side) and the showers were strong and hot. There were multi-adaptor plugs in the room.

The gym was the real gem -- it's massive. The largest I've seen among all the hotels that I've stayed at. The equipment was practically new and very well kept.

I was also surprised at the speed of the check-in. It was fast, hassle-free, and I was asked right at the outset: "Would you like a late check out?"

Impressed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alansoon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

although it´s not a brand new building, the hotel provides excellent facilities and very good service and value for money. Just a few steps from the Petronas towers, location is perfect.
rooms are comfortable and quiet, nice amenities and room service is efficient and fast.
the pool is not big, but it has all you need.
the restaurants are just great, from casual to fine dining
the lobby is the center of the hotel, great atmosphere, live music in the evenings, and a meeting point for afternoon coffee and tea.
and yes, free wifi :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

First time stay in KL this place was outstanding in all areas food, location, rooms, help full staff, nothing is a problem in house, one point to remember don't use a debit credit card to checking with as these cards seem to have problems working one way or another, many of you would know this already. Do not hesitate to check these guys out, will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Decided to stay here based on it being rated travellers choice #1 in KL, location was good, close to everything. Staff were good.. But really didn't rate the experience much... Ambience is well dated, I guess catering to mainly Asian market it's more suited to them, but as a mid 30's traveller.. Mhee

Have stayed at other places of lesser rating and found the facilities way far better.

Buffet breakfast - lost of choices but average

Day spa - now for a five star hotel, I expect the best service... Room smelled, cupboard had a cockroach run over my clothes. Robe I had to dress into didn't smell fresh... Oil used smelled more like olive oil and stuck to my skin for days! For the price I paid was not worth it.

Pool - yeah I know it's a hotel in the city but this pool definitely old looking and smallish for my liking

Gym - ok, this get an excellent rating for me!!!

Room - bed a little to hard, channels on tv very limited, room service gets a big tick from me!

Lemon 2go - fab!! Sandwiches, pastries and coffees along with the staff.. Excellent all round

Front desk - helpful and friendly

Would I stay here again? For the price no.. Didn't live up to my expectations

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vixby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur. We have taken note of your unpleasant experience at the Spa and all your comments have been looked into. We are happy to note that you found our gym to be excellent. Thank you. We do hope that you will accord us another opportunity to prove our service to you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,066 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,306 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
931 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £90 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing