We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 2nd Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our 2nd Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stopped in KL for a couple of days. Having stayed previously at the Shang Ri La in Australia and a member of their rewards program, the discount on the suite was a great deal. The combined access to the club area for breakfast and afternoon drinks added to the value. Great hotel friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend and will stay with them again. You will get cheaper accommodation but will you get a better experience ?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,002
    1,335
    344
    73
    48
See reviews for
1,251
2,963
413
1,262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
296 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Wouldn't stay anywhere else in KL and I love this hotel and the view of the skyline & towers from the rooms (although you will need to book a room with a view). The staff, the rooms, the location all fantastic.

The pool is the ideal place to relax and get out of the heat. Drinks in the lobby lounge were great and the service excellent. You can wind down after busy day in KL at Arthur's Bar and Grill.

The hotel has numerous restaurants and there's always plenty of taxis outside to allow easy access across the city.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Since discovering the Shangri La chain of hotels about six years ago, I now stay in them whenever possible. The one constant that you can be certain of when staying in these hotels is that you will never be disappointed. This hotel certainly, didn't disappoint.

Service, food, staff and high level of customer service this hotel offers in abundance, we had a Horizon Club Executive suite which was amazing. The breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails and canapés all first class.

This truly is a five star hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay in a Horizon Club room excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent a couple nights in the Shangri-la as a transit on our way to Thailand. Was very good in many respects: room was generous and very comfortable, hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, was reasonable location for shops. It's probably a 20-30 minute walk to the main few shopping places.

If you want a little more up market go to Pavillion, good range and reasonably well priced. If you want huge amounts of cheaper stuff go to the large one by the bang buntak monorail station. If you want electrical go to Loy Fa .... I probably have the names wrong but close.

We didn't find any restaurants initially so had dinner in the hotel which was a little ordinary, but the next day found a good selection a few minutes walk ... Also there is a good bunch of food places in the Pavilion which is a 10-15 minute walk. Breakfast was very good although a little pricey in KL terms ...

Overall pretty good and I would not hesitate to stay there next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OyOyOy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Purchased a deluxe room with king bed for 3 nights mid April - breakfast buffet included.

Given the class and expectations surrounding our stay we were a little disappointed on approach because of the knarl of hap-hazard vehicle parking surrounding the outside of the entrance and walkway to this building. Unsafe to walk and an eye sore, no matter how expensive the cars. Suggest that valet's utilize parking spots away from the entrance to better showcase the appeal of the hotel because the rest of the experience was toe curdlingly exquisite!

Staff were adept at multi-lingual service excellence. The room was a posh cocoon from which to emerge and retreat daily. Room facilities were prime - bathroom clean with lots of water pressure and ample towels. I love turn-down service. The breakfast at the Lemon Garden Cafe was a gourmet sampling of asian, polynesian, and continental dishes cooked to perfection - they had an army of chefs specializing in customer interface and decadent service. Foodies take note! no disappointment here to be found.

Spa was a hidden den of recovery with water, steam and massage / reflexology treatments. Pool area was a nest within the busy city, beautifully designed with a menu of treats of no lesser quality than what we found our new breakfast location.

Lounge facilities and views were serene and sublime - the scale of the rooms and decor alone lifted our spirits and the gardens set them free to roam. Cocktails and cafe's perfectly garnished and savored pleasantly from this place in the evening or between breakfast and lunch.

Wonderful wonderful stay. LRT of two lines within easy walking distance. Nightlife and western style pubs and shopping, as well as bukit bintang walk an easy 5 minute cab or train ride from the hotel.

Only drawback is that for group events during the week and receptions during the weekend, there is an overbearing human and vehicle traffic at the entrance and exit - disturbs the overall experience. I notice that the hotel has a separate entrance to these facilities, but it's not being used at the expense of customer overall satisfaction I might add. This spoils the mirage a bit.

Would definitely stay again, not only here but wherever the brand is... makes a poet of this pauper - and I believe that's what the point is.

Room Tip: Deluxe will get you a room on a high floor but I can't imagine the rooms over-all would be much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UmairR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have also taken note of the comments raised by you and would like to assure you that they have been looked into. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Don't bother staying anywhere else, with a family of two adults and 3 young children, we all stayed in the premier suite on the 24th floor (facing the towers), the service, staff, breakfast are all top class, we also were part of the horizon club, it's well worth it, after a long day out we would relax in the afternoon with a drink and canapés.
It's the best hotel I have stayed at, and on recommendations from other trip advisors I can say its an experience all on its own, my kids wanted to eat in the room rather than going out as the food was that good!
It was our first time in KL but it will not be the last time I stay at the Shangri-la !
Big thank you to all the staff making our Easter break very enjoyable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_Family0f5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Friendly and helpful staff; amazing choice at breakfast; extremely comfortable rooms - no noise problems, good air con, good view, curtains that totally blocked out light, good shower, good bed, light switches that were easy to use, good range of power sockets at the desk, kettle in room, and no hidden charge for Wi-Fi. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank SteveFromSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing