We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stopover hotel in KL.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent stopover hotel in KL.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights in April on our way home from Langkawi, Australia and Bali. Trailfinders booked the hotel for us so we knew it would be of a reasonable standard, but it was excellent. A huge skyscraper of a hotel, with massive impressive lobby, shops, restaurants of different styles, cocktail bar, gardens, swimming pool (which we didn't get round to swimming in - such a shame!), spa treatments etc. etc. etc.

I didn't realise staying in a hotel in Kuala Lumpur would mean an hour's taxi ride to and from the airport as I imagined it to be much nearer, so you need to factor this in when arranging an early flight home in the morning. We popped over to see the Petronas Towers the first night we arrived but realised you have to be there very early in the morning for tickets if you actually want to go up the towers and you only go so far up anyway - think it was the 18th floor (possibly you can prebook on line - not sure). Of course, KL is all about the shopping malls something like 300 of them in total and more being built at the moment. Not being a huge shopper, we decided to do the afternoon city tour the next day, which was interesting and basically showed you all the main sights of the city. We also popped down to Chinatown one evening by taxi for a walkabout and to see the vast range of fake designer goods. Just remember to haggle a lot or they will rip you off if you are buying and try going to the very back stalls for cheaper prices - that was our experience anyway. We dined twice in Shangri-La's Arthur's Bar and Grill which was fine - not gourmet by any means, but reasonable food and not too expensive. We also had a cocktail in the lobby bar after a day of sight-seeing which was nice watching the comings and goings in reception. The concierges are great - very helpful, and booked the city tour for us. The breakfasts were fantastic in the Lemon Tree Cafe - the choice was phenomal - buffet style of course but everything from your full cooked English to Malaysian and Indian curries, chinese noodle section, fruits of all kinds with yoghurts, juices in jugs on ice, smoked salmon, bagels, cold meats, cheese board, eggs of every description including boiled ones for 2 mins or 4 or 6 or 8/10!!!!!, gluten free section, full bakery section of breads, croissants, cakes and various delicacies - I could go on, but I can't remember it all - it was just fantastic. Most people were wading through various courses for breakfast - great to set you up for a day's sightseeing in KL.

Our room was amazing, very large and comfortable, with a massive bed - you could have slept an entire family in there!!! It literally had everything you could possibly need for a great stay. We definitely enjoyed The Shangri La.

Room Tip: If you don't like heights choose a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cowbridgelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,002
    1,335
    344
    73
    48
See reviews for
1,251
2,963
413
1,262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I started my search for hotels in KL about 6 mths in advanced. I decided to stay at 2 hotels during my 1 week stay & i chose the Majestic hotel for the 1st hotel. Somehow i cannot decide between Mariott or the Shangrila for the second hotel. Mariott for its location which is unbeatable hands down or Shangrila for the service that i have been reading so much about it at Tripadvisor. After much "back & forth" i decided on the Shangrila because i really do want to experience its well known service & warmth. Unfortunately, that magic did not happen for us. We arrived at Shangrila from the Majestic hotel at noon & had booked the club room. We were swiftly directed to check in at the Horizon Club lounge. 1st impression: Beautiful. Rooms were not ready, & we were offered an upgrade which i declined. I did not need the room immediately and was ok to wait as i wanted to go out anyway. So far so good. When i returned to the hotel & got to my room at abt 9pm, unpacked, showered and then we realised that the aircon was not working. We asked for help, help came & we were told that we need to change our room as aircon was faulty. The entire process of room change took more than 30mins. I understand that the staff were trying their best to get the room ready but It was stressful for me as i have a 9mths baby who was already asleep, a 3 yr old that i kept telling not to sleep yet & a 7 yr old who was getting cranky. The process of packing right after unpacking & then unpacking again was annoying. Brekkie at lemon garden was ok. I overheard a staff uttered a word of annoyance when a guest at the next table requested for something. It kinda made me feel uncomfortable as i understood the language. Staff were not attentive enough. They sure looked too busy to give that extra edge of service. We didnt really use the club lounge that much although they have a nice family room. The whole stay all in all was ok - but you see, the problem is, i had such high expectations after reading so much about Shangrila. My stay at the Majestic was flawless & the experience from the start to the end was breathtaking. Everything felt so personalised. The warmth that you feel is genuine & i was sad to leave. I cheered myself up as i was heading towards shangrila but too bad, i did not get to experience the magic. I found the location not friendly for families with strollers - if u are walking to pavillion/klcc etc. i would rather pay more and stay at the Mariott. In my opinion, the majestic hotel tops the list in terms of service. A truly charming hotel. In terms of location, for a family with young kids, prob the mariott or westin is better.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HuUUuH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. We are very disappointed to learn of your unpleasant encounter with the check in. All your comments have been noted and action taken to ensure that there will be no such recurrence in future. We thank you for your constructive comments as it is only through them that we are able to improve our services to our clients. We do hope that you would accord us another opportunity to prove our services to you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

From the pick up at the airport (car had wifi) to the check-in (paperless tablet no waiting at reception) and throughout the stay I could not fault the Shangri-la. The ambience in the reception near the glass walls looking onto the pond like fountain is fabulous and so relaxing. The staff are a dream - I cannot compliment the hotel enough. It's a must for any traveller who enjoys exquisite service. It also has a great pool, spa and gym....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Shahid1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Perfect in every aspect; rooms, cleanliness, services, food etc.. There was nothing to complain about. The staff are great at anticipating the needs of their guests and providing suggestions accordingly. I tried the spa and got one of the best massages I ever had, highly recommended. My only comment would be about their breakfast offerings, I think they lack a bit in international food and concentrate a lot on typical Asian breakfast which can be challenging when you have kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayyouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. We also would like to thank you for your beautiful review of our hotel. We are indeed happy to be of service to you and am glad to learn that you have enjoyed your massage very much. We have also taken note of your comment regarding on the breakfast issue and would strive to improve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stay in Shangri -La only just a few hours, in a short break between the planes. The room was very nice, we were upgraded to a executive room with a beautiful view. The reception was very pro and very fast check in process. Also they give us some indication referring the area. In the morning we have a very good breakfast buffet, with many dish to choose. It surely worth the money(15 euro/person). The hotel has also a very beautiful garden. we would definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This is where we spent the last 2 night of our holiday after travelling through Hong Kong , Macau and Langkawi. And it was by far the best.
Staff were most attentive , polite , great rooms . Clean , good amenities . Comfortable beds. Free newspaper everyday .
Buffett breakfast was one of the best I have ever had. Every imaginable food you could think of. And a chocolate fondu fountain in the middle .
I could finally enjoy a cup of English breakfast tea . That I had been longing for since I left home .
Pool area was clean. Pool staff were great walked us to our au beds and layed out our towels for us.
Location was about a 10 minuet walk from the towers .
Close to restaurants and local bars . Taxis a Pleanty . And the hop on hop off bus stop about a 5 minuet walk.
And the best thing was that due to a little mishap with us missing our flights we were given a free extended checkout . Couldn't be more thrilled . Thank you very much appreciated

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank delishldish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Some of the highest service standards you will get any where. Horizon Club excellent value with delicious with variable selections. The staff in the lounge that looked after us on three visits,Yati Mus and Mohd Shah were delightful and made us feel right at home. Congratulations to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank MrJon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing