We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favourite Hotel”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have been coming to this hotel now for about 20 years. There was a period when it went downhill and I sampled other hotels, but it is back up to its best again and has been for a few years now and I have returned as a customer. From the moment you step out of your car to the moment you leave, you are made to feel special. I stayed in a Horizon Club room this time and that is well worth the extra cost.
The Shan Palace is my wife's favourite Chinese restaurant in the world though, I must admit we were not so impressed with the Lafitte restaurant. The Lemon Garden restaurant, however, offers one of the best breakfasts you will get anywhere.
The hotel is perfectly placed for sightseeing and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Bobfalconer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your returned patronage and thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. We are so happy to note that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us at the Horizon Club. It is indeed our pleasure to be of service to you and your wife and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,058
    1,351
    347
    76
    48
See reviews for
1,263
2,992
418
1,282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A resort-like holiday in the heart of the city...amazing pool with strong wifi even in the pool area ...relaxing massage by the pool.... great variety of super delightful-cuisine. The friendly service of multi-racial staff ...truly amazing!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kheman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have travelled to KL 8 times in the last 18 months. I get the Hotel Limo to pick me up from KLIA. $100 aussie, comfort, cool refresher towel, mints, bottles of water, local paper and in car wifi, what else could you ask for?? I generally get a Horizon Club Suite which is gorgeous, and compared to an Australian hotel cheap as chips.
There a 3 top class restaurants, plus a buffet restaurant, and my favourite place, Arthurs bar & Grill. The staff in here are awesome, I particularly look forward to seeing the looks on their faces when I walk back in on another visit, I can't believe they remember what I like to drink! But not just the Arthurs staff, all of the staff in the hotel are very friendly and extremely courteous, no matter what their position.
I use the Health club nearly every day I am there, the equipment is always well maintained and the place is spotless. If you feel like a relaxing massage, ask for Shirley.
Although I stay in Horizon Club I always have breakfast in the Lemon Grass Cafe, top quality & the best variety I have had anywhere around the world.
The Shang is also close to a number of good KL nightspots and a casual 10min walk to KLCC or 5mins in a cab to Pavillion.
I will be back again later this year.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker be sure to ask for a non-smoking floor. The rooms on the smoking floors do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunW1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us each time when you visit Kuala Lumpur. Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel, especially regarding the staff at our restaurants. I will certainly pass your compliments to Shirley at the Health Club and all our staff at the hotel. It was indeed a pleasure to have been of service to you and we certainly look forward to your return to our hotel later this year. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

In February we made the long voyage to Australia with a two night stop in KL. On our arrival at the hotel we were l greeted by very staff and a massive horse made out of flowers to celebrate the year of the horse. At check in the staff were very friendly and efficient, the room was very spaces with flowers, fruit complementary water. The two king size beds were very comfortable and the view from the tenth floor was fantastic but the piece de resistance was the Buffett Breakfast, it was the biggest layout we have ever seen and a wonderful variety catering for every taste possible as I left the Restaurant I was planning my next Breakfast. The pool area is great with towels, fruit and drinking water provided free

Room Tip: Try to get a room above the tenth floor for the outstanding views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and took on the Horizon Club deal. Ive stayed at other various 5 star hotels and would say this best out of all them. The customer service is excellent so was the room and the layout of the hotel. I enjoyed there nice massive hotel gym which is quite big for a hotel! During our stay we went to Arthur's Bar & Grill which is on the level 1 of the hotel which was quite nice. Overall the our stay was spectacular and i would recommend anyone to stay here!

Room Tip: Horizon Club package is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Micheal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Excellent hotel, as with all the Shangri-las we’ve stayed in. Really pleased we went for the Horizon Lounge option; comfortable, excellent happy hour with drinks and delicious canapés.
Rooms clean, well appointed, comfortable and quiet; staff charming and attentive. Pool a bit small if the hotel is full. Good location for getting to central parts of KL.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comment regarding the pool has been duly noted. It was a pleasure being of service you and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Shangri-La is worthy of its number one ranking, a great property. I fully agree with other comments, the location in KLCC, walking distance to Suria (Petronas) and Pavillion shopping centres is ideal. Make sure you upgrade to the Horizon Club it is well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noirien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,497 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing