We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Hotel experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I was truly impressed by the attention of detail this hotel made on our visit. I was pleasantly surprised when I was given a birthday cake during my visit and even as far as the chef making my favourite dish which wasn't on the menu. I have been to many hotels but I have to admit the Shangri-La experience is truly unbeatable. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,939
    1,317
    344
    72
    48
See reviews for
1,227
2,928
410
1,251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is our third year in a row at the Shnagri-La in KL , just read all the reviews as they are spot on accurate . Do yourself a favor , upgrade to a Horizon Room and you won't be sorry . You have a choice of dining for breakfast in the buffet dining room or at the Club , also Afternoon tea and 2 hours for happy hour nightly form 5-7 . Most likely you won't need to dine on anything else with all those options .

Room Tip: Horizon Club .. do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just returned from a 9 day holiday in KL and stayed in the Shangri LA, after it being recommended to us by a friend. To say this place is incredible is an understatement. From the welcoming smiles when arriving to attention of every little detail is second to none. Check in was very quick and helpful information given to us re getting to know the city and things to see and do. Also things to avoid. (not that there were many) - The rooms were lovely and extremely clean, with complimentary bottled water and with an assortment of fresh fruits . Breakfast/lunch and dinner at the Cafe was fabulous, In fact we ate there most of the time is was THAT good. Blue Taxis out the fron of the hotel will take you anywhere for a great price. they are metered taxis. Please avoid, unless desperate, the other cabs. very aggressive people who will annoy the hell out of you and rip you off. All our day tours were done with TOUR EAST and they were faultless.
We travel all around the world but this was our first time to Malaysia. It definately wont be our last and we can not wait to get back to the Shangril La. Congratulations to management and staff for making this a place to remember. Your friendliness and service is a credit to you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shopoholicAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Malaysia. We thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel and our staff. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent a couple of nights in Shangri-La Kuala Lumpur in December 2013.

This hotel met and even exceeded our expectations in every way. From the moment we stepped out of the taxi we felt welcome and the staff were very efficient in checking us in.

The room was very nicely decorated and in extremely good state of maintenance and cleanliness. Efficient and quiet airconditioning, very comfortable bed and well equipped bathroom.

Our rate included buffet breakfast and that was certainly one of the best ever hotel breakfasts I have ever experienced. The choice is unbelievable ranging from Indian curry to a chocolate fountain and pretty much everything in between.

The lobby bar is also nice although the drinks are on the pricey side.

I have to give a special mention to concierge services who took excellent care of us ranging from restaurant recommendations to arranging a taxi to the airport (which even turned out to be cheaper than the standard airport taxi rate).

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments for our concierge service. I will certainly pass on your compliments to my chief concierge and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We moved on to Kuala Lumpur after a disappointing stay in Shangri-La Rasa Ria Resort in Kota Kinabalu

Shangri-La Kuala Lumpur did not disappoint. It was Shangri-La as we remembered.

Although we booked an Horizon Club room, we did not take advantage of the Club lounge. Too tired after a day sightseeing to change as we were told they had a strict dress-code.

The room was nicely decorated and very clean. Bathroom was excellent. One day we went out and inadvertently left the ‘do not disturb’ light on, so of course our room was not serviced. A call to housekeeping and this was soon rectified as we checked out the pool.
The pool is a welcoming oasis after a day in the humid city. We were greeted by a member of the pool staff who found sun-loungers for us, arranged them to give us shade and then brought over fruit and a jug of iced water.

Breakfast was first class, catering for every need. We did not know there were so many different varieties of noodles!

If ever we return to Kuala Lumpur, we would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure being of service to you and we thank you for the beautiful review of our hotel and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a Horizon Club room on the 3 for 2 promotion which we would thoroughly recommend for all the benefits on offer. We arrived at 7am to a delightful welcome by all the staff. We were offered breakfast and our room was ready soon afterwards- what a bonus! On our departure we could still use the privileges of the Horizon Club as we had a late flight. 0ur room was spacious with lots of extra touches and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were all extremely pleasant and all strive to give an excellent service. We used Reliance Sightseeing for a 3 hour city trip around K.L. booked through the concierge. A mini bus with guide and driver and we were the only passengers. The company only work from the Shangri la. We had a brilliant informative tour of the city much better that the hop on off bus would have been for MR 130 each, very reasonable.
Shangri la is a beautiful hotel in a very central location. Your #1 position is very well deserved.

Room Tip: Book a Horizon Club room. The benefits are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 571Anhe571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for three nights at the end of our trip to Malaysia. Check in took a little while but it was efficient and business like. Missed the welcoming touch of a glass of bubbly that we have experienced at other city hotels on trips to the far east. We were shown to our room and to be honest felt a little disappointed. Guess we had been spoilt by previous hotels on this holiday! The room and bathroom, although clean, were both small and although we were on the 10th floor there was not an inkling of a view, we overlooked a tatty high rise building. Breakfast choice was excellent, great curries and beautiful breads, cakes and pastries, in addition to every other sort of food you can think off. It was a shame that the table layout at breakfast did make us feel as if we were eating in a canteen rather than a top class hotel. The coffee machine and take away coffee cups outside the restaurant at breakfast time were a nice touch. We enjoyed our afternoons lazing by the pool where the staff were really helpful in moving sun beds for us and it was lovely to have a jug of iced water and apples brought to our sun beds. On our last day I had a foot massage by the pool which was really relaxing (we did have to go and remind the staff in the spa that we had booked this as they didn't come to us at the original booking time). The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the city being only a five minute walk from the Petronas Towers and two minutes from the hop on/hop off bus, the subway and the monorail. Enjoyed eating street food. Would highly recommend having cocktails at Traders Hotel overlooking the Petronas Towers as the sun sets, an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonbather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for your review of our hotel and all issues highlighted by you have been looked into. We certainly look forward to another opportunity where we can be of service to you and exceed your expectations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing