We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The shangri-la in KL has thought of everything; the rooms are fantastic, the location is great, and the restaurants at the hotel are amazing. The room service is some of the best I've ever had at a hotel. It's also one of the priciest hotels in KL but you can see why, no expense is spared.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,939
    1,317
    344
    72
    48
See reviews for
1,227
2,928
410
1,251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

On a 10 hour stop over in KL after looking round the somewhat limited historic centre, we went to the Shangi La with 5 hours to kill in search of good food and a drink. Despite the lobby restaurant in full post-fasting Ramadan swing with families celebrating the break of the fast, we we're welcomed, shown the menus of the various restaurants and we ordered a drink. The staff were particularly helpful in our quest for a local meal. Once we had googled and made a couple of calls and failed to secure a table. W opted for the lemon garden restaurant in the Shangri La where we had a very tasty dinner (chicken satay, prawns in peanut sauce, black cod in soy and ginger sauce and noddles with seafood) served by charming personable staff. F
Fitted our requirements for a local meal without fuss.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quintessimma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Have just stayed again at this great hotel (2nd time this year). This is a great property - five star class! The hotel isn't the most modern but the location is good, the restaurants are great and the staff are fantastic. It's a short walk/taxi from the Petronas Towers (& KLCC shopping) and the Pavillion. Can recommend the Horizonn Club - we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast away from the bustle of the Lemon Garden - the selection wasn't as large, but for us it was perfect...eggs just the way you want them and really attentive service. The evening drinks were great - canapés and quiet - great fun. We had a room with a separate lounge - amazing size. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. We used the gym - again great size, everything you need. Only complaint is the pool area could do withy slight upgrade - the water is cool!!! Nice but could be warmer!! However the service at the pool is good and the menu is extensive. If you like classy hotels - this is for you!!! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend (or stay there again if I could!!)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for returning to stay with us for a second time. Thank you also for the beautiful review of our hotel and our services. It was indeed a great pleasure for us to be of service to you and we certainly look forward to being of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a very enjoyable 3 nights at Shangrila. The hotel and rooms were very nice. Service was top notch but the honesty of staff was above anything else!!!

- Stay 3 nights pay 2 with Horizon club package was great value especially alcohol was expensive in Malaysia

- Check in at the Horizon club was very smooth, got offered a glass of wine while checking in which was very civilised after having been in Brunei. Also got upgrade to a suite which was fabulous. The suite was nicely furnished
- Excellent & consistent service through out the entire hotel: Horizon club, front desk, concierge, buffet breakfast in Lemon Garden restaurant, Horizon club lounge & pool area. Staff greeted guests warmly as soon as they saw you around the hotel

- Breakfast buffet had a lot if variety but quality was average. Staff were extremely efficient in clearing plates

- Hotel was in a handy location - within walking distance to Suria KLCC, Pavillion, Star Hill & Bukit Bintang shopping areas

- Housekeeping staff were very honest - left the noise cancelling headset in the safe without realising until few days later. Contacted the hotel and was told it had been handed in by housekeeping to the lost and found department

The honesty of staff made our enjoyable stay even more memorable and would certainly plan to stay at a Shangrila hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed for a 3 night stopover with a teenager. As we had requested adjoining rooms we were upgraded to a suite with an extra room joined by an entrance lobby. The suite was a great size with a study area with separate wc off it, a sitting room with TV and a bedroom with plenty of space and a massive en suite with wc, bath and separate shower. Being on the 24th floor and on the corner of the hotel we had great views. The second bedroom was smaller but adequate for children/teens with twin beds and en suite.The hotel was traditional rather than modern but clean and comfortable. We had booked the Horizon Club on the recommendation of our travel agent which I would highly recommend. It gave access to the club room where a more relaxed breakfast with a could be taken with fantastic service (the alternative is the canteen style lemon café where a larger range of breakfast selection is available but it is a louder, busier atmosphere) Afternoon tea with sandwiches, cakes and drinks are included with the club rooms as are delicious canapés and cocktails early evening. Pool area was good and cold water and fruit were brought to you at the poolside with the occasional mini ice cream. The only downside was that the Jacuzzi was separate for male and female. Arthurs bar served a fantastic steak and the chocolate brownie was scrumptious!! Nice relaxed bar area with live singer. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank banditman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent stopover here in Kuala Lumpur. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed our Horizon Club room and the services. Thank you for the nice review of our club facilities. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Service was generally good, felt more like a business hotel than other reviews suggested. Club lounge is OK, a little early for drinks and nibbles 5-7pm but the quality of the food is acceptable and a good choice of drinks. Walkable to Pavilion and China town shopping. Not a patch on its counterpart in BKK. On balance I'd go for Traders for better location and sky bar.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark8768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us for 6 nights during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. We have taken note of your comment regarding the cocktail timing. We do look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This is the very best hotel in KL with exceptional service. Always enjoy visiting the hotel and always made to feel at home here. Great location close to good night life and restaurants and the Hard Rock is just across the road

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Holiday Gems and Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing