We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel quite a few times now and the service we receive is always wonderful. The staff make our stay - especially at the Horizon club which we highly recommend paying the extra for.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank kentdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,002
    1,335
    344
    73
    48
See reviews for
1,251
2,963
413
1,262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I've stayed at this hotel twice now, the first time in an executive room with late check out and the second in a deluxe double, both with breakfast included.
The first time (Sep 11) we really couldn't fault it. The room was well thought out and spacious with great touches in regards to lighting panels etc. Breakfast was absolutely amazing and you could even get a takeaway box for pastries and such. Bed was beyond comfortable, bathroom was impressive. My partner and I had a massage at the in house spa and it was fantastic.

The hotel foyer is really spectacular and the common areas were decorated to a high standard.

The second time (Dec 12) in the deluxe double standards had definitely slipped. The desk was chipped and scuffed in a number of laces and the headboard was dirty. It took a long time for our luggage to reach us. We decided as we'd saved money we'd go for dinner in the hotels Chinese restaurant. It took an incredibly long time to be served and we didn't receive any check backs to make sure everything was ok. We wanted to get another drink and tried our hardest to get the attention of a waitress but to no avail. We then tried to pay the bill but again, no one would come to our table. They seem preoccupied with the business customers in the private area at the back. In the end we decided to just get up and leave without paying.

Hopefully Shangri-La stay consistent with their services so every time you can have the 5 star experience. It wouldn't put me off staying again, but I would definitely go for executive and perhaps dine outside the hotel in the evening.

Room Tip: Pick executive
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorrie3188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for returning to stay with us for the second time during your visit to Kuala Lumpur. We have taken note of all your comments regarding your encounters at the restaurants. Please be rest assured that these would be looked into and rectified. We thank you for your constructive comments and it is only through them that we are able to improve our services to our guests. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is definitely hold compared to the other hotels in KL like the Grand Hyatt for example. The room and the bathroom are small and hold style
The pool is ugly and the pictures you can see on the website is not the reality.
I chose this hotel for the pool! you can imagine my frustration! It's look very tiered.
The breakfast is like being in the central station, to much peoples!
The best is the staff, very friendly and smiling.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for having stayed with us recently. We have taken note of your comments highlighted by you in your review. We do hope to have another opportunity to prove our services to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I've been travelling in SEA for 10 years and though I've tried 5 different 5* hotels in KL, I've been systematically staying at Shangri-La for the last 3 years. Not only the price is very attractive, but the personalised service is not paralleled anywhere else; this is the Shangri-La touch as far as I have observed in other cities as well (Jakarta, Manila EDSA, Manila Makati, Singapore Sentosa, Penang Golden Sands, etc.)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
3 Thank VAUTROT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

It was the first visit for our 3 children.
They have enjoyed the buffet for the breakfast, the friendly welcome and the design of the hotel
The location is very practical to visit KL, KL Tower, Pavilion, ...

Room Tip: King bedroom and twin bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
3 Thank BianchiniJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our first visit to KL, which is a far less exciting city than we had thought. The hotel is well located with metro/train nearby. We experienced excellent service, staff was very helpful and friendly, room was very comfortable, tidy and quiet. We enjoyed the swimming pool in the evening when kids were gone. Excellent multicultural breakfast! Surroundings are not optimal, but this is due to KL infrastructure deficiencies. Would go back to this hotel, but not to KL.

Room Tip: We had a higher floor which was fine concerning noice. View in general is not excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dietmar_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your first visit to Kuala Lumpur. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We do hope that you would visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

we stayed in this hotel in July 2014 on our way home from Vietnam.
The luxury was a beautiful experience at an affordable cost.
We had a long flight back to Ireland and to spend the last few days here to chill out and relax is well advised.
We could not recommend this hotel enough...especially if you have been travelling for 6 weeks and need to rest before returning to reality!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Executive which is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Liza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing